Customer Reviews for

What Happened to Goodbye

Average Rating 4.5
( 810 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(483)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing.

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. ...
I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. The ending felt rushed and was predictable. There wasn't much interaction between Mclean and her love interest. This is the worst book Sarah Dessen has written so far.

posted by isa_bly on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Boring.

    I am a fan of sarah dessens books, but this one sucks. Its boring and doesnt grab your attention. In my opinion, she definetly couldve developed the characters and the story line way more. As another commentator had stated, a complete yawnfest. Do not waste your money on this. Its not worth it.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I absolutely love Sarah Dessen, so when I read this book I was w

    I absolutely love Sarah Dessen, so when I read this book I was waiting
    for it to get better. It never did. It wasn't that the storyline was
    bad, per se, but it definitely wasn't enough for the length of the book.
    Too many pages filled with needless details and events that distracted
    the reader from what was actually going on (i.e. nothing). Another thing
    that bothered me a little was the ending. Yeah, it was okay but I could
    see a different and better ending to be better-fitting. All in all, I'd
    try for a different Sarah Dessen novel to occupy your time.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh god.

    What an unfortunate name. "Mclean".....really Sarah? That's the best you've got?

    6 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Not what I was expecting- not Dessen's best work.

    This book is a very slow read. If you are looking for any kind of romance, this is not the book for you. This book would appeal to maybe 12-13 year olds. It is about a teenage girl dealing very poorly with her parents divorce. There is a lot of internal dialogue with the main character, which for me, was very boring. The ending was also very uneventful and predictable. This is very different from Dessen's other work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Snoozer

    This is so anti climatic its not even funny. Im on page 87 and nothing at all has happened. Very simple plot. Im dissapointed because she used to be my favorite author.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Sucks

    Bleah! Waste of money! Save your money people! Worst book i've read
    If i could i'd give it NO STARS!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Anything by sarah dessen sucks!!!!!!!!

    All she writes about is stories that are about sex

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    deeply scarred

    okay! so lets just say i have read better. this book went on and on with no romance between the two main characters.i turned page after page just holding on to hope, and by the time i get to the kiss WHO CARES!!!!!!!!! i don't know if it is the author or just me. some help because i am in deep pain do to this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Sucks

    No freaking storyline. Uninteresting. Typical.
    I do like her other books though. I loved Lock an Key but this was just terrible and a waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    HORRID

    HORRIBLE, I honestly sat down to read this book and expected a nice well-formed plot. What I got was a short book that had no point. It was one of those pointless books that when u finish reading you ask yourself, why did i just read tht?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    This book is incredibly boring with a flimsy plot and flat chara

    This book is incredibly boring with a flimsy plot and flat characters. I can't say it's just like every other teen romance novel because it doesn't even have enough of that element. Then again, it's hard to tell considering how much it drags on. Other than disappointing and dull, I'm not even sure what to call this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Read the Book or Not? Decide Here.

    Read the sample of the book--it's completely FREE. Decide if you like it/don't like it. Then buy it or not! ...You're welcome(:

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Chicken

    I wrote this review during 6th period study lab at POMS at 11:48 am

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hannahs fantabulous review

    This, my friends, is what is called a "nerdy cheesy girl book"!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Terrible

    Thumbs down :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Serious let down

    Sorry guys, but seriously were you reading the same book that I did? If so you would be tearing Dessen a new one! I don't know what's going on in her personal life , but it is not okay for a wife and mother to cheat on her husband, and her daughter should definitely not feel guilty for shunning her! Also, why did the main character not go on the trip at the end?! I have been a faithful reader of Dessin's work , but her last 2 books have been a huge let down. There is no real love story and almost all her characters are morally and emotionally inept. The ending is completely boring and she leaves most of it for the reader to assume. It's almost like she's getting tired of writing. I kept waiting for the book to really start. Overall, boring and completely forgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Chloe

    Ikkkkkkk

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2