BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What Every Body Is Saying: An Ex-FBI Agent's Guide to Speed-Reading People

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The best body language book I've ever read

Like many people, I'm interested in being able to read other's body language. I have at least nine books on the subject, a growing collection because none gave me tools I didn't know and that I could easily go out and use.

With Joe Navarro's book, I knew I had a win...
Like many people, I'm interested in being able to read other's body language. I have at least nine books on the subject, a growing collection because none gave me tools I didn't know and that I could easily go out and use.

With Joe Navarro's book, I knew I had a winner when he answered the question: What is the most truthful part of the body. (Not the face, of course. From when we're kids, we're taught to conceal our feelings. "Don't make that face when you eat spinach!")

Not only has he coached law enforcement but he can organize and explain body language by zones in an easy-to-read way.

I've always heard of "fight or flight" but this is the first time I heard of the the first body response -- freeze. As soon as I read it and recalled times when the screech of breaks could make an entire room freeze, I knew this man knew his stuff.

If you are looking for something more than "arms crossed over the chest means they are closed off from what you are saying", this book could be for you.

posted by Ventura_Reader-Writer on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

DEFINITELY NOT WORTH BUYING! DONT DO IT! HEAR ME OUT!

I had a hard time reading through this book after the first 50 pages because everything that the author was informing on what body language is what everyone already knows! obvious! common sense!...nothing new to the pubic i'd say. FOr example, on pge 103 "on Baring the ...
I had a hard time reading through this book after the first 50 pages because everything that the author was informing on what body language is what everyone already knows! obvious! common sense!...nothing new to the pubic i'd say. FOr example, on pge 103 "on Baring the Torso" it describes how in street fights sometimes removing an article of clothing like a shirt or hat is a sigh of a person getting ready to strike at an opponent or it might be simply to flex their muscles.....HOW OBVIOUS IS THAT!..Their is lots of examples like this one that will make you feel you just wasted money on nothing. CANT SAY I DIDNT WARN YOU!

posted by Princess_Leya on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    Good read - informative and logical information

    This book contains basic knowledge and concepts of interpeting body language. It also contains the logic behind why certain actions can be perceived as pacifying behaviors. Everything I read in this book made a lot of sense. And I would notice some of the pacifying behaviors in my own actions when I was uncomfortable or stressed. That enabled me to feel more comfortable with the author and the information provided. I love crime reality tv like The First 48 - so I actually used that show to help "test" my body language reading skills. I recommend this book for anyone with a genuine and/or curious interest the hows and whys behind body language interpretation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it...put's you on the spot-light!

    What Everybody Is Saying: An Ex-FBI Agent's Guide to Speed-Reading People is a book that opens your eyes to the very things about body language you already know. It is easy to read even the not-so avid readers could just take a couple of days or so to complete the entire book. Yet, in the end you feel as though you have achieved and understood the nonverbal behaviour with a better view of the world around you - able to see most of what we take for granted in everyday life.

    In the book, Navarro demonstrates several types of body languages in pictorial format and then correlates those postures with real-life FBI past experience making his arguments even more convincing! He conveniently highlights his life experiences as an FBI agent in separate boxes over many pages bringing the tapestry of human experience in all of its delightful complexity. Some of these experiences may seem over the top, but I would like to think they are real.

    As much as this book seems popular it is worth noting that it covers complex issues some of which have no scientific evidence due to the fuzzy nature of the topic. At least, Navarro admits to this and I give him credit for his plethora of bibliography! For example, what may be a good gesture to one may not be to another depending on several factors such as culture, religion, ethnicity to mention, but a few. However, what is good about this book when you read it is that you realise that there is nothing new about body language. In fact, most of what is explained is common knowledge and experience that anyone at some point in life might have come across consciously or sub-consciously.

    Broadly speaking, Navarro splits the nonverbal behaviours into two categories on the basis of human-consciousness - those controlled by the neocortex [conscious] and the limbic part of our brain [sub-conscious]. Most of Navarro's illustrations in this book are based around the limbic part of the brain, which in essence has no control of the human brain. I believe this stance is what gives Navarro the flexibility to stretch his arguments as much as he likes, because he knows there are no right or wrong answers in his approach.

    So, find out for yourself if this man with a distinguished twenty-five year career with the FBI is what he claims to be - a human lie detector that can spot deceit with relative ease and even teach you to become a personal polygraph in short order. One thing for certain this book will do as it has done to me, is put you on the spot-light and be aware of your surroundings than ever before!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Very informative

    Easy to read and understand

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    GREAT TOOLS!!!

    This book has an abundance of information!!! As you pick up on the readings and the clues that people exude it makes people watching fun!!! As weird as that may sound however it actually seems that you have a second set of eyes to see the world with. You see things that most wouldn't. Definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Solid read. Mr. Navarro has a lot of experience and knowledge in

    Solid read. Mr. Navarro has a lot of experience and knowledge in the field. Easy to read and with pictures to follow, this book is a solid read for someone starting out in body language reading. He also offers personal anecdotes that are very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Great Intro!

    This book is slow for the first part and reviews what you already know, or should know! However, it puts evry day interactions into context and makes you more aware of your surroundings and the people around you. The 2nd half of the book is more useful in building a basis to start studying this topic and people. Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2