Customer Reviews for

What Are You Afraid Of?: Facing Down Your Fears with Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Dr. David Jeremiah discusses nine of our greatest fears and prov

    Dr. David Jeremiah discusses nine of our greatest fears and provides biblical truths for combating them. It is safe to assume that everyone is afraid of something, and many fears are shared experiences with others. Jeremiah spends a chapter talking about each of these fears: Disaster, disease, debt, defeat, disconnection, disapproval, danger, depression, death, and deity. In addition to sharing biblical principles to combat these fears, Jeremiah shares stories of biblical figures who shared these fears and what we can learn from their stories to help us in our own experiences.

    This is an excellent book! I wanted to read it because I am a fan of Dr. David Jeremiah, not necessarily because I experience a lot of fear in my life. However, I got a lot out of this book. It served to reinforce my faith that there really is nothing to fear! The two chapters I enjoyed the most were the chapter on death and depression. Death is one of those universal things everyone experiences, but remains unknown. I love the way he put in mathematically – if you are born once, you will die twice and if you are born twice, you will die once. I could chew over that all day long!

    In the chapter on depression, I liked the way Jeremiah offered concrete advice on steps to take when readers are feeling down. I also appreciated the story he shared about the psychiatrist giving a talk on mental illness and responding to a question about what we should do if we are heading toward depression. Surprisingly, the psychiatrist didn’t say, “Take a pill”, he said, “Get out and do something for someone else.” This is not to mean there isn’t a place for medication treatment in depression, but that we do not have to be passive when feeling down. Really excellent advice!

    This isn’t a quick reading book. It took me three days to complete it because there is a lot of information and ideas to dwell upon, and this is one that I will definitely hold on to because I will want to read it again in the future. It would be a great addition to anyone’s personal library.

    Overall, I think this book has a lot of appeal for a lot of different people. If you are plagued by fears, this book puts them in perspective. If you, like me, aren’t plagued by fears, it offers reminders of why there is no reason to be afraid. After all, if God is for us, who shall stand against us?

    I received a complimentary copy of the book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the busy-ness of life it is often easy to forget the One who

    In the busy-ness of life it is often easy to forget the One who is in control and succumb to the pressure and pulls of life. We are constantly anxious, intimidated and fearful which prevents many Christians from living the life God called them to live.
    Everyone is afraid of something: failure, success, loneliness, crowds, death, and life; the list is endless. And no one is immune to fear. Fear haunts the weak and the powerful, the young and the old, the rich and the poor. It is the great equalizer.


    Well, fear not! There is hope. In What Are You Afraid Of? Dr. David Jeremiah identifies and explains what is at the heart of nine of our greatest fears and lays out a biblical plan for overcoming each one of them. He also examines one particular fear that should be part of our daily lives: the fear of God.
    Dr Jeremiah’s book is targeted toward young and old adults who are dealing or have dealt with fear and want to overcome its strong grip on their lives. With most fears in teenagers being terrorist attacks, spiders, death/being killed, not succeeding in life/failing, war, heights, crime/violence, being alone, the future, and nuclear war, Jeremiah stresses fear is usually future-based and that we should focus on God instead of our fears.

    Dr Jeremiah breaks fear into ten sections: In a unique arrangement of thought, all the "fears" begin with the letter "D":
    Disaster: the Fear of Natural Calamity
    Disease: the Fear of Serious Illness
    Debt: the Fear of Financial Collapse
    Defeat: the Fear of Failure
    Disconnection: the Fear of Being Alone
    Disapproval: the Fear of Rejection
    Danger: the Fear of Sudden Trouble
    Depression: the Fear of Mental Breakdown
    Death: the Fear of Dying
    Deity: the Fear of God
    I recommend this book it is easy to read and informative and would be a great study.
    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my review.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Life is filled with fears. Dr. David Jeremiah takes a look at t

    Life is filled with fears. Dr. David Jeremiah takes a look at these fears as well as providing strong Biblical teaching on how to overcome these fears. There are 10 types of fear that are discussed. These fears are: disaster, disease, debt, defeat, loneliness, disapproval, danger, depression, death, and God. These are things that everyone deals with in themselves or in other people that touch our lives. The hope and practical wisdom provided is motivating.

    I know this book will be a great reference tool to be used throughout my life. Working with people on a daily basis will put these principles into practice. I look forward to sharing this wisdom with the people in my life.

    My heartfelt thanks to Netgalley and Tyndale House Publishers for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    deeply inspirational

    I love this book so wonderful has something for every thing we face and fear. God doesn't want us to live in fear even with everything around us this book shows how and inspires peace in the storm

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Very encouraging

    We all are afraid of something in life...probably more than one but this book gives the Biblical point of view to help alleviate fears. It is definitely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Fear: Chapter 1

    I slowly opened my eyes. Where was i? I obviously wasnt in my bed, where i had fallen asleep. I felt a stinging pain in my knees and elbows when i tried to lift them off the ground. I looked at them. They were badly scraped, blood dribbling out. Ignoring the pain, i stood up. There were heavily armored houses all around me. I was in the middle of a road. "Hello?" I called. It was the afternoon, so i had expected somone to be outside. It was a sunny day, with not a cloud in the sky. Speaking of which, thats my name. Skie. I started walking up to one of the houses without a barbed wire gate. Knocking on the door, i called "Hello?" Again. Suddenly, somone grabbed me from behind. "Hey!" I shouted, wriggling from their grasp. I turned around to see a girl around my age, 11 years old. Long black hair cascaded over her shoulders. Her bright blue eyes were slightly confused. "Who are you?" She asked. "Skie. What about you?" I replied. "Call me Raven. Quick, follow me." She said, grabbing my hand and pulling me twords a huge metal house with a tall electric fence all around it. "We need to get inside. I raised an eyebrow. "Why? Its a nice day out." I asked. She shook her head. "Nice day?! Are you crazy?! There are Wendigos wandering around!" I was confused. "What are Wendigos?" Raven rolled her eyes. "Just c'mon! I'll explain evrything later. I followed her to the fence. There was a heavy silver door in the gate. She entered a code and the door opened. As soon as we were both in, the door slammed behind us. Raven rushed me into her house, which was full over weapons, sheilds, and other things that are used to defend. "Ok, first of all, where am i?" I asked her. She turned to me, hanging up her purple cloak. "You're in Demonton."

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great Short!

    Absolutely LOVED this short story! Can't wait to read more from this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    This is an amazing book that should be read and discussed in eve

    This is an amazing book that should be read and discussed in every church adult Sunday School regardless of the denomination. The author says we shouldn’t discuss our plans without checking the Bible first. We need to read and obey without deviating. God won’t leave or forsake us and God can make us successful and prosperous. Many people have a fear of being alone, unloved, isolated, with only TV, computer, or phone for companionship. Isolation, fear of being phone-less, and lack of relationships can kill mind and spirit. Many Biblical characters suffered from loneliness: Noah, Hagar, Abraham, Joseph, Moses, David, Paul, and even Jesus. Disapproval, fear of rejection, and fear of man causes some like Marlene Dietrich to have numerous affairs and play for applause. King Saul lost his throne by shifting from fear of God to fear of man. Peter denied Jesus three times because of fear. When we are filled with ourselves, fail to pray, depend on our own energy, follow Jesus from a distance, and find fellowship in the wrong places, we can fail like Peter. We can stop the fear of others with faith and love for Him. When Peter and John were in jail, Peter jumped at the opportunity to preach. When storms come, we can, like Peter, cry to Him for help. Our faith drives out fear. However, we need to hold God in awe, fear his power, holiness, and judgment. We should live with openness, love God and seek Jesus to avoid depression which can quench our spirit. Depression is like cancer, but many great men of faith like Moses, Elijah, Martin Luther, John Knot, and Paul Bunyan suffered from it. All this and so much more is contained in this book. I can’t encourage you enough to read this book ASAP. I can guarantee it won’t disappoint you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    "[T]he only thing we have to fear is fear itself..." T

    "[T]he only thing we have to fear is fear itself..." This famous quote by President Franklin Roosevelt resonates with so many because fear can grip and latch and never let go.

    Fear is paralyzing and through its immobilizing affect it consumes the mind, the body, and sometimes the spirit. Why is this so? Is there anything that can be done about it? (See Dr. Jeremiah talk about his book)

    In his book, Dr. Jeremiah address ten fears from which many have suffered. They are:

    1. Disaster
    2. Disease
    3. Debt
    4. Defeat
    5. Disconnection (Loneliness)
    6. Disapproval
    7. Danger
    8. Depression
    9. Death
    10. Deity (Fear of God)

    With each fear, Dr. Jeremiah uses the Bible to show that God is in control and to rest in the peace He offers. Dr. Jeremiah does not deny that fear is crippling but he offers the hope that God is able to carry, and empower, one through any fear that may arise.Dr. Jeremiah also gives examples from Scripture of those that have suffered from one fear or another and how God intervened to show His power through their weakness.

    This is a great book for anyone as fear is not selective. Having a resource like this could give comfort to those presently caught in the mire of fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    What Are You Afraid Of? is a good read. The author discusses dif

    What Are You Afraid Of? is a good read. The author discusses different fears people have in each chapter and accompanies them with modern stories and scripture. These fears include: Disaster, Disease, Debt, Defeat, Disconnection, Disapproval, Danger, Depression, Death and Deity. The chapters with Disconnection, Depression and Death were more interesting to me than the others. Disconnection discusses about not personally connecting with people and constantly connecting through online activities. I have had to cope with Depression, so that one was personal to me. And Death was comforting for me to read.
    I think this book is a definitely worth a read.
    4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loneliness, failure, and depression are part of the ten causes o

    Loneliness, failure, and depression are part of the ten causes of fear discussed by the author. He offers solutions to clear our paths of pride and ego with the alternatives of faith and fearlessness. I’ve listened to the author and plan to read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Facing your Fears! Dr. Jeremiah brings to light some of the mos

    Facing your Fears!

    Dr. Jeremiah brings to light some of the most common fears people have and uses verses from the Bible to help people learn how to overcome them.  He also uses real life stories to show some of the fears that other people have had and overcome.
    This book would be an excellent resource for anyone who lives in fear and wants help on learning how to overcome it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Intelligent and Insightful as Well as Inspiring. This book makes

    Intelligent and Insightful as Well as Inspiring. This book makes so much sense, with so many good references, that I plan to read it again, knowing I'll get even more out of it. These are valuable insights, and they will take some time to sink in. I respect many of the authors quoted, like Joni Eareckson Tada, and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, among others. There are also many relevant Scriptures. If you need to be comforted and encouraged, this is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    I forgot where cp is!!!!!

    Please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To below

    I'm sorry. I can't 'cause its pretty long. Just type in 'stupid cat' and tap the 'see in shop' button. It doesn't say it there, but just tap the bar.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Cant you just put the test here?

    Please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    So many people deal with fear every day. Worrying over loved one

    So many people deal with fear every day. Worrying over loved ones, stressing about money issues, jobs, or sicknesses. These fears hold us back and cause us to miss opportunities and blessings.

    The ten fears most people experience some time or another in life are dealt with in this book: DISASTER, DISEASE, DEBT, DEFEAT, DISCONNECTION, DISAPPROVAL, DANGER, DEPRESSION, DEATH, and DIETY.

    David Jeremiah (who is one of the most remarkable TV evangelists ever—in my opinion) reveals common fears and how we can conquer them. Using biblical teachings and powerful examples, Dr. Jeremiah guides the reader into not only conquering fears, but also growing a deeper understanding and appreciation of how God loves us and is ultimately in control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Worth the read

    Have not finished this one yet but it does keep one interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Very good

    Recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Emris ~ Author of Chosen

    Pretty good. Not to many grammar mistakes or spelling mishaps. I'd be a bit more original on the character naming though.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2