Customer Reviews for

The Westing Game (Puffin Modern Classics)

Average Rating 4.5
( 947 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(677)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN, AND TURTLE IS THE BEST CHARICTER EVER CREATED. I I FIRST READ THE BOOK WHEN I WAS IN THE 6TH GRADE, I HAVE READ THE BOOK 6 TIMES AND IT IS MY FAVE, IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE ATALL YOU WOULD IMMEDIATLY GO OUT AND GET THIS BOO...
THIS IS THE BEST BOOK. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN, AND TURTLE IS THE BEST CHARICTER EVER CREATED. I I FIRST READ THE BOOK WHEN I WAS IN THE 6TH GRADE, I HAVE READ THE BOOK 6 TIMES AND IT IS MY FAVE, IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE ATALL YOU WOULD IMMEDIATLY GO OUT AND GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

THE WESTING GAME: ROTTEN!

Rating: 26% The Westing Game has a plot that can take it places, yet it is far too slow and, at times, even boring to be appreciated by the reader.

posted by Sherlock_Holmes on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    The best book I ever read.

    This scary murder mystery will keep you on the edge of your seat. Sunset towers, a Michigan apartment building, is the setting for this mystery. Relatives gather for a reading of a will and instead get game instructions. The relatives are paired up and then receive clues. The relatives have to think hard to find out who the murderer is. I liked this book because it was scary. Whenever the heirs were in a room, I worried the murderer was in the same room. I found some parts confusing because the writer left some ideas hanging. I recommend this book for grades 4th and up, because I am in 3rd grade and did not understand parts of the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    i love the kane cronicils

    Shoul i read this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Puzzling puzzles

    I loved the books plot twists. When I read it the clues seemed random and unrelated until the very end. There were details that were seemingly unimportant too and the characters who are picked by the millionare who set up this game for them to play before his murder to find the culprit among them Characters with many different personalities and occupations, including a thief and a few liars, bring a little suspense to the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    CODMW277

    A great story but confusing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Westing Game

    I personally thought that the Westing Game was horrible. The book absolutely made no sense. There were too many characters and It took too long to get to the plot.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Where's the Murder (and the Mystery)

    Okay, so this is supposedly a murder mystery. Key word MURDER. So who gets murdered. Absolutely no one. At the end they have to ruin it to make the ending all nice. And where's the mystery. I solved the mystery like two pages into the book (okay I exaggerated, but I wasn't even halfway through by the time I had solved it. The rest of the book was okay. Read this if you don't like puzzling mysteries. If you do, try The Hound of Baskervilles or something

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Duh reviewer

    Good but kind of confusing towards the end i would suggest an age group of 12-77

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Hello

    Hati hati hati ho hati hati hati ho hatia hati hati ho

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    The Westing Game

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    School

    I had to read it for a school project. It was ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Ok book

    This book was a little confusing but isnt the best book out there. If u want to buy this book i recommend to get the sample then see if u can understand it. If u can understand it great if u cant try reading a different book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Yo face Yo face

    Yo face

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Nothing Special

    The characters are basically thrown at you in the first chapter and are difficult to distinguish in the first ten chapters. The plot is somewhat interesting, but the writing style is a little too blunt for my liking. The ending is probably the best part, where they describe the heirs years after the game ended. The book was OK. I wouldn't tell anyone not to read it, but I'm not going to recommend it. It just wasn't the book for me....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    it was ok

    i found the book a bit confusing but the ending is a shocker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Supersharp Mystery

    A bizarre chain of events begins when sixteen unlikely people gather for the reading of Samuel W. Westing's will. And though no one knows why the eccentric, game-loving millionare has chosen a virtual stranger-and a possible murderer-to inherit his vast fortune, one thing's for sure: Sam Westing may be dead.....but that won't stop him from playing one last game!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    hard to read!

    It is a fun book about a man who gets murdered, and the heirs have to find out who was the murderer by playing a game called the Westing Game. I did not like it that much, because to me there were too many things happening at one time. I only recommend it if you like puzzles and mystery books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    This book was ok but not the best one I read dog.

    This book was cool but it wasn't the bomb. it was cool when the bombs explode and then the fireworks will be awesome. (' ' )( ' ') (' ')^ ^(' ')^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    ok

    this book is gay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Less complication please.

    In my opinion I think that the book was a bit coplicated ,but to those who like to think,and figure things out like mysteries then this is the book for you.staring an old mans death, a bomber, and enough things to make your brain hurt until you finsh the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Westing Game

    The book was funny and kind a good kind a boring. I only read it because the teacher told me to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3