Customer Reviews for

What Becomes of the Brokenhearted

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Book!

    This book and "Invisible Life" are my favorite E Lynn Harris books.

    I just love him. I could totally relate to this book. I cried while I was reading it because I could definitely relate to what he was saying.

    I love good books that deal with life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    A Must Read

    I am not much of a reader but after reading. Invisable Life...I was attracted to E. Lynn Harris's writing style. I read the book like 3 years ago. I always wanted to read this book but never took out the time. I am only on day 3 of reading the book and I am almost finished. From the beginning of the book up until where I am at now, the book is POWERFUL!! I felt as if I was reading a story about my life. Thanks to E. Lynn Harris and see myself in a differnt way. That I can too overcome all that I have been through and that my dreams can come true if I focus on what's important. I learned so much from the book that I will use on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    BRAVO!!! OUTSTANDING!!! GRIPPING!!!

    I recently completed What Becomes of...and I was delighted by the book. It was E.Lynn 'normal' style, but that's what made it so refreshing and very informative also. E.Lynn really opened up and allowed us his fans and friends to see the substance of who he truly was and is. The journey's he lead us on were painful to read at times and made me question life lessons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Love E. Lynn Harris

    I have been a fan of E. Lynn Harris for quite some time. I love his books. They capture you and won't let you go until the end and at the end you still want more. I haven't read his auto-biography yet but I'm sure its just as beautiful as his fiction works. I'm excited about this one and I hope to get it soon. I'm looking out for his next book. I can't wait for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Exceptional!!!!!

    I've had this book for over a year but was reluctant to read it. I decided to pick it up Saturday morning to see if I could get into it. It was excellent I finished at 10pm that same nite. It allowed me to experience my two most expressive emotions. There were parts I laughed out loud ( my family kept asking what's so funny) and I cried. Mr. Harris truly has tapped into to his GOD given talent. Bravo on another job extremely well done!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Definitely Worth Reading!!!!!

    Being a gay man is hard enough, but being an African-American Gay man is definitely harder. I can definitely identify E. Lynn as he told his life story. It touched me in ways I never thought I would be touched. I definitely suggest that you pick up this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    The Best

    I never thought anyone could endure so much pain and survive. E.Lynn writes so well that you acutally feel what he feels and you have been where he has been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    perfect

    From the first sentence I was hooked. He went through so much pain and anguish just to be able to fit in I commend him for being able to tell his life story to the world. Everyone should read this book as well as his other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Exceptional--Emmy worthy

    This was my first novel by Mr. Harris and I was indeed enriched by his poise and his explanation of being poor, black and misunderstood. He has given me a much better appreciation for fine writing. I admire his not being afraid to tell the truth. I will be an 'eternal fan'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    E. Lynn Harris does it always

    I read this book when it first came out as I do not wait for paperbacks from certain writes. I have read all of Mr. Harris' books and enjoy each and everyone better that the last. I was especially interested in this one because it helped me put some of the perspectives and characters in place that were in his other books. Know I don't have to speculate. I loved this book. As always, I'm waiting for his next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Outstanding!!!

    E. Lynn definitely is an extradionary writer, and I could not put this book down once I started reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    It's all good

    Opens closed eyes, should make people not be so judgemental. Go E. Lynn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Very incisive and detailed you view an honest person

    Very incisive and detailed you view an honest person. I truly felt his years growing up as a black child in Arkansas showed us his triumphs and allows us to fully appreciate his struggles. This book display his classic writing technique of starting at the end, also consisting of timely storyline that never allows to get tired of reading. This book has truly made me a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Powerful Book

    Mr. Harris life story is filled with the pain of growing up and the dating game that we all can share but in the end we grow up and move on and in this book he tells that story beautifully. I couldn't put it down until I was finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Awesome

    E Lynn Harris is awesome at what he does, he has a way of touching everyone who meets him and/or reads his books, this book is well worth reading as it touches down deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    HE HAS DONE IT AGAIN

    I love this man. Two years ago I read Invisible Life, and I have been stuck with him ever since... I loved his life story due to the fact I went through many of those ups and downs of coming out... I thank E. Lynn Harris for this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Book of The Year!!

    I don¿t know about anyone else but I read the last few pages twice looking for my name but did not see it under ¿More than you know.¿ Finally I just signed my name. (All right) Your memoir was one of the best books I¿ve read all year. It was flavor filled and just a marvelous read. E. Lynn¿s life was not the greatest but not too many people have a great childhood, if you live in a human society. You have inspired me to move on, keep stepping with my faith in God and especially myself. In my opinion, anyone reading this book will definitely be challenged. All I can say is ¿Thank you very kindly, E. Lynn.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL

    I ALWAYS WONDERED IF ANY OF E.LYNN'S CHARACTERS WERE HIM..........HE LET'S YOU KNOW THE DEAL WITH THIS BOOK. FOR ALL OF US WHO KNOW HIS CHARACTERS, YOU WILL TRULY UNDERSTAND THE PASSION FOR HIS WRITING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    I was hesitant at first

    because it was the life of one of my most enjoyable author E. Lynn Harris. I was so use to reading his fiction books and I knew this was about his life, not sure of what it would be about, and if I wanted to feel his pain when I read his life story. I just have to say, like all his other books it's one of the BEST!!! I'm not yet finished with this book, but I can tell you how I feel about it. I love and enjoy all his books. Please don't stop writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    VERY INSPIRING

    What a wonderful well written book. I have read all of E Lynn's books and was very inpress with his writing ability. But this book it the best of them all. If you did not know this book was about his life you would have thought you were just reading another great novel by this GREAT arthor. Now I do not agree with the gay lifestyle, but I do not knock anyone that is. But this book open my eyes and gave me a little understanding of that lifestyle. It only took me two days to complete it because it held my attention. I cried, I got angry, and then I got INSPIRED. We all go throught so many obstacles in our life, be it situations or people, but we must be STRONG and keep the FAITH knowing that our heavenly FATHER will be there to deliver us from the hand of the enemy. E Lynn had to go through and experience those tough times in order to be the man that he is today. Likewise we all must bear our crosses to reach that place in our lives that GOD wants us to be at. And never forgetting to reach back and help our fellow brothers and sisters. Keep up the good work and keep the novels coming. Because we do so appreciate them and you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2