Customer Reviews for

The Well of Ascension

Average Rating 4.5
( 569 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(373)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

The battle to take the Lord Ruler down is over and the rebels won although it was Vin who struck the decisive lethal blow. Now that the empire is destroyed kingdoms with petty rulers as their monarchs want to take his place. Two such rulers are besieging the Central D...
The battle to take the Lord Ruler down is over and the rebels won although it was Vin who struck the decisive lethal blow. Now that the empire is destroyed kingdoms with petty rulers as their monarchs want to take his place. Two such rulers are besieging the Central Dominance¿s largest city Luthadel, where Vin¿s lover Elend rules as a benevolent king who insisted on having a council with real powers help make the laws. --- Vin is one of the most powerful Mistborns in the former empire who burns all the metals in her body, each giving her an incredible power. She is her lover¿s bodyguard because she knows his enemies from within the city and without will try to kill him. She loves him dearly but isn¿t sure she is good enough for him because he was raised as a noble and she was once a homeless street urchin who went from one gang to another for protection. One of the kings taking part in the siege is Elend¿s father who has a Mistborn ally Zane who is enchanted by Vin and makes her question her role in Elend¿s life. --- Readers will be fascinated by what takes place in a city under siege and root for Vin and Elend to live through this dangerous time. Although there is as much introspection as there is action in THE WELL OF ASCENSION readers will become so absorbed in the plot that they will be unable to put the book down because the characters fascinate them. Told in the third person viewpoint by many characters, this epic fantasy is a stand alone book although a clear successor to Book One MISTBORN --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow

This was good but my least favorite of the series. I really actually loved OreSeur... I was kind of confused about him being TenSoon instead... It was a very good book but I miss Kelsier. Sanderson is a fantastic author with a genius mind for plot.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent for the Genre!

    Thus far, Sanderson is delivering everything you would expect from a good fantasy novel: he's got excellent well-developed characters, an evolving and intricate plot, and a unique concept to differentiate his novels. I have been very impressed by these books, and look forward to continuing the series. If you liked this series, you might also like "Magician: Apprentice" by Raymond E. Feist (especially from "Silverthorn" on...), "Assassin's Apprentice" by Robin Hobb, "Way of Shadows" by Brent Weeks, "Kushiel's Dart" by Jacqueline Carey, and "Magician's Guild" by Trudi Canavan, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. Mckenna, and "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham (Phew!).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Don't start reading this in the evening -- you will not go to sleep until you finish it !

    When I picked up the 1st book, I was skeptical. After reading a few pages, I was hooked. As soon as I finished, I was looking for the second book. I was not disappointed. The only down side is everyone was telling me I looked tired today :-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    You'll Like It.

    This whole series is very good, continuing the interesting premise/background of the first book. Love 'em all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I thought the first book in this series was good, but this one was even better! I couldn't hardly put it down and I'm looking forward to the third book. It's definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    loved the first and the second is better

    the war against the lord ruler is over and now vin is trying to protect her new bf while he is now the ruler of luthadel.Vin is one of the most powerful Mistborns in the world but vin's only weakness would be that she thinks she would never be good enough for elend. for me this book was amazing once i picked it up i could not put it down, in my opinion it is better than the first. i think people would love the little romance between vin and elend, but would really love the action that goes on through out the book. i think who ever reads this would be into it as much as i was to the point where they could never put the book down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Oh so good!

    I love love LOVE The Mistborn Trilogy!!! Great characters, original fantasy, magic, romance, danger, all the good stuff! I am so glad a friend of mine reccomended this series to me! 5 Stars!!! Warning to all: the awesomeness of this book might explode your brain. Just so's you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Another hit!

    Brandon Sanderson's writing is amazingly descriptive, and involving. I have other books I have to read, but when I get tired of them, I come to one of his books. I won't get tired of reading his books. I highly recommend this series to practically everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Great

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great

    Really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    So good! How does Brandon do it?

    So good! How does Brandon do it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Great Book!

    Another great book in this series! I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book i thoroughly loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great series

    Interesting characters, suspenseful plot, good writing - what more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Excellent

    Top notch read....excellent series...I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Amazing story - awesome continuation of the first Mistborn book.

    Brandon Sanderson is amazing. This Mistborn series is awesome. The Well of Ascension is book #2 in the series. Having read the first trilogy some time ago, I found it necessary to re-read the series as the fourth book, Alloy of Law, appeared on my local B&N bookshelves. Unfortunately, after moving several times, I was not able to find my hard copy, so I re-purchased this as a nookbook. (I have, of course, now found my original hardcopy, after the fact.) It is just as amazing (if not more so) the second time through. If you are a fan of fantasy, grab the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Absolutely Brilliant!

    Bought this one morning after reading Warbreaker. Just finished it now: the morning after, at 2:40 am. A completely engrossing read. Good luck putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Incredable!

    So much action i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Great series

    I am always looking for new authors, and even though Sanderson hs been around awhile, I didn't know about his writing. I was Leary, since Robert Jordan books were never my favorite. I mst say there was a lot of religious angst in the series, but overall I loved the whole set. The character development was terrific, I totally felt I could relate to all the characters. Great series, and a good find for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Awesome

    Great read with wonderful vharccvters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant!

    The Mistborn series is brilliant. Highly imaginative, very original and superbly written. I'm looking forward to everything that Brandon Sanderson writes in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19