Customer Reviews for

What Becomes of the Brokenhearted

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Book!

    This book and "Invisible Life" are my favorite E Lynn Harris books.

    I just love him. I could totally relate to this book. I cried while I was reading it because I could definitely relate to what he was saying.

    I love good books that deal with life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A story worth reading...

    E. Lynn Harris's story is dynamic and heartfelt.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    A Must Read

    I am not much of a reader but after reading. Invisable Life...I was attracted to E. Lynn Harris's writing style. I read the book like 3 years ago. I always wanted to read this book but never took out the time. I am only on day 3 of reading the book and I am almost finished. From the beginning of the book up until where I am at now, the book is POWERFUL!! I felt as if I was reading a story about my life. Thanks to E. Lynn Harris and see myself in a differnt way. That I can too overcome all that I have been through and that my dreams can come true if I focus on what's important. I learned so much from the book that I will use on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    BRAVO!!! OUTSTANDING!!! GRIPPING!!!

    I recently completed What Becomes of...and I was delighted by the book. It was E.Lynn 'normal' style, but that's what made it so refreshing and very informative also. E.Lynn really opened up and allowed us his fans and friends to see the substance of who he truly was and is. The journey's he lead us on were painful to read at times and made me question life lessons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Love E. Lynn Harris

    I have been a fan of E. Lynn Harris for quite some time. I love his books. They capture you and won't let you go until the end and at the end you still want more. I haven't read his auto-biography yet but I'm sure its just as beautiful as his fiction works. I'm excited about this one and I hope to get it soon. I'm looking out for his next book. I can't wait for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Exceptional!!!!!

    I've had this book for over a year but was reluctant to read it. I decided to pick it up Saturday morning to see if I could get into it. It was excellent I finished at 10pm that same nite. It allowed me to experience my two most expressive emotions. There were parts I laughed out loud ( my family kept asking what's so funny) and I cried. Mr. Harris truly has tapped into to his GOD given talent. Bravo on another job extremely well done!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Definitely Worth Reading!!!!!

    Being a gay man is hard enough, but being an African-American Gay man is definitely harder. I can definitely identify E. Lynn as he told his life story. It touched me in ways I never thought I would be touched. I definitely suggest that you pick up this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    The Best

    I never thought anyone could endure so much pain and survive. E.Lynn writes so well that you acutally feel what he feels and you have been where he has been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    perfect

    From the first sentence I was hooked. He went through so much pain and anguish just to be able to fit in I commend him for being able to tell his life story to the world. Everyone should read this book as well as his other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Exceptional--Emmy worthy

    This was my first novel by Mr. Harris and I was indeed enriched by his poise and his explanation of being poor, black and misunderstood. He has given me a much better appreciation for fine writing. I admire his not being afraid to tell the truth. I will be an 'eternal fan'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Courageous!

    I think that it's great the E. Lynn is able to continue on the path to healing by revealing those things that are expected to be kept in secret. I wish him continued success in his literary career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    E. Lynn Harris does it always

    I read this book when it first came out as I do not wait for paperbacks from certain writes. I have read all of Mr. Harris' books and enjoy each and everyone better that the last. I was especially interested in this one because it helped me put some of the perspectives and characters in place that were in his other books. Know I don't have to speculate. I loved this book. As always, I'm waiting for his next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Outstanding!!!

    E. Lynn definitely is an extradionary writer, and I could not put this book down once I started reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    It's all good

    Opens closed eyes, should make people not be so judgemental. Go E. Lynn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    what happened...

    as a reader of e. lynn harris novels and side projects, this was a let down, a book that i felt like i forced myself to finish, unlike his novels where you can't wait to put the book down, this i did, sad to say, for i heard my harris read an excerpt of the biography in in early conception, that chapter read at the time had life and seize on a reader(myself) to want to hear more, while reading the book that magic was gone. mr. harris needs to go back to the blueprint of his first 3 books where he caught my eyes up til now. what becomes of a jaded writer whose success may have spilled ink on their creativity eg. terry mcmillian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Something People Can Relate Too:+

    This is a book that people can really relate too. I felt myself being PULLED into his past, present and Future. It is Great Therapy for people who are going through something almost identical to what went on in his life. I LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Very incisive and detailed you view an honest person

    Very incisive and detailed you view an honest person. I truly felt his years growing up as a black child in Arkansas showed us his triumphs and allows us to fully appreciate his struggles. This book display his classic writing technique of starting at the end, also consisting of timely storyline that never allows to get tired of reading. This book has truly made me a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    LOOKING FOR LOVE IN ALLTHE WRONG PLACES

    MR.HARRIS IS AN OUTSTANDING AUTHOR,HE PAINTS THE PICTURE WELL! HIS BOOKS ENLIGHTEN YOU,AND CAUSE YOU TO REFLECT AND TAKE NOTICE OF PEOPLE IN THE SAME SITUATIONS AROUND YOU. IN REGARDS TO THE NOVEL (WHAT BECOMES OF THE BROKENHEARTED), IT SPEAKS LOUDLY ABOUT THE AUTHOR, AS NO BOOK HAS DONE BEFORE. IN ALL OF HIS BOOKS, HE HAS REVEALED BITS AND PEICES OF HIMSELF. I AM THANKFUL TO HAVE READ THE CURRENT NOVEL, AND TO SEE HIM COME TO TERMS WITH HIMSELF. EVEN THOUGH,MR.HARRIS IS SUCCESSFUL IN ALL ASPECTS OF THE WORD,HE HAS CONTINUED TO BE CONSUMED BY LOW SELF ESTEEM,PAST SUFFERINGS, AND HAS CONTINUED TO FALL INTO THE SAME TYPE OF RELATIONSHIPS. HE HAS BEEN CONSUMED WITH LOOKING FOR LOVE IN ALL THE WRONG PLACES. NOW THAT HE HAS OPENED UP HIS LIFE IN LIVING COLOR, I PRAY THAT HE WILL BE ABLE TO FIND PEACE AND FIND THE LOVE THAT HE'S BEEN SEARCHING FOR ALL HIS LIFE. THE LOVE THAT CAN ONLY BE FOUND IN THE WATER OF THE WORD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Powerful Book

    Mr. Harris life story is filled with the pain of growing up and the dating game that we all can share but in the end we grow up and move on and in this book he tells that story beautifully. I couldn't put it down until I was finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Awesome

    E Lynn Harris is awesome at what he does, he has a way of touching everyone who meets him and/or reads his books, this book is well worth reading as it touches down deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3