Customer Reviews for

What Dreams May Come

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very influential

    Though Matheson writes this in fiction form, he uses a great deal of research in forming his theory of the afterlife. Anyone questioning their personal beliefs about this great unknown will find solace from reading "What Dreams May Come"... you don't have to believe this is how things are, but it offers a compelling and beautiful picture of what might be.
    This book was very influential in shaping my own spiritual beliefs. What I love most about it is that any and all religions, or people of no faith at all, can enjoy and be inspired by this tale. Even if you don't view this from a spiritual perspective, and you are just looking for a good read, you will be entertained. This is so well written and easy to read that it is hard to put down. Highly recommended.
    Most importantly, please don't judge this book by the movie. Though I'm a fan of Robin Williams, the movie really doesn't come close to conveying the deep spiritual journey the protagonist, (an atheist until death), embarks upon.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Fantabulous! :D

    This novel changed my life. Yes, my life. Previously having been completely atheistic, this book opened up possibilites of what life is really all about, and the hope that there is something afterwards that makes living actually worthwhile. This book gave me hope, inspiration, and something to look forward to. It gave me something to believe in, and something to put my faith in.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    O.o READ THIS

    Words cannont explain how good this book was. I saw the movie and thought nothing can get better than this until i read the book. Please read this is so sweet it made me want to cry. A tiny depressing but terrific reaaaaaddddd

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great read

    Draws you in from the first sentence and keeps you until the end. Loved it. The movie is also great and has a whole new take on the idea.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    unforgettable

    It's been years since I have read this book, but I decided my nook library is completely incomplete without it. As others have said, I am and always have been an atheist. This has not made me believe in a higher being, or given me faith, but it has brought me to tears because it is a beautiful love story. That is enough to make me recommend it. It is well written and is told with an imagination that I wish I had myself. (BTW, yes this was made into a movie, and yes without a doubt, the book is better)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect

    I am an avid reader and until reading this novel, no book had ever brought me to tears. I am in no way a religious person, so this book touched me in a way that is hard to explain. I have always been terrified of death and I'm not sure that I am anymore. That may sound really stupid and not make sense if you haven't read this book, but it's true. So, aside from just being a very well written and interesting novel, for me it was also life changing in a few big ways. I literally could not put it down. I feel like this should be required reading for all adults. It has beautiful messages that I think every single person would agree with. I have never felt quite so strong about a book before.

    Read this. It could literally change you life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    What Dreams May Come

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Much better than the movie. I appreciate all the research the author did. Spiritually, it all rings true to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Excellent!

    This is about the fifth or sixth Matheson book I have read and by far it is the best! What set Matheson apart is his excellent prose and compelling characters. In this one Chris, a family man and devoted husband, is killed in a car crash. In scenes reminicent of the hospital scenes in the movie Ghost, Chris's life expires (I am sure Ghost was inspired by this novel). Chris lingers around or should I say stumbles around observing everything including his funeral and tries to contact his loved ones to no avail until his son brings in a medium who can see Chris (again like the movie Ghost). Eventually Chris is able to leave Earth and discovers the real meaning of what it is like to be dead when he ends up in Summerland (a type of Heaven). There he is watched over and instructed by one of his dead uncles. Though Chris' new existence seems ideal, he misses his wife and feels that she will not be able to cope in a world where Chris no longer exists. His fears come to pass as she commits suicide not too long after. Chris then learns that death has rules governing suicide and that his wife cannot be with him because she is sent to another place. Chris has to decide whether or not to sacrifice Heaven, to try to aid his wife. However, even if Chris can locate her, there is no guarentee that she will even know him or that Chris will be able to escape from the dark place that she now resides in. The book is impossible to put down and makes us examine our own inner selfs more thoroughly! There is a poor imitation of this book (A Brief History of the Dead) that was published recently but it nowhere hits the mark that this winner by Matheson is!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    The Very Definition of True Love

    If you want a real romance with deep themes, humanity, and true love, you must read this book. Even though it was, in parts, a bit long-winded, I was instantly pulled into it from the first page and was simply consumed. I read it within a few days and was in another world with each turn of the page. I found myself literally sobbing and sniffling for about four pages straight in which the main character, Chris, tells his wife all the things he's grateful to her for and why he loves her. The clincher was - quite arguably the best line in the whole book - 'Let this hell be our heaven'. There was no stopping the flow of tears. I felt remarkably uplifted, enlightened, happy, bittersweet, etc. when I finished it. And I think I fell even more in love with my own sweetheart, who thought it was a bit funny, albeit cute that I was crying so much. 'What Dreams May Come' makes you think, laugh, cry, cringe, and appreciate life and love much more than you did before. It did for me, anyway.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked the movie you will love the book. Original and swee

    If you liked the movie you will love the book. Original and sweet. I normally hate romance novels because its predictab , she loves him he hates her than he realizes he loves her but now she despises him he forces her into sex and suddenly everything is great....*yawn* and they use the same words to discribe charecters "rouge" "dark and beautiful" (rolling eyes) and don't even get me started on the lame sappy promotion titles...seriously! "A fist full of love" "for a few kisses more" (gag) So if you want original read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Book much better than the movie

    If you saw the movie and liked it then you should give this short novel a read. It is different than the movie in many parts. But, I liked the book so much better because of the descriptive words used. It was easier for me to imagine what everything was like due to the attention to detail. I read the paperback version and enjoyed it immensely.

    -AvidReaderMS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Loved this book!

    A truly inspiring and deeply moving novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    AMAZING!

    One of my all time faves! A must read for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Must read

    Absolutely amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Great book

    The movie was horrible, read this! I love richard mathesons work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different from the movie...

    ...in a great way! While the movie had some unforgettable imagery and moments, the plot and character differences make the two works akin to distant cousins rather than identical twins. Or perhaps fraternal twins. They're both stand-alone works w/ the book giving you a greater sense of the immense research performed to write the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite book ever

    This book changed my life. Read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    An astounding book, and more.

    Before reading "What Dreams May Come", I had only seen the 1998 movie of the same name starring Robin Williams and Cuba Gooding Jr. I was a bit hesitant buying this book at first, since I'd already seen the movie. Let me tell you now, that even though I was familiar with the plot and characters, this book was worth every gosh darn penny!

    I'm not a religious person, and I won't bore you with my personal beliefs. Let me tell you, though, that this book is truly an eye-opener. You will not regret reading it, I can assure you. If you're like me and you read fictitious books with an open mind, you will *not* put this masterpiece down until you finish it.

    In a nutshell, allow me to say this; read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Camp is next res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Repulsive

    This book paints a vile portrait of an alleged afterlife where souls are permitted to view their own rotting corpses and the soul of a suicide is trapped in a run-down house. If you have any Christian values, do yourself a favor and leave this piece of literary trash alone. It is repulsive and an insult to our Savior.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5