BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What Americans Really Want...Really: The Truth About Our Hopes, Dreams, and Fears

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read it to understand all that's going on right now

    If you care about what is really happening in America, you need to read this book.

    Finally, someone tells me what Americans think rather than what I should think. While I was expecting a lot of politics, there's so much more. Luntz hits all the hot topics: jobs, health care, climate change, religion, even retirement.

    I also like the fact that Luntz provides a significant amount of public opinion data, some of it his own and some of it from other public sources, to back up his conclusions. Clearly a lot of work went into writing this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Insight

    This book gives great insight into what you neighbors and fellow Americans are thinking. Very interesting reading with some very stunning revelations. This won't change what you think, but it may very well confirm what you already suspect... that the American public is not as diametrically opposed as our politicians would have you think. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the American lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Even better than his last book

    Look, I was predisposed to like this book, because I learned so much from his last one. So I was a geek buying it on the first day. Now, with about 75 pages to go in this one, I'd say it's even better.

    As a business person and fan of politics as a hobby, this book was right up my alley. I succeed in business by trying to understand my customers--this book has countless insights into how Americans think and what they want.

    But it's not broccoli and wheat germ--it's a fun read! Sure, you'll be a better business leader or politician when you are done reading it--but you'll have fun along the way. Especially with his anecdotes from his varied worklife. Read it and laugh while you learn! A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Insights Drawn From Experiences

    Yes, I found this book will help you make better business decisions - as promised.

    And I agree it'll help you better understand and impact the voters you want to motivate, or the customers you want to attract, or the employees you want to hire. Again, it delivers as promised.

    But even if it didn't do those things, it would be a worthy read just to get an unparalleled look at what really goes on behind the glass in focus groups across America. Luntz' experiences, interactions, and anecdotes about working for America's most prominent business and political leaders really can't be matched by any other author or in any other book. It's what sets him, and this book, apart from anything else I've read.

    So it's not just a glimpse into the minds of the markets you want to reach - it's also inside intel on how America's best companies and campaigns (who might even be your competitors) are going about THEIR business.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    It is a great book. A must read. Opened my eyes to generation 2020.

    =I have read this book twice and still learn something every time. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Luntz book valuable for business

    Good information. Well organized and clear. Easily accessible--reader can pick and choose easily for personal relevance. Very helpful to me for business ideas and planning.
    Author remains objective. Draws conclusions but doesn't editoralize.
    I found it very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    dreams

    lots of interesting information

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good guide for someone who needs it.

    This book offers insights into how American's think (thanks to many Gallup polls). It is useful, assuming the polls are correct, for getting a good gauge on the future, especially concerning businesses. The one issue is that some of the material seems common sense, which is not worth buying the book, but there is plenty of material that can provide helpful business courses of action or thought which makes the book worth the price tag. It is also a fairly easy read for a business book, which I sometimes have problems keeping my attention into these types of books. That was not the case with this one. I recommend it to any manager or business owner in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book talk what the american people's are really think about this country.

    this book has a lot of information about everything .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2