Customer Reviews for

What Comes Next

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certain

This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certainly won't be my last.I read 3-4 books a week,and it has been a long time(probably "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo),that a story has effected me so much.The writing is superb,the characters believable,...
This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certainly won't be my last.I read 3-4 books a week,and it has been a long time(probably "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo),that a story has effected me so much.The writing is superb,the characters believable,and the dialogue spot on.I HIGHLY recommend this book.You will find yourself standing a cheering for the characters,and be caught up from page one til the end.Well done Mr. Katzenbach,you have a new fan!!!!!!!!!

posted by gmagus on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not great

Long and drawn out. Too many unneccesary words. Not that interesting at all. Will steer clear of this author.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certain

    This is the first book I have read by this author,but it certainly won't be my last.I read 3-4 books a week,and it has been a long time(probably "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo),that a story has effected me so much.The writing is superb,the characters believable,and the dialogue spot on.I HIGHLY recommend this book.You will find yourself standing a cheering for the characters,and be caught up from page one til the end.Well done Mr. Katzenbach,you have a new fan!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Okay Read

    This book was okay but I had a hard time making myself finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    If you know what is good for you stay away from it

    After finishing the book I still cannot decide what is sicker, the story or the writer. I am baffled how a fairly intelligent and very well educated person can be the author of this thing.
    The only positive thing I can say about the book is that the rape scene is just aluded to and not described in such painstaking (pun intended) detail than everything else. How can a book like this being published is beyond me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Not great

    Long and drawn out. Too many unneccesary words. Not that interesting at all. Will steer clear of this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Gave up around the 200 pg mark. started skipping all of the nons

    Gave up around the 200 pg mark. started skipping all of the nonsense about adrians dead loved ones, and the cop. eventually started skipping the pyscho-duo, and soon was only skimming the very short interactions between jennifer and either of her kidnappers.

    i bought this would be a book about some messed torture-porn web show, and the unfortunate victim. not saying i want her to die.... but that would have been waaayyyy more  interesting. i could see the ending coming from about mile (200 pgs) away. being half way through with the worst thats happened to jennifer being that they fed her didn't give me eve the slightest impression that she was going to experience anything much worse. and as i skimmed it, she didn't (except for a rape seen that vaguely eluded to? idk i stopped caring)

    Spoiler alert - anyone wondering, the quiz her about her life, they make her exercise and then feed her (even though she didn't stop when she was told to), they make her wash herself with warm soapy water but sh has to remove her bra and panties. and they ask her more questions . she gets hit once or twice. no cuts, no stewing in her own filth, on starvation, no sexual assault (aside from the vague rape. and then after they start implying - or their customers start implying - that the only other interesting they could do is kill her) this book goes way too deep into backstories for almost all the major characters, including everyone single dead loved one of Adrian's. unfortunately, i don't care about their backstories because they're dead.i don't care about the cop, i don't care that she feels for jennifer. i stop caring about jennifer to. i was tragically underwhelmed by this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great characters,great story. Read this even if you find the subject matter distasteful. It is not torture porn. Great ending too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    What comes next .....

    Begs the question, what does come next? I found this novel interesting yet disturbing. Author Katzenbach finds a way to weave a retired Psychology professor, a run+away sixteen year old young woman, a sadistic couple who have devolped a very profitable scheme to lure the perverted viewers on the wild side on the internet and a convicted child sexual molester. From the mind of William Katzenbach, he weaves these characters and a small supporting cast into an intriguing story that poses some tough social problems. And to top it off, even the ending contributes to asking another question that we are asking ourselves.

    J M Lydon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    An excellent book!

    Finally, a book that can be turned into a movie! This book kept me on my toes with so many twists I didn't see coming. I am definitely reading more by this author. I almost feel ashamed to say look out Stephen King, if this author can keep cranking them out the way you used I may have a new favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Haunting read!

    Kept me on the edge of my seat! Really loved how the characters were written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    Kept me intrigued the whole time. I couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    good news!

    excellent thriller from longtime favorite author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    From cover to cover this is a non stop thrill ride book. You won't be able to put it down either... Read it nooowwww!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    True Katzenbach

    I waited and looked for this book for two years and it was not a disappointment. I have all of his books and they are changing to
    "more horrific". A good, very fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Excellent!

    ALways loved Katzenbach's books. Waited a long time for this one, but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1