Customer Reviews for

Wentworth Hall

Average Rating 3
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Overall, I enjoyed it. It seemed a bit short, and at times a bit

Overall, I enjoyed it. It seemed a bit short, and at times a bit rushed, but it was very much what I enjoy to read. Although I may be a bit biased because I seem to hold everything to the standards of "The Luxe" series, but this book was not bad. Predictable a...
Overall, I enjoyed it. It seemed a bit short, and at times a bit rushed, but it was very much what I enjoy to read. Although I may be a bit biased because I seem to hold everything to the standards of "The Luxe" series, but this book was not bad. Predictable at times, but a nice read if you are looking for something enjoyable without the long string of confusing characters.

posted by ScornfulScarlet on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

None of the "secrets" came as a surpise to me. That being said, it's ok if you want a quick read, though I'd suggest getting it from the library. It isn't worth actually paying for.

posted by 13392561 on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Overall, I enjoyed it. It seemed a bit short, and at times a bit

    Overall, I enjoyed it. It seemed a bit short, and at times a bit rushed, but it was very much what I enjoy to read. Although I may be a bit biased because I seem to hold everything to the standards of "The Luxe" series, but this book was not bad. Predictable at times, but a nice read if you are looking for something enjoyable without the long string of confusing characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Worst book ever!!

    If i could give it no stars i would. Just because you give people english sounding names and tell us in the beginning, what year and location this is all taking place, doesnt make this good.
    This is the poor and uneducated mans Downton Abbey. The story within the story was difficult to read and impossible to believe.
    I cant believe the cost of this book was so high...$10 freaking dollars! I want my money back!
    To the author- dont quit your day job, and i seriously hope you have one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    THE BEST BOOK EVER

    THE BEST BOOK EVER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great little summer read.

    Great little summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I found this novel to be very enjoyable. It was a simple read an

    I found this novel to be very enjoyable. It was a simple read and sometimes that is what one needs, especially when you are busy with studies. Not too much drama.. I adore wonderful love stories and this one was very hopeful! I agree with the others that it may have been longer but I truly believe the author controls such matters and if Ms. Grahame wished it to be this length, then so be it. It did not take away from the story line at all. And the characters were intriguing, none of them were over-the-top, very realistic! 5 stars because I found no problems with it and I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Predictable

    None of the "secrets" came as a surpise to me. That being said, it's ok if you want a quick read, though I'd suggest getting it from the library. It isn't worth actually paying for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    I did like the story that was told but how it was told was subpa

    I did like the story that was told but how it was told was subpar. It wasn't well written at all and the language used could have been chosen better. I have to admit that at some points while reading the book I wondered how it ever got published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Wentworth Hall is about a family who have secrets. The father, L

    Wentworth Hall is about a family who have secrets. The father, Lord Darlington, invites his deceased friend's children, because
    they are to inherit a large sum of money. Maggie, the oldest daughter, is supposed to marry the son, Teddy. There's also a baby
    and a new French nanny.

    Okay, the story was boring. It was predictable, it was like a historical fiction soap opera. The characters were worse. Their personalities
    were forced onto us. There's the overly gossipy maid, Nora; the dumb groom, Michael; the two twins, Jessica and Teddy; the forgettable
    daughter, Lila; the French nanny, Therese; and the snotty older daughter, Maggie. These sound like interesting characters, but trust me,
    they're all forgettable.

    The secrets were obvious and the writing was confusing. Everything was rushed, and sometimes I felt like I'd skipped ahead a few
    pages. It was dull and boring, but if you liked it, good on you. For me though, it was something I really would've rather skipped. I felt like
    this could be good, but it falls short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    ehh

    It was dumb and poorly written. It has a lot of potential, but it sounded like a 7 year old wrote it which completely ruined the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The premise is interesting but the storytelling is rather watere

    The premise is interesting but the storytelling is rather watered-down. This book could have easily been twice as long if the writer had provided more build-up and created intrigue. The "shocking secrets" come about roughly and obviously...there is no credit given to the reader's intelligence which makes this a good read for pre-teens who want to feel like they're reading above their level, but not so much for teens or adults. Not very entertaining at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Good story, short read

    The story over all was ok, but failry typical. This book was way short, not even two hundred pages, so that was a littlbe bit of a let down. Over all, entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    it looks like a good book. i'm not sure i will buy it though

    it looks like a good book. i'm not sure i will buy it though

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1