Customer Reviews for

Lawless: A Novel Based on a True Story

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    I could almost taste the moonshine!!

    Matt Bondurant is a great visual writer. The great detail in the book made me feel as though I was in 1930's Virginia. The story is about 3 brothers in the bootlegging business, all at different stages in their lives. Its a story about life lessons, greed, love and loyalty. I loved it and towards the end of the story I could not put the book down. The only part I think some people might have issues with is keeping up with the timeline. The story bounces around from one year, to the next, then back again. I loved it!! I would read it again and I cant wait to see the movie version at the end of this year. If you're into crime dramas or if you're a history buff like I am, you're going to love the book as well.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Great Book and Great Movie... Lawless

    Really enjoyed the movie Lawless and got the book right after watching the movie.

    Unique writing style threw me off for awhile and I ended up starting the book over once I got the feel for the writer. Still a great book and there are incidents in the book that aren't in the movie, so it is worth the time.

    Highly recommend them both. I would read the book 1st if I had it to do over again.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Kool

    This book is just amazing & the movie is even better.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Fantastic second novel that should be on everyone's Must Read List!!!

    The buzz from the literary community surrounding this second novel by Matt Bondurant is more than warranted--this is a fantastic literary novel that has mass market appeal as well due to the author's firm grip of the craft of storytelling, and the tension underlying the action is masterfully done. It is always hard to write about a literary novel as a 'page turner' but this is indeed what Bondurant has created here by delving deep into the mythology of his own ancestry--this is fictional account of a true story, and because of this, the resonance of the ghostly voices of Bondurant lore carry with them the certainty that there is nothing 'false' about their painful and beautiful stories. This novel is full of the unexpected and macabre, in the vein of Chabon or Pinchon, yet has the muscular characters and pressure chamber tension of McCarthy or McMurtry. This novel will surely drag Bondurant out of the quagmire of hundreds of 'new writers' and into the spotlight of novelists who are considered to be at the top of their game. I, for one, will be expecting this to show up on quite a few shortlists for major awards this year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    A good read.

    I enjoyed the book, it has good character development and a good feel for the times and the setting. I have a personal interest in the story, as my mother's family home is just to the west of the locale. I prefer historical fiction, and this novel fit the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Astounding

    If you missed how to make a genuine still in the Foxfire books, stay awake reading this one and you will learn why they were made; if you can't get past page 46 you have no business messing with the stuff in the first place. This book is an excellent account of the business, calling it fiction is just another swerve in the road keeping those d@mned revenooers off your tail. There they are now! Hide the jar!! Later, man...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Good

    Odd plot pacing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great historical read

    Thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Amazing!

    Well writen! Makes you feel as if you were there! Never gets old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Amazing

    Read this book before watching the movie. Matt Bondurant tells a family tale better than most at a a family gathering. Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it! Quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Good as the movie

    Th book is awsome it kept you engaged all throught

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Good read

    Alittle slow a times, but overall it was an interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Lawless

    Saw movie and wanted to resd book great book put me right there in the moment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Don't Recommend

    I didn't finish this book. I read all the time , but I couldn't figure this story line out. I was confused from the first chapter.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Not good

    There seemed no character development and no real narritive here. What story was it about. Forced myself through it but wish I hadnt wasted my time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Story of bootlegging in the 1920s and 1930s.

    Well written story of three brothers who run moonshine in Franklin County. The story of their struggles and triumphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    wait for the movie, if at all

    just could not develop an interest in this book.....some good scenes but in the long run left me uninterested....abandoned book mi way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I kind of lost interest.... I kind of lost interest.. I kind of lost intetest....

    Was anticipating all the fast paced excitment as the Lawless movie portrayed. Apparently when they say a movie is based on a true story one really needs to take it with a grain of salt. Was not enough build up of some of the people in the beginning of this book which made it difficult to connect thier significance of the events portrayed. Frustrating to read and a bit drawn out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Boring

    I tried to like this book. I read up to page 46, i could not continue.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3