Customer Reviews for

What Got You Here Won't Get You There: How Successful People Become Even More Successful

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

IBM Competitive Edge Book Club Selects Book in Q2 2009

The IBM Competitive Edge Book Club, open to Sales, Marketing, and Communications professionals at IBM, voted and selected "What Got You Here Won't Get You There" as the Q2 2009 book selection. The feedback regarding the book and Marshall's messages was extremely positiv...
The IBM Competitive Edge Book Club, open to Sales, Marketing, and Communications professionals at IBM, voted and selected "What Got You Here Won't Get You There" as the Q2 2009 book selection. The feedback regarding the book and Marshall's messages was extremely positive. In the feedback from the members, we ask them the question - "What will you do differently in your job since your study of this book." Some of the replies directly from the members included:

- "Brings into focus the ability to look at the things that you do day-to-day and re-evaluate what can be done, should done and what can be ignored or eliminated."

- "I will stop and breathe and ask myself at least one of the questions Marshall suggests: will my comment increase the commitment of the other person or will this benefit me and my family. then after that, if the answer is "no" ... is it worth it?"

- "I'll try to spend more time coaching / listening and resist the temptation to "add value to everything."

- "Appreciated his perspective of the customer - loved the waiter example."

- "I will be much more cognizant of the twenty habits limiting future success. Likewise I intend to use some of the suggestions for effective peer feedback solicitation. Finally, when in a mentoring position, this is a book I will readily recommend."

Marshall - Thank you, your energy and enthusiasm enables us to think differently and strategically to make those changes in ourselves.

Best Regards,
Brien Convery
IBM Global Workforce Partner and Competitive Edge Book Club Leader

posted by Brien_Convery on March 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but...

I thought the information contained in the book was worthwhile. However, I think the author spent a lot of stories that were not necessary to drive home the points. The headings meant a lot. But instead of spending 10 pages describing, a paragraph or two would have s...
I thought the information contained in the book was worthwhile. However, I think the author spent a lot of stories that were not necessary to drive home the points. The headings meant a lot. But instead of spending 10 pages describing, a paragraph or two would have sufficed. For this, two stars get deducted.

posted by lemme14 on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    IBM Competitive Edge Book Club Selects Book in Q2 2009

    The IBM Competitive Edge Book Club, open to Sales, Marketing, and Communications professionals at IBM, voted and selected "What Got You Here Won't Get You There" as the Q2 2009 book selection. The feedback regarding the book and Marshall's messages was extremely positive. In the feedback from the members, we ask them the question - "What will you do differently in your job since your study of this book." Some of the replies directly from the members included:

    - "Brings into focus the ability to look at the things that you do day-to-day and re-evaluate what can be done, should done and what can be ignored or eliminated."

    - "I will stop and breathe and ask myself at least one of the questions Marshall suggests: will my comment increase the commitment of the other person or will this benefit me and my family. then after that, if the answer is "no" ... is it worth it?"

    - "I'll try to spend more time coaching / listening and resist the temptation to "add value to everything."

    - "Appreciated his perspective of the customer - loved the waiter example."

    - "I will be much more cognizant of the twenty habits limiting future success. Likewise I intend to use some of the suggestions for effective peer feedback solicitation. Finally, when in a mentoring position, this is a book I will readily recommend."

    Marshall - Thank you, your energy and enthusiasm enables us to think differently and strategically to make those changes in ourselves.

    Best Regards,
    Brien Convery
    IBM Global Workforce Partner and Competitive Edge Book Club Leader

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Words of wisdom from an outstanding executive coach

    From a purely economic perspective, this may be among the most valuable books in print. If every executive followed the advice in this book, we wouldn't have more than 100 million Americans who are not engaged in their jobs and, as a result, productivity and innovation would soar. In this book, uber-executive coach Marshall Goldsmith shares his insights about the most common habitual behaviors that prevent leaders from reaching their potential and how to overcome them. We all have these blind spots that others see but we don't. It's part of the human condition. In this book Marshall provides the best description I have ever seen of the most common blind spots. Marshall provides thorough explanations and illustrates his points with compelling anonymous examples from his work with high achievers. Reading this book is the next best thing to having Marshall as a coach.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Marshall Goldsmith Has The Answers

    This volume should be read by many managers, self appointed leaders and so-called executives who ignore the fundamentals of what makes business work: it's not the mechanisms, but ones' sensitivity to people and the manner in which we behave. Further, Goldsmith's care in suggesting that these techniques be tried at home are wonderful! He's humorous, experienced, caring and obviously passionate about helping others. Short read, great content!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Good book, bad sound quality

    The book from Marshall Goldsmith is nice. Unfortunately the quality of the audiobook copy provided through Barnes & Noble is bad. It has repeating sequences at the end of most chapters/tracks. Sounds as if ripped from scratched CD in very poor quality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, but...

    I thought the information contained in the book was worthwhile. However, I think the author spent a lot of stories that were not necessary to drive home the points. The headings meant a lot. But instead of spending 10 pages describing, a paragraph or two would have sufficed. For this, two stars get deducted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    The Book for Humility

    As an aspiring servant of Krishna 'God', I find Marshall's book extremely useful. According to our scriptures, the most important quality that every devotee of Krishna must develop is - humility. This book gives an abundance of practical ways on how to develop it. Our leaders have already expressed liking for some of Marshall's tools, and I hope and pray that it will increase. Akrura dasa, Counsellor System Coordinator, International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON), London, UK

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Unlikely to be read by those who need it most

    This book is full of irony.

    It starts with an excessive number of blurbs extolling the expertise of the author, continues to advise the reader that s/he has a big ego problem and needs to think of others, and closes by informing the reader that author cherry-picks his clients to guarantee his success as a consultant.

    Are there points that will resonate with those who have experienced interactions exemplified in list of managerial flaws? Yes.

    Is the advice given reasonable and to the point? Yes.

    Will the people who really need the advice in this book every read it? Highly unlikely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Discuss with small group

    This is a great book to use as a small group discussion. Honest feedback to each other will provide the fuel to make positive changes in your lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Lightdrizzle

    Ahhh.......... i see. They all liked u. Well........ i would tell u ur mission and prophecy........ but ur friends are watching/listening.
    Lightdrizzle

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Stormpaw

    Storm: I suppose Ill figure it out. *walked out*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    exllent book

    a must read one....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A great read for the employee and the individual

    This is a great book to advance as an employee, co-worker or manager as well as an individual, spouse, family member, or friend. The subject matter is more of the workplace enviroment. However, some of the stories are about family and self-growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Good strategies

    Good strategies for business enhancement and will make you better.
    I would also recommend Dr. Steinberg's new book: Full Throttle.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A clear vision.

    This is a useful book to read if U want 2 move up in Ur particular field of work. Real solutions for situations U maybe facing in Ur present employment position. Solid advice on making changes that may assist U 2 move up in Ur career. It was worth reading and taking notes on.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Excellent book

    I enjoyed reading Marshall Goldsmith's anecdotes about what propels senior executives to achieve success and what holds them back. I was particularly interested in the author's comments about the self-aggrandizing beliefs and perspectives on control held by these executives. His comments are incisive and this book certainly provides abundant value. I recommend reading this fine book along with Optimal Thinking: How To Be Your Best Self, the classic international best-seller that provides the mental software for optimal performance and best practices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Straight talk on how to succeed!!!

    Marshall is a masterful coach and teacher. He really hits the mark with his latest book! His 20 habits will help you succeed in the workplace and in life! Marshall delivers a wealth of information that gets to the heart of common behavioral issues ¿ practical, no-nonsense advice on how to change your bad habits once and for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Career and Financial Success

    Marshall Goldsmith has a rare opportunity to interact with ultra-successful people. And because of his exposure to this group of people he has a rare opportunity to see what interpersonal habits help propel people forward, or hold them back. His identification of 20 bad workplace habits was right on the mark. I am guilty of a few myself! But with this book, I feel that I have a greater awareness of how the habits manifest, and what to do to avoid them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Great Book on Behavioral Derailers

    There are a lot of business books worth buying for your library, but not worth actually reading. ¿What Got You Here Won¿t Get You There¿ is a notable exception. As a professional assessor, coach, and executive trainer, I constantly hear about highly successful people who do incredibly silly things that derail their career. These executives think that the skills and behaviors that enabled them to succeed in the first place are the same skills and behaviors they will need in the future. They stubbornly fail to face their behavioral blind spots, putting their head in the sand rather than making adjustments. Great leaders know they have to change and grow to meet the needs of their people and organizations. They recognize that they have blind spots, and they actively seek feedback (and feedforward, as Goldsmith argues) to identify and address them. ¿What Got You Here Won¿t Get You There¿ offers insight into 20 behaviors that commonly derail otherwise successful people. By learning from the experiences of the people profiled in the book, busy executives can hold the mirror up to themselves and ask if they share some of those same behaviors. Only when they recognize these behaviors can they do something about it. Goldsmith¿s book will serve as a powerful mirror that reflects the behavioral derailers for a whole generation of executives, enabling those who take what they see seriously to achieve long-term career success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you have never been lucky enough to hear Marshall speak, you should buy this book. In addition to being the most renowned and probably most highly-paid executive coach in the business world today, Marshall is a captivating and entertaining speaker. You can, so to speak, take him anywhere -- I have witnessed groups of almost 900 multi-level people from different companies to 30-person intact teams of high-level executives respond to Marshall with equal enthusiasm, laughter and, quite often, tears. Conversely, if you have been lucky enough to hear Marshall speak, you also should buy this book. It provides concrete answers to the ¿now what?¿ that audiences ask after they¿ve been inspired to action by Marshall¿s call to ¿let go of the past¿ and try ¿feedforward.¿ Susan Diamond Chief Learning Officer / VP Women Presidents¿ Organization and Program Director ¿ Executive Coaching Seminars The Conference Board

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Meaningful and fun at the same time!

    Dr. Marshall Goldsmith's 'What Got You Here Won't Get You There' is a book with far reaching implications for both high level executives as well as anyone who strives to improve themselves and their relationships. Not only did I feel as though I was learning valuable life lessons, Dr. Goldsmith's wit and charm make the book one that is truly enjoyable (and fun!) to read. This book has been rewarding to me both professionally and personally. I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for meaningful steps to greater success!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4