Customer Reviews for

The Welsh Girl

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Engaging Historical Novel!

When I picked up Peter Davies' novel, 'The Welsh Girl' I knew right away that this was the book for me. I've always been interested in Celtic and Welsh folklore and heritage, as well as a general interest in WWII. This semi-historical fiction, part love story gives ...
When I picked up Peter Davies' novel, 'The Welsh Girl' I knew right away that this was the book for me. I've always been interested in Celtic and Welsh folklore and heritage, as well as a general interest in WWII. This semi-historical fiction, part love story gives a vivid view into the lives of young German soldiers, as well as depicting the life of Welshmen in a small Welsh town and their lives as sheepfarmers and pubowners. The story centers around the struggles and courage of the characters through the late 1940's. The descriptions are fresh and beautiful. Peter Davies keeps you on your toes with an unpredictable plot up until the end. I fell in love with the conflicts, struggles and victories of the characters and did not want to put this book down! I reccommend this novel to anyone who enjoys historical or cultural history and passionate characters!

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Explore

The book does not cover new ground, but it does explore how Wales was involved in WWll. I found that interesting.

posted by pinklady23 on March 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Very good.

    I enjoyed this book very much. Loved the historical feel of it. I found the main character a little hard to warm up to. She seemed a little short of emotion, but all in all it was well worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have never read a war novel before, but this book has me wanting to read more of them......

    This novel is a little slow to start, but it picks up really fast midway and then you cannot put it down until you finish. I was not prepared for the rape that happens in the very beginning of the novel, but he doesnt go into too much detail about that, you just know it happened. That was really my only dislike of the novel and I still strongly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    one of the most moving stories I have read in years

    This story of a Welsh girl, a German POW, and the complicated social strictures of small-town life during World War II is one of the most moving stories I have read in years. In prose that is simple in the way that the best poetry often is, Peter Ho Davies delivers Wales in evocative detail, and the feelings of his Welsh and English and German characters, male and female, as if he were each of them. The passage in chapter 13, with Karsten and Jim and the plane, is just lovely. Just lovely.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Beautifully written

    Compelling in a very essential kind of way, the story of a German soldier and a Welsh girl, each gripped by their own unique desperation, each shaped by their individual surrender, and drawn to each other by their human compassion. Beautifully written, I found myself frequently stopping at the end of a sentence with appreciation for the author's shaping of the words and thoughts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Character application: Violet

    Very shy, stays hidden. Brown hair down to her waist, which she wears down. She has shiny black eyes. 8 years old but acts older. She is an orphan and usually wears all black with a small bit of bright color, such as a bracelet or shoelaces. She is smart, and knows a lot from spying. Her power is invisibility. She can not use it if she is badly wounded. She is very quiet and when she speaks, it is soft and small. She tries to remain unseen, but if someone is hurt or lost, she will help them and then dissapear. She can be a formiddable opponent as she never shows emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Elise's Application

    Aimee Orlando. Neighbor to the Starkwaters. She's very punk, tough until you get to know her. Her hair is black with white streaks that she dyes with spray color a different color every day. She has bright blue eyes. Her mom is a weird teenage mom too-always is dr<_>unk. She has a little emerald on a necklace she won't explain to anyone. She likes to skateboard and usually wears high-tops, jeans, and an elbow-length sleeved shirt with a cropped sleeve leather jacket and fingerless gloves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Character application: jenna

    (this should fit into your supernatural category) name: Jenna Celian. Age: 16 gender: female. Desc: she has long black hair, usually in a ponytail and with randomly dyed tips that he usually changes every week, skin on the pale side, but not overly so, electric blue eyes, angular features, usually wears tshirts, blue skinny jeans and her signature sky blue converse, but ha been known to change things up every now and then. Other: she occasionally gets flashes of the future, often which make her pass out(im thinking once a week, but increases as the story progresses. But really depends how long the story is) if theres anything else you need, just ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Malta to applications

    Okay. Applications for humans are now closed. I hve planned out some of my story and decided that Amiee is going to be one of the main characters and jenna and Violet are semi main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1