BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What Happens in London (Bevelstoke Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid.

First I must say it is great to read a romance book that does not have some shirtless man with a waxed chest on the cover. Don't get me wrong...my new found love for romance novels have brought me nothing but joy...but darn if those covers aren't shame inducing sometime...
First I must say it is great to read a romance book that does not have some shirtless man with a waxed chest on the cover. Don't get me wrong...my new found love for romance novels have brought me nothing but joy...but darn if those covers aren't shame inducing sometimes. So I must praise the cover because I can read it in public with getting smirks from strangers.

Now on to the book. There is not much to say but that I enjoyed it a lot. I started this book at 3pm, by 9:30 I had finished it...this is how much I loved/enjoyed reading it. Not that it was the greatest romance novel ever written, but had everything I liked in romance novels.

1. A non typical story. Yes they are all about the same. Two people meet, they hate each other, then they love each other, they fight, then they make up, get married and have babies. But even while having some of the same cliches..it managed to appear fresh. And it did not have the typical plot contrivances and misunderstandings to keep the two main characters apart for no sensible reason but unneeded angst...which always just annoys me and makes the characters look dumb.

2. Witty banter. I love clever dialogue. I love funny and sarcastic quips. This book was full of them and had me chuckling throughout at almost every page. Both the hero and heroine of the book were smart and plucky and slightly odd. I loved them for it.

3. The female was strong. Se was not sniveling or trying to hard...she just was and she was relateable. This goes a long way.

All this conspired to make the book loads of fun for me, and when I am having fun...books get devoured. This was a kind of book that is great when you just want something fun and light to brighten up your day or otherwise humdrum week. My only complaint is that I would have liked to go more into Harry's family situation and some of the secondary characters more.

posted by cgirl98 on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

unworthy

This book was so disappointing. "London" had amost no plot, and would'nt even make a good short story.I have all Ms. Quinn's books, so obviously I'm a big fan-but I'll wait to buy the next one until I read the reviews.

posted by Romagreiga on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review by: "The Reading Reviewer" (www.marygramlich.com)

    What I love about this book by Mary Gramlich - everything!

    When you are a perpetual gossip like Lady Olivia Bevelstoke and you hear that your new neighbor Sir Harry Valentine is a potential fiancée killer you have to kick it up a notch and turn into a spy of some sort even though Olivia is not a very good sneak and an even worse spy. So Olivia decides keeping track of him through her bedroom window is a brilliant idea since she can see into Harry's bedroom with a nice, clear view even if this is not the proper thing to do. The problem for Olivia is Harry is working for a spy office and while he is not in the covert side of it he is still involved enough to have a few tricks up his sleeve and when from day one he sees her he is able to out-maneuver her tactics and figures two can play at this game and play they do. They court, argue, dance and burn up the night with long talks and book discussions through their open windows - or at least that is what they are leading everyone to believe.

    This matchup is great since Olivia is outgoing and Harry reserved but both are competitive individuals and when a Russian prince comes to town to court Olivia and invades Harry's space well the game just went into overtime. A normally laid back Harry becomes ferocious in his pursuit of Olivia and while he is still recovering from the effects of his service in her Majesty's Army as well as the drama of growing up the child of an alcoholic Harry is more than prepared to take this contender on especially with his first class knowledge of Russian thanks to his grandmother. What Harry also discovers is something new never thought to obtain - unconditional love. Olivia turns out to be not only a beautiful and somewhat chaotic surprise for Harry but a wonderful breath of fresh air in his stale life.

    I have yet to encounter a Julia Quinn book that is not first class, well written and just to perfect for words. I question with each new book if she can produce another hit and she does time and time again. Not with a loud roar but with a soft word and gentle manner that has just the right combination of romance and love on every single page. Always pick up a Julia Quinn book, sit back in your chair, sip your tea and realize you will not stop reading until the book is concluded.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I absolutely love Julia Quinn! I will admit I was a little dissappointed in her last two books, but this one makes up for it. I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    Very Fun To Read

    The story is very funny and easy to read with steamy interludes to indulge the senses! Loved It!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    She is back!

    Julia Quinn's funny, engaging style is back! After the lackluster "Lost Duke of Wyndham/Mr. Cavenish" books,I was not sure how I would receive "What Happens in London". With "What Happens in London", Julia has again produced a book equal to the standard set by the delightful , funny and re-readable "Romancing Mr. Bridgerton".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great Series

    All of the books in this series are good. Great Romance novels, funny, serious, emotional roll-a-coaster ride and interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Nice new series- have read a bunch by Quinn and all are nice

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    This was a laugh-out-loud book. All the characters in the book w

    This was a laugh-out-loud book. All the characters in the book were likeable at one point or another. The story flowed and the funny parts did not seem forced, it just flowed so easy and was unexpected that it made the situations so ridiculous that they were that much more funny. I will be reading more Julia Quinn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Spectacular!

    This waswonderful novel; great plot, wondrrful characters and heart-warmingly witty. I would count it aming Quinn's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Great re-read!

    This is not the first (and probably not the last) time i've read this book. This is what romance novels should be. Great characters, humor, story and yes romance. As previous reviewer, some individual scenes stand out. (The "blue dress" is one of them!) Sigh....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    For some reason there is one part of this book that has made me

    For some reason there is one part of this book that has made me read it at least three times now. It is a very minor scene in which the main character Olivia says she will wear blue for Harry. I have no idea why, but I cannot help but sigh every time I read that. This book has a very simple plot...easy to read and will keep you sighing. No vampires or werewolves and no crazy forced marriages....Great Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Another Quinn Romp

    Great read. A good story with serious and humorous moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Loved this Book

    Julia Quinn does not disappoint. Charming and witty characters. I laughed out loud on several occassions. Didn't want to put it down. I could reread this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming and Funny Regency Romance!

    Julia Quinn has done it again! "What Happens in London" is a charming regency romance with laugh out loud moments. I LOVED the characters and the situations they found themselves in, and could barely put the book down. This has to be one of her best books. Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What I love about this book by Mary Gramlich - everything!

    When you are a perpetual gossip like Lady Olivia Bevelstoke and you hear that your new neighbor Sir Harry Valentine is a potential fiancée killer you have to kick it up a notch and turn into a spy of some sort even though Olivia is not a very good sneak and an even worse spy. So Olivia decides keeping track of him through her bedroom window is a brilliant idea since she can see into Harry's bedroom with a nice, clear view even if this is not the proper thing to do. The problem for Olivia is Harry is working for a spy office and while he is not in the covert side of it he is still involved enough to have a few tricks up his sleeve and when from day one he sees her he is able to out-maneuver her tactics and figures two can play at this game and play they do. They court, argue, dance and burn up the night with long talks and book discussions through their open windows - or at least that is what they are leading everyone to believe.

    This matchup is great since Olivia is outgoing and Harry reserved but both are competitive individuals and when a Russian prince comes to town to court Olivia and invades Harry's space well the game just went into overtime. A normally laid back Harry becomes ferocious in his pursuit of Olivia and while he is still recovering from the effects of his service in her Majesty's Army as well as the drama of growing up the child of an alcoholic Harry is more than prepared to take this contender on especially with his first class knowledge of Russian thanks to his grandmother. What Harry also discovers is something new never thought to obtain - unconditional love. Olivia turns out to be not only a beautiful and somewhat chaotic surprise for Harry but a wonderful breath of fresh air in his stale life.

    I have yet to encounter a Julia Quinn book that is not first class, well written and just to perfect for words. I question with each new book if she can produce another hit and she does time and time again. Not with a loud roar but with a soft word and gentle manner that has just the right combination of romance and love on every single page. Always pick up a Julia Quinn book, sit back in your chair, sip your tea and realize you will not stop reading until the book is concluded.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer located at www.marygramlich.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What Happens in London... What a Read

    Let me start out by saying that Julia Quinn is a master at her craft. I could not help but smile and laugh out loud continuously while reading this book.

    That being said, let me say that Harry Valentine is one heck of a man. There is something beautiful and vulnerable about him. He is not your typical bad boy or reformed rake. He is not a stereotypical male character. I loved reading his "perceptions" throughout the book.

    As for Olivia, I really found myself torn about her character. There is no doubt that she is a quirky, fun character. However, I found her irksome at times. Might just have been me.

    The book focuses around a fun, intriguing plot. For me, the end of the book (though not the actual end-end) was a bit "off". I do not want to spoil the ending, so let me just say that Olivia's response to the climactic events near the end irritated me.

    However, this has nothing to do with Quinn's style of writing. She created well-developed characters who made me laugh. I will admit that certain parts were far-fetched in their eccentricity, but it was all in the name of a good laugh.

    A must read if you are a Julia Quinn fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Endearing ROmance

    This is another winner from Julia Quinn! The book is fast-paced, lively, and has endearing characters. It was loads of fun to read! I love her books and look forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Great biij

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    From the moment the two main characters started interacting, I could not stop laughing! Once you start reading, you will not be able to put the book down. I highly recommend this book. This is my first novel from this author, and now I have a feeling I will be reading more of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A restoration of faith, to be sure!

    Well, that title is a bit dramatic, but from my point of view, completely true! I had not finished a single romance novel in at least two months before picking up this little delight. I must say, it was a breath of fresh air!

    It is not to say that it stands out drastically from other novels written by this same author, but (and perhaps my other reviews will reveal a biased toward this) it certainly held a bit of cultural variety.

    Just as in Lisa Kleypas' "Prince of Dreams", the confrontation of British and Russian culture and language in this book gives it a slight distinction from the same old names, places, and scenarios.

    Aside from that (which perhaps isn't as big a deal as I make it out to be) the book is just downright funny. I mean giggling into your pillow, hope you don't wake up your roommate funny. Hilarious really. The interactions between the main characters are so outrageous that you begin to wonder "What will that Julia Quinn think of next!"

    Needless to say, after weeks of picking up droll novel after dull, tedious, why-do-I-even-bother- novel, I could not have been happier with this fine example of regency-set romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    What Happens in London

    A good solid read. Good characters and a funny story with a bit of romance. Have another book ready since you will finish this one quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5