Customer Reviews for

The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 17, 2015

    Although this isn't my favorite Thursday Next novel, I still enj

    Although this isn't my favorite Thursday Next novel, I still enjoyed it. Jasper Fforde has an amazing imagination and his writing makes it easy to picture the world of the Thursday Next series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Best one so far!

    I am amazed by Jasper Fforde's imagination. I really enjoyed the first two books in the series, but The Well of Lost Plots made me completely obsessed with the Thursday Next series. I immediately went and bought the next four books after finishing this one. Thursday's newly acquired ability to jump easily in and out of a variety of books is what makes the third installment even better. I can't wait to read the next book. I have already recommended the series to friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Borderline Bad

    I put this aside after 50 pages as not worth the time to read. Silly plot and inane childlike dialogue. Was supposed to be erudite but mostly dull and plotless. Maybe if i get the flu or something and there is nothing in the house to read, i'll pick it up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Fun for Bibliophiles

    I find the Thursday Next books delightful. Fforde has produced a true tour de force in these books, weaving erudite book references into a light-weight dystopian world in which it is possible to wander between our reality (Outland) and the reality of fiction (the Bookworld). Testing one's recognition of the fictional allusions is very entertaining. There are some glitches -- occasional lapses of grammar are very distracting and would not have been tolerated in Thursday's milieu. But a book in which the protagonist is mentored by Miss Havisham and the landscape is policed by battalions of Mrs. Danverses can't be all bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Completely fuu Completely funny

    An unbeliveably good book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Hang On For a Wonderful Ride

    This may be one of my favorites. Thursday does what many of us wish we could do. She moves into the fiction realm for a sabbatical while awaiting the birth of her child. What a world, what a great idea, what enormous possibilities for intrigue, adventure, distortion! Fforde has me tight in his grip. The puns come at you thick and fast. The literary allusions spin through the very air. It's quite a ride.

    The world-building here has been masterful, and explains many of the details of my own life. Now I know why a wonderful read will suddenly lose interest for a while - temporary story-engine shutdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    An entertaining read

    Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next series astonishes the reader with its sheer creativity and delights with its brilliant wordplay and wry, tongue-in-cheek literary allusions. This, the third installment of the series, takes place almost entirely within the confines of the Bookworld and delves much deeper into the secrets of the Great Library. Thursday's many capers, as usual, make for a funny and entertaining time, and new characters develop alongside returning Bookworld personalities. Unfortunately, we never visit the real world or interact with Bowden, Victor Analogy, and other 'real' characters...but I suppose you can't put everything in one book. I would encourage anyone who enjoys literature to read this book...and pre-order the fourth while you're at it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Jasper does it again!

    The third installment of the Thursday Next series is as good or better than the first two, which are brilliant. Jasper's ability to beg, borrow, and steal from all literature genres keeps the book moving smoothly and provides funny tidbits for aficionados of classic literature (and not-so-classic literature in some cases). The appearance of the gingham bedecked Granny Next to keep Thursday company is quite funny and Pickwick is good for a laugh, as always. I was lucky enough to meet Jasper at a book signing in Iowa City - he quite funny, humble, and promises more fun in the fourth book later this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Salivating for book four

    While I simply ate up all three Thursday Next novels, I must admit I was a bit disappointed with 'The Well of Lost Plots.' I'd hoped that Landen would be found and Thursday's pregnancy would become more than morning sickness and slightly tight trousers. Fforde's play on grammar, semantics, and all aspects of literature is as brilliant as ever; however, nothing truly important happened in this novel. It appears that one could read 'The Eyre Affair' and 'Lost in a Good Book,' and then simply wait for the fourth Next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    LAUGH-OUT-LOUD LISTENING

    Those who have read Fforde's 'The Eyre Affair' (2002) and 'Lost In A Good Book' (2003) have already been won over by his playful pranks and prose. Now, listeners will be enthralled by Elizabeth Sastre's performance of his third venture into the real/fantasy book world. At times dramatic, at other times ditzy Ms. Sastre is our heroine, Thursday Next, come to amazing, stupefying, and, yes, silly life. All in good fun, friends, all in good fun. For those who have not yet had the pleasure of meeting her Thursday is a bit of a literary detective. As it happens, she is now a very pregnant literary detective looking forward to taking her ease for a while. Hopefully, she can find r&r in the character Exchange Program located deep down in the Great Library. However, there's no rest for the well read and Thursday is up to her britches in murder and mayhem. Her hideout in the B' novel has not proven to be a restful retreat. Shockingly she's awash in plots too contrived to be set down on page and surrounded by wooden characters who are being recycled by the dozen. It's up to our girl to solve not only mysteries but to return to her 'real' life. This is a laugh-out-loud lark for all who listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Fun and Fabulous!

    I bought the British release and I adored this book. It was better than the second and helps elaborate the first two. It delves even further into the book world and and its politics. Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Great satire

    Literary detective Thursday Next requests R&R not to recover from assignments like saving the ending of Jane Eyre, but suffers from morning sickness having become pregnant by a dead Crimean War veteran. Thursday applies for a vacation assignment in the Character Exchange Program, which is approved. She travels to THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS, the sub-basements beneath the Great Library. There she will replace Mary Jones, a detective¿s Friday in the unpublished police procedural Caversham Heights........................................... Thursday feels she has a quest when she learns how much plot and character selling goes on in the black market beneath the Great Library. While she tries to do the right thing and assist her Noir-like partner without landing in the Text Sea, UltraWord is launched as the 'Last Word' in Story Operating Systems. Here in the subterranean world of terrible plotting, pathetic characters, and stolen dreams, the idealistic Thursday realizes that the book world and its anti-matter opponents are as ruthless as the recycled protagonists sold on the black market............................. Although not for everybody, the third Thursday Next tale is a delightful satirical fantasy that tears into anything and everything. The story line is the usual bewildering confusion that is so much fun to follow. The side plots add irony as wrong turns might be sold on the literary black market. Jasper Fforde is at his lampooning best as nothing is sacred for readers who appreciate sharp slapstick syntax-slaughtering stories snd will want to get LOST IN A GOOD BOOK................................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4