Customer Reviews for

The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A WONDERFUL reference if you are considering or already are homeschooling!

This book is my "YOU CAN DO THIS" guide. My Eureka Moment! If you're thinking about homeschooling or are already homeschooling, this book is an excellent resource to get you started or keep you on track. This book has been such a blessing for me as my 5th grader fin...
This book is my "YOU CAN DO THIS" guide. My Eureka Moment! If you're thinking about homeschooling or are already homeschooling, this book is an excellent resource to get you started or keep you on track. This book has been such a blessing for me as my 5th grader finishes up the school year in public school and we begin homeschooling for 6th grade next year. I began researching homeschooling materials and programs as soon as our family made this decision. This book's direction is dead on as to what I wanted for my homeschooler to experience.
Jessie Wise had me in the first chapter as she talks about having to undo what was happening to her son when he was at school was exactly my situation; and that he either came home fighting mad or crying. I've been there too.
This book gave me the boost that I needed to know that I can homeschool my 6th grader and choose the correct plan for her. Jessie is right; homeschooling is a radical step but then our world is in a pretty radical state these days. So many of the recommendations that Jessie provides in this book I had already planned to use in my home schooler's core program. This book also talks about things that I hadn't thought to include such as critical thinking and logic, and starting a foreign language course. I really enjoyed Jessie's section on "why home educate" and "socialization" as well as "record keeping". I feel well prepared now to begin this journey into homeschooling.
God never ceases to amaze me, as he puts the right books or people in my path to direct the course for my life and now my homeschooler's too.

posted by 1378777 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Supports classical Montessori

My daughter attends 6th grade Montessori and will continue in same venue through 12th grade. The classical approach adopted by her school is supported by activities found in this volume. I appreciate the personal experience approach and the results of obviously vast r...
My daughter attends 6th grade Montessori and will continue in same venue through 12th grade. The classical approach adopted by her school is supported by activities found in this volume. I appreciate the personal experience approach and the results of obviously vast research. Suggested reading matches what is happening at school as well as with math.

posted by 2836885 on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    A WONDERFUL reference if you are considering or already are homeschooling!

    This book is my "YOU CAN DO THIS" guide. My Eureka Moment! If you're thinking about homeschooling or are already homeschooling, this book is an excellent resource to get you started or keep you on track. This book has been such a blessing for me as my 5th grader finishes up the school year in public school and we begin homeschooling for 6th grade next year. I began researching homeschooling materials and programs as soon as our family made this decision. This book's direction is dead on as to what I wanted for my homeschooler to experience.
    Jessie Wise had me in the first chapter as she talks about having to undo what was happening to her son when he was at school was exactly my situation; and that he either came home fighting mad or crying. I've been there too.
    This book gave me the boost that I needed to know that I can homeschool my 6th grader and choose the correct plan for her. Jessie is right; homeschooling is a radical step but then our world is in a pretty radical state these days. So many of the recommendations that Jessie provides in this book I had already planned to use in my home schooler's core program. This book also talks about things that I hadn't thought to include such as critical thinking and logic, and starting a foreign language course. I really enjoyed Jessie's section on "why home educate" and "socialization" as well as "record keeping". I feel well prepared now to begin this journey into homeschooling.
    God never ceases to amaze me, as he puts the right books or people in my path to direct the course for my life and now my homeschooler's too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    My Bible of Education

    Excellent! Excellent!
    From the first page, it started to make so much sense that I kept nodding my head throughout the book. The resources you can get from this book is also priceless. My kids enjoy everything, based on this book,that I provide. Classical eudcation is THE WAY to go if you really want to educate your children properly. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is interested in educating children, whether you homeschool or not.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    A wonderful strart to guide you in homeschooling

    I purchased the first edition about 2 years ago and I could not put it down. I carried it everywhere I went when I had buy homeschooling books. Although a friend said I may be a little too ambitious my first year to start all of the things she suggested, in the end it did give me a good perspective on where to start. I had no idea where to begin when I brought my 4th grade son home to homeschool. We did as much as we could and left the rest to what ever we disired to do. If this is your first year I highly suggest it, mostly for the main subjects. We didn't cover foriegn lang or the classical volcab. That's up to you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Thorough, helpful, and extraordinarily well-organized

    If you want to make a coherent, organized plan for teaching your child (ending up with an articulate, well-prepared high school graduate), this is the book you need. It's become an educational standard in many home schooling and afterschooling circles because the authors tell you what your goals are for each grade, in each subject, exactly how to reach those goals, and what materials to use. B&N customers, by the way, should be aware that the one-star review below was written by Robin Sampson, author of a competing home school plan, who recommends her own materials at the end of the review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Must have manual for homeschoolers

    An excellent resource for home educators. In depth curriculum advice and guidance. If you want to home school because you appreciate the intelligence in your child and don't want them to lose the love of learning that is innate this is a must have reference. This book guides you through different types of teaching models and explains the trivium method of teaching. In depth sudy and reasoning behind the classical education model. You could pay to send your children to a top notch private school or you could buy this book and do it yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    Great Foundation

    Outstanding book! Speaks to my heart and soul for teaching my son. Classical Education makes sense it is an orderly and connected means to learning. The resources in this book are terrific. They provide much diversity and latitude in order to accomodate individual beliefs, wants and needs for your home teaching curriculum. Finding this book to use as the base for our curriculum choices has been a true blessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Great Resource

    This book is a great resource for any homeschooling family. I started homeschooling my children this year and I was lucky enough to come across this book through another homeschool mom. The authors have given me a great guide for home educating my children. While children in their school are learning about the community around them, my children are learning about ancient cultures and reading classic literature. With this book, I believe my children will be articulate, knowledgeable, an have a thorough understanding of the world in which they live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    I have heard great things about this book so I came over to read

    I have heard great things about this book so I came over to read more about it. I will purchase it shortly. But why is the electronic Nook version so much more expensive than the hard copy???? I want to buy it but feel cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    My first recommendation for homeschooling parents.

    A comprehensive overview of a guide to classically educating a child at home, this book has lots of great resources and is a great guide. When other moms ask me about homeschooling or supplementing their school - aged child's education, I direct them to this book first! It takes something that might seem overwhelming (educating a child at home) and breaks it down into an easily managable system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    Love this book!!

    I am a new homeschooling mom with a 5th grader, Kindergartner, and a Preschooler. I have found this book to be full of great things and it has made our experience with homeschooling very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great book for anyone who is concerned about their child's education

    An excellent read and an excellent resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Very Useful

    This book helped me get a grasp on what I wanted out of homeschooling as well as help direct me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Must Have Book for Classical Education

    My children have been educated via the classical method through a private school and I love this method of teaching. I now plan to homeschool my two youngest for 4th grade and 7th grade and I have used this book as my primary resource for curriculum and insight into what they should be learning. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the classical method!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2