Customer Reviews for

What Doesn't Kill You

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the

I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Least exciting of the Eve Duncan series

I will admit, I had great expectation after reading Eve, Quinn and Bonnie BUT this one attempted to expand charcters from this series - it felt dry and did not meet my expectations with character roles, the plot felt unbelievable and I just wanted the story to end. I f...
I will admit, I had great expectation after reading Eve, Quinn and Bonnie BUT this one attempted to expand charcters from this series - it felt dry and did not meet my expectations with character roles, the plot felt unbelievable and I just wanted the story to end. I finished the book hoping it would tie it together, it did not and was only left with disappointment.

posted by ButterMB on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Iris has really stepped up her game these past few years. Cather

    Iris has really stepped up her game these past few years. Catherine kicks ass.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Least exciting of the Eve Duncan series

    I will admit, I had great expectation after reading Eve, Quinn and Bonnie BUT this one attempted to expand charcters from this series - it felt dry and did not meet my expectations with character roles, the plot felt unbelievable and I just wanted the story to end. I finished the book hoping it would tie it together, it did not and was only left with disappointment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What Doesn’t Kill You is a definite nail-biter! The suspe

    What Doesn’t Kill You is a definite nail-biter! The suspense in incredible! I was left breathless throughout! Recruited by the CIA, Catherine will do anything to protect those she loves… Hu Chang and her son Luke. Through flashback we witness what she did in the past and we understand the cruelty that she’d endured and what she did in order to escape captivity. No child should be sold into slavery as a prostitute and made to live the life she did. There is a lot of “Kick Butt” action that will keep you on the edge.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Amazing book!

    With amazing characters! If you have read her Eve Duncan books you have met Catherine and John. In this book you get to know them. And in the ending you get to know their hearts and passions. One can tell by the ending that we will meet these characters again, and I for one am looking forward to it. And if you don't, you will be the one missing out! This story has all if the same passion and strengths that all of the Eve Duncan books have. I raise my glass to Iris Johansen!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    I didn't like this last book of hers. I liked most of the other

    I didn't like this last book of hers. I liked most of the others she wrote and really enjoyed the books written with her son.....by the way this ended it looks like she's going to keep writing sequels......ho hum......I won't by buying anything about Chatherine Ling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Just horrible. I am forcing myself to finish this. I love the Ev

    Just horrible. I am forcing myself to finish this. I love the Eve Duncan novels but do not know if I will ever be able to pick up a book from her again. So dissapointed....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Noooooooooo!!!!

    Noooooooooo!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Entertaining Read!

    Entertaining Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Cool

    Awesome book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Hahaha

    This is a title of a song.. what doesnt kill makes u stronger

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    You do know that "What doesn't kill you (makes you stronger

    You do know that "What doesn't kill you (makes you stronger)" has been a well known catchphrase LOOOOOOONG before the Clarkson song...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    recommend

    I am not enjoying this book as much as I did "Bonnie". I have not finished reading it, but it is not holding my attention as much. Still is good reading if one hadn't read the other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Y

    B.hm.I.hub. uy n iuhbnnu.bbn.hm bnbu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Ally

    Advil

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I have read every book Iris Johansen has written, and I have enj

    I have read every book Iris Johansen has written, and I have enjoyed everyone of them.
    Catherine was a new, engaging character in the Eve Duncan series, and I was anxious to read her story. I was not disappointed. Catherine is a tough, yet very real character, with a mother's loving heart and the protective instincts of a lioness, which extends to all of those she cares about. I hope to see her and her love interest Gallo again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Disappointing to say the least!!! I thought this was the most b

    Disappointing to say the least!!! I thought this was the most book I've ever read by Iris Johansen. If this was the first book Of hers that I read, I would never pick up another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    simply johansen

    As with all of her books, I really enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    amazing book!!! I love the eve Duncan series, but when I picked

    amazing book!!! I love the eve Duncan series, but when I picked up this book it was so captivating. It draws you in. I felt every emotion they felt. I am hoping for a series chronicling the rest of Catherine Ling's adventures and the relationships between her and Luke , John Gallo and of course Hu Chang. Amazing novel!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Johannsen

    It was a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6