Customer Reviews for

What Happened to Goodbye (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(481)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing.

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. ...
I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. The ending felt rushed and was predictable. There wasn't much interaction between Mclean and her love interest. This is the worst book Sarah Dessen has written so far.

posted by isa_bly on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 819 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't say goodbye to this book!

    The book that I am reviewing is called 'What Happened To Goodbye'. This story takes place in present time, in a little town. Mclean is the main character, but she personaly doesn't understand her own character. She moves around a lot, ever since her parents' divorce. About every six months, she moves both her house and her personality. This most recent location, though, she is herself. Why? A guy named Dave. Dave helps Mclean see who she realy is, and teaches her what a real friend is. I would highly recommend this book to a friend. Any of Sarah Dessen's books are great. She is an amazing author, especially with this story. It has a great message that is sent out, and it is fun to read also.

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    AWESOME

    This book is awesome! Sarah Dessen presents new characters with amazing personalities. Super awesome.

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    She's done it again

    Sarah Dessen is an amazing author, and once again she's written a great book for anyone's collection. A must read!

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Best Sarah Dessen book in my opinion. I loved the chemistry between Mclean and Dave. This book is a must read for sappy, mushy, happy-ending loving, hopeless romantics (like me) (:

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very disappointing.

    I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. The ending felt rushed and was predictable. There wasn't much interaction between Mclean and her love interest. This is the worst book Sarah Dessen has written so far.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Loved It

    Mclean is constantly moving with her father, and constantly starting over as someone new— she's been been Eliza, Lizbet, Beth. But on her fifth move, she's just Mclean. And she begins to begins to rediscover who SHE really is, as Mclean, as herself.

    Mclean doesn't have a very good relationship with her mom, Katherine Hamilton. When Mclean was younger, Katie Sweet, her mom then, cheated on Mclean's father, Gus Sweet, with Peter Hamilton, a man that Gus had a lot of respect for. She had an affair with him, then divorced Gus, getting married to Peter. Mclean doesn't want to live with her mother anymore, because she's hurt by what she did to her father.

    It's hard for Mclean to move so much, so she wants to start a new life in every new town. But on her latest move with her dad, Mclean is just...Mclean. And her rediscovers herself, putting down roots, and making friends. She's playing the most popular girl in school, or the president of the student council. She's finally just being herself.

    This book was a little slow at first, but once you get farther into it, it's amazing. I couldn't put it down after I got just far enough. So don't read the first 100 pages and go, "Oh, this is so boring, whatever," because soon it'll get really good. It was fantastic. Five stars. I highly reccomend it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Boring.

    I am a fan of sarah dessens books, but this one sucks. Its boring and doesnt grab your attention. In my opinion, she definetly couldve developed the characters and the story line way more. As another commentator had stated, a complete yawnfest. Do not waste your money on this. Its not worth it.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I absolutely love Sarah Dessen, so when I read this book I was w

    I absolutely love Sarah Dessen, so when I read this book I was waiting
    for it to get better. It never did. It wasn't that the storyline was
    bad, per se, but it definitely wasn't enough for the length of the book.
    Too many pages filled with needless details and events that distracted
    the reader from what was actually going on (i.e. nothing). Another thing
    that bothered me a little was the ending. Yeah, it was okay but I could
    see a different and better ending to be better-fitting. All in all, I'd
    try for a different Sarah Dessen novel to occupy your time.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    not recommended

    I was excited when Sarah Dessen came out with a new book because she was one of my favorite authors but this book was VERY dissappointing! The book just didn't capture my attention and the plot was confusing, like is the plot about accepting her mother for cheating, figuring out who she really is, or opening to Dave?!?!

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Can't Wait!

    All of Sarah Dessen's previous books have been breathtaking! I just hope this one is just as good, if not better, which I bet it will be. So excited...

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh god.

    What an unfortunate name. "Mclean".....really Sarah? That's the best you've got?

    6 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I Love It.

    So, this is a first try at a Dessen book. I usually go to my local Barnes and Noble, and look in the New Teen Fiction Section. This was in there, and I read the small introduction in the back of the book. I was immediatley interested. One of the reviews on this book complained it was a 'snooze fest' I disagree completley. It made me want to read more, and I finished this book in about four days. I am not a very fast reader so to say. I really loved this book. It gave me a lot of umph to read more of her books. Oh, and the characters, are not 'underdeveloped', I understood their persomality, and home lifes, quite well actually. Maybe that is just me, but I doubt it, considering Im only 11, and the person who said this had to be much older than me. Must read! The negitive comments are wrong, this book is absolutley amazing! One night, I turned in at 11PM and I couldnt sleep. So I picked up my Nook, and read until 4 in the morning on this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Ok

    I love Sarah Dessen books, but this one was a little disapointing because it wasn't as good as her other books.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Not Dessen's best

    As a Sarah Dessen fan, I figured her most recent novel would stand up to those written previously, I was sadly mistaken, however. It's not that "What Happened to Goodbye" is bad, it's just not great either. I found myself bored about half way through and completely shocked at how predictably the events unfolded. I knew how it was going to end at half way. I wouldn't recommend to anyone who is looking for something other than a cheesy love/coming of age/identity crisis story of a young girl in modern day America; it's not worth the $11.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Not what I was expecting- not Dessen's best work.

    This book is a very slow read. If you are looking for any kind of romance, this is not the book for you. This book would appeal to maybe 12-13 year olds. It is about a teenage girl dealing very poorly with her parents divorce. There is a lot of internal dialogue with the main character, which for me, was very boring. The ending was also very uneventful and predictable. This is very different from Dessen's other work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Disappointed in Dessen

    I must say that when I picked up this book, I expected to be giving it 5 stars. The cover looks amazing and Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors but for me, this book just wasn't the same as her others. I really liked the originality of the story and the unique characters, but it sort of dragged on. This book is 400 pages, and Mclean (the main character) doesn't actually ended up being with the guy until the last 5 pages. And any time she spent with said guy, there were no sparks or chemistry, just little hints that they may or may not like each other. So as a romance, it kinda sucked. The major themes here were about family and knowing who you are as a person, so I was kind of let down since I was hoping for the same romances I've read of Sarah Dessen's before. And for being 400 pages long, not that many things really happened. Moments were sometimes dragged on and there was a lot of talk about emotion and feelings, but not as much action. I don't know, maybe it's been a while since I've last read some of Sarah Dessen's books and they were all actually like this, but I was sometimes bored and didn't find myself wanting to figure out what happens next like so many good books I've been reading lately. So overall, the plot and characters were really good, cute ideas, but the actual book fell short for Dessen's usual standards.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Why?!

    Sarah Dessen your books are amazing but this one was boring. All of your previous books hooked me,and this one i struggled to the 3rd chapter. I'm soooo disappointed. :(

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Another Amazing Book!

    Loved this newest Sarah Dessen book! Just as I loved every other book of hers I've ever read :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    I loved it!

    Sarah Dessen's new book kept me reading throughout the whole book. It's a great story about figuring out who you are, and staying true to yourself.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 819 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41