Customer Reviews for

What Happened to Goodbye

Average Rating 4.5
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(481)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing.

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. ...
I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write one for this book. First I must say that I love all of Sarah Dessen books. This one was very disappointing. The character Mclean was boring and I felt like she had no personality. The book dragged on too long. The ending felt rushed and was predictable. There wasn't much interaction between Mclean and her love interest. This is the worst book Sarah Dessen has written so far.

posted by isa_bly on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't say goodbye to this book!

    The book that I am reviewing is called 'What Happened To Goodbye'. This story takes place in present time, in a little town. Mclean is the main character, but she personaly doesn't understand her own character. She moves around a lot, ever since her parents' divorce. About every six months, she moves both her house and her personality. This most recent location, though, she is herself. Why? A guy named Dave. Dave helps Mclean see who she realy is, and teaches her what a real friend is. I would highly recommend this book to a friend. Any of Sarah Dessen's books are great. She is an amazing author, especially with this story. It has a great message that is sent out, and it is fun to read also.

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    AWESOME

    This book is awesome! Sarah Dessen presents new characters with amazing personalities. Super awesome.

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    She's done it again

    Sarah Dessen is an amazing author, and once again she's written a great book for anyone's collection. A must read!

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Best Sarah Dessen book in my opinion. I loved the chemistry between Mclean and Dave. This book is a must read for sappy, mushy, happy-ending loving, hopeless romantics (like me) (:

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Loved It

    Mclean is constantly moving with her father, and constantly starting over as someone new— she's been been Eliza, Lizbet, Beth. But on her fifth move, she's just Mclean. And she begins to begins to rediscover who SHE really is, as Mclean, as herself.

    Mclean doesn't have a very good relationship with her mom, Katherine Hamilton. When Mclean was younger, Katie Sweet, her mom then, cheated on Mclean's father, Gus Sweet, with Peter Hamilton, a man that Gus had a lot of respect for. She had an affair with him, then divorced Gus, getting married to Peter. Mclean doesn't want to live with her mother anymore, because she's hurt by what she did to her father.

    It's hard for Mclean to move so much, so she wants to start a new life in every new town. But on her latest move with her dad, Mclean is just...Mclean. And her rediscovers herself, putting down roots, and making friends. She's playing the most popular girl in school, or the president of the student council. She's finally just being herself.

    This book was a little slow at first, but once you get farther into it, it's amazing. I couldn't put it down after I got just far enough. So don't read the first 100 pages and go, "Oh, this is so boring, whatever," because soon it'll get really good. It was fantastic. Five stars. I highly reccomend it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Can't Wait!

    All of Sarah Dessen's previous books have been breathtaking! I just hope this one is just as good, if not better, which I bet it will be. So excited...

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I Love It.

    So, this is a first try at a Dessen book. I usually go to my local Barnes and Noble, and look in the New Teen Fiction Section. This was in there, and I read the small introduction in the back of the book. I was immediatley interested. One of the reviews on this book complained it was a 'snooze fest' I disagree completley. It made me want to read more, and I finished this book in about four days. I am not a very fast reader so to say. I really loved this book. It gave me a lot of umph to read more of her books. Oh, and the characters, are not 'underdeveloped', I understood their persomality, and home lifes, quite well actually. Maybe that is just me, but I doubt it, considering Im only 11, and the person who said this had to be much older than me. Must read! The negitive comments are wrong, this book is absolutley amazing! One night, I turned in at 11PM and I couldnt sleep. So I picked up my Nook, and read until 4 in the morning on this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Another Amazing Book!

    Loved this newest Sarah Dessen book! Just as I loved every other book of hers I've ever read :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    I loved it!

    Sarah Dessen's new book kept me reading throughout the whole book. It's a great story about figuring out who you are, and staying true to yourself.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This was my 5th Sarah Dessen book and as usual I loved it! She always manages to write characters that teens and even 20 year olds can relate to. Reading her stuff always for some weird reason inspire me to change myself for the better. Buy this book it will not disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    highly recommend for adults and HS students

    The book starts out a little hard to understand but by the time you get to the end of the first chapter you are hooked. It is well written and relates to today's High School student. It shows how the social scene of a school works and what happens when a newcomer comes into the picture. The interaction between McLean and her parents show the relationship and beliefs that students of divorce interact and feel about the parents. It also shows the relationships that McLean builds even though she wanted to stay an outsider.

    I am a retired teacher who thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. It got me hooked and I had to continue reading till what happens at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Love it

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Ed

    Ed sheeran is the most incredibly amazing human being to walk this planet i love him so so so much omfg

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Vontinue Whats happening!!!!!

    Yo great

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    This book is great. I couldn't put it down. Sarah Dessen is an amazing writer. I love all of her books!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    I dont know how you people think shes boring! Shes the best freakin author out there! I love all of her books! They all have good storys to them and are amusing ! I cant stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When is Goodbye Done?

    Sarah Dessen bring us her latest release of What Happened to Goodbye.
    Mclean has been running from her family problems with her dad whose job takes him around the states revamping failing restaurants. What Mclean finds in the town of Lakeview is herself. The question is will finding yourself mean loosing all that you hold close? When is goodbye not enough, when is is too hard.
    Dessen creates these amazing characters with such heart felt depth to them. There is always sure to be some point in her books that cause you to drop a tear. WHTG is an amazingly written read.
    Mclean chooses to give this town herself, but as the truth comes out about her past, her family, and her future will she too unravel?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    This is a book about a teenager named Mclean who moves around a

    This is a book about a teenager named Mclean who moves around a lot with her dad. Every move they make Mclean says to be somebody that shes not. On their resent move, Mclean accidentally tells the first person she meets, Dave, that her name is Mclean. But who is Mclean? Shes not sure. Meclean deals with the problem of her mom, who left Mcleans dad, Gus, for a rich basketball coach, constantly wanting her to visit (which Mclean is not ready to face her mom) and trying to figure out who she really is. Through the book, Mclean and Dave fall in love. But they are not the only ones. Mclean's dads, Gus, job is to move around and make small diners into exceptional resturants. When he makes his resent move to a small town with Mclean on his side he meets Opal. A strong headed, stubborn woman who is not very happy with the changes that Gus is making to her diner. Putting there differences aside, they go out on a date. After making the diner in to a great restaurant, Gus must move on to his next diner. Gus and Opal stay together and visit each other as much as she can. Mclean moved in with Opal to continue out her senior year in that town and be with Dave.
    ~Abi Preston Mrs. Kerr AP English Class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Interesting

    Interesting so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25