Customer Reviews for

The Westing Game (Puffin Modern Classics)

Average Rating 4.5
( 950 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(680)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN, AND TURTLE IS THE BEST CHARICTER EVER CREATED. I I FIRST READ THE BOOK WHEN I WAS IN THE 6TH GRADE, I HAVE READ THE BOOK 6 TIMES AND IT IS MY FAVE, IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE ATALL YOU WOULD IMMEDIATLY GO OUT AND GET THIS BOO...
THIS IS THE BEST BOOK. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN, AND TURTLE IS THE BEST CHARICTER EVER CREATED. I I FIRST READ THE BOOK WHEN I WAS IN THE 6TH GRADE, I HAVE READ THE BOOK 6 TIMES AND IT IS MY FAVE, IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE ATALL YOU WOULD IMMEDIATLY GO OUT AND GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

THE WESTING GAME: ROTTEN!

Rating: 26% The Westing Game has a plot that can take it places, yet it is far too slow and, at times, even boring to be appreciated by the reader.

posted by Sherlock_Holmes on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    THE WESTING GAME: ROTTEN!

    Rating: 26%

    The Westing Game has a plot that can take it places, yet it is far too slow and, at times, even boring to be appreciated by the reader.

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    This book is terrible. I only read the first 10 chapters and I'm

    This book is terrible. I only read the first 10 chapters and I'm already confused. There are 20 different characters with similar names and the point of the book isn't clear at all.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Faqs

    Faqots u can go strait to fukin hel. Aswipe

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This book is the worst book i ever read

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I love it

    I love this book and i read at school but not on my nook. It is wonderful! Yay

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    My review

    This is cruel punishment. Don't read it. you'll have to burn your eyes. It' s terrifyingly bad. I thought child abuse was illegal until i read this book. The author should be punished for this horrible book. I give this book negative infinate stars.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Waaahh...

    I dont get it. /:(

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    The westing game is.....

    TERRIBLE!!!!!! WORST BOOK EVER DO NOT READ IT!!!!! Its REALLY CONFUSING!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No stars

    One word. Terrible

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    Boring

    This book was very boring and dull. When i first started it i didn't even want to finish it! i didn't understand it at all. I doesn't keep on a good steady beat(doesn't have good order)it changes from one place to another.I don't recomend this book to anbody!!!!

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Its so boring and it stinks

    I hated this book so much. It was the most boring book i have ever read i rather read a science book. at first when i got this book i gave it a chance and once i started reading it i wanted to throw it right in the trash i really didnt like this book at all. i dont know why my teacher made me read this i am so glad i finished and i wouldnt recommend it to anyone

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    BAD BOOK!

    Ellan Rasink's The Westing Game is a very abominable and awful novel with a very boring setting and unusual characters, a randomly developed plot. All of this made it difficult for me to connect to it. This book is like many other mystery books, such as The Best American Mystery Stories by Scott Turow, and On What Grounds by Cleo Coyle. In my opinion, all of these mystery stories are very boring. All of these mysteries could be great mysteries if the authors made them more exciting. Adding more dimension to stories and exciting plots would add a bit more excitement to these mysteries.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Stupid

    What the heck a waste of money horrible book I would never recomend to anyone ever!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Boring dont like it

    Bored of book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Human

    Sat by the window, unnoticed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Worst book i have ever read

    Ever. Forced to read it in school in seventh grade. Dear lord what a poor excuse for a book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Poorly

    Started to read the first few pages and so hard to understand. Wasnt worth buying for 6 buck

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    ?

    Why

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Weird

    Just weird

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    NNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    DON'T MAKE ME READ IT?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3