Customer Reviews for

What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lady Thorold has just started to live again after a horrid marri

Lady Thorold has just started to live again after a horrid marriage and never wishes to be strapped down by a man’s dictates. The widow, Lady Georgette Thorold decide to restart her life by going to visit her male cousin in Scotland. She awakes confused and in a bed wit...
Lady Thorold has just started to live again after a horrid marriage and never wishes to be strapped down by a man’s dictates. The widow, Lady Georgette Thorold decide to restart her life by going to visit her male cousin in Scotland. She awakes confused and in a bed with a naked bearded Scotsman and there is a wedding ring on her finger. Unsure how she got herself in such a state, she does what any reasonable Lady would do and hits the naked hunk in the head with a chamber pot knocking him out cold and runs away. 

James McKenzie is rudely awakened by his brother Lord William. He is missing his wallet, has a cut on his head and has little recollection of the previous night. Believing he was robbed of his purse and most likely his prized horse by the most intriguing woman, he is hot in pursuit to track her down.

It’s a story about two people unsure of the night’s events trying to piece together the clues they uncover and make sense of the circumstances they find themselves in... This was a slow building and charming story that reminded me of a historical fiction version of the “Hangover” movie. 

Both characters have demons from their past to face before they can trust each other. A deviant plot is afoot and it could definitely threaten their ever finding happiness. 

This was an intriguing romance, I found it moderately slow going but in the end I found myself completely engaged in the outcome. I am very much looking forward for more from Jennifer McQuiston, an extremely exciting new author in a genre I adore.

This ARC copy of What Happens in Scotland was given to me by Avon in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date February 26, 2013.

posted by Sailon on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A very fun book to read! It will remind you of the Hangover and

A very fun book to read! It will remind you of the Hangover and you'll find yourself laughing while reading the book just like you might have with the movie. 

posted by BookReaderAnnie on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Thorold has just started to live again after a horrid marri

    Lady Thorold has just started to live again after a horrid marriage and never wishes to be strapped down by a man’s dictates. The widow, Lady Georgette Thorold decide to restart her life by going to visit her male cousin in Scotland. She awakes confused and in a bed with a naked bearded Scotsman and there is a wedding ring on her finger. Unsure how she got herself in such a state, she does what any reasonable Lady would do and hits the naked hunk in the head with a chamber pot knocking him out cold and runs away. 

    James McKenzie is rudely awakened by his brother Lord William. He is missing his wallet, has a cut on his head and has little recollection of the previous night. Believing he was robbed of his purse and most likely his prized horse by the most intriguing woman, he is hot in pursuit to track her down.

    It’s a story about two people unsure of the night’s events trying to piece together the clues they uncover and make sense of the circumstances they find themselves in... This was a slow building and charming story that reminded me of a historical fiction version of the “Hangover” movie. 

    Both characters have demons from their past to face before they can trust each other. A deviant plot is afoot and it could definitely threaten their ever finding happiness. 

    This was an intriguing romance, I found it moderately slow going but in the end I found myself completely engaged in the outcome. I am very much looking forward for more from Jennifer McQuiston, an extremely exciting new author in a genre I adore.

    This ARC copy of What Happens in Scotland was given to me by Avon in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date February 26, 2013.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston, In the early

    In What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston, In the early morning light, Lady Georgette Thorold finds herself in bed with a naked hunk of a man in an unfamiliar room. She also happens to be naked herself with what appears to be a wedding ring on her finger. She remembers nothing of the previous evening or night and is suspicious she may have made a great mistake somehow. Georgette is interrupted in her search for clothing when the Scotsman awakens and suggests she get back in bed. She answers by panicking and throwing the nearest item, a chamberpot, at his head and then fleeing the room. The day just keeps getting stranger as she begins retracing her steps. It seems every person she meets has a story about the wild night she spent at the Blue Gander tavern much to her dismay. The last thing she can remember was her cousin Randolph taking her to the local church yesterday afternoon and feeling woozy, like she had taken a drink. But she despises liquor thanks to her now deceased drunk of a husband. She can't imagine she would be tempted by alcohol. Although it seems like she was tempted by more than just that, considering the congratulations the townsfolk keep extending on her marriage to James MacKenzie. Her next plan of action is to locate Mr MacKenzie and get their sham of a marriage annulled.

    Georgette finds barmaid Elsie Dalrymple in Randolph's cottage when she arrives back there to freshen up. Elsie kindly offers her services as a ladies' maid and fills Georgette in on any information she remembers of the previous night. Her embarrassment grows with each sordid detail. Along their journey to town, they encounter several people offering up their opinions on the events and casting judgement her way. When she finally comes face to face with her supposed husband, her hopes of amicably ending their marriage are dashed when he accuses her of stealing from him. She can't remember what happened but knows she isn't a thief. From there it is a race to find a way to prove to James that she isn't the kind of woman he thinks she is and to figure out if they are actually married or not. She can't explain why, but she is drawn to James like she has never been to another man. Their safety is threatened several times, with James unfortunately taking the brunt of it, so Georgette pushes to find an ally. This move may be the catalyst that either brings them closer together or pushes them apart for good.

    James MacKenzie has been trying to prove his worth as a lawyer and stand on his own two feet since leaving Kilmartie castle eleven years ago after a misunderstanding with his father. He's made great strides up until last night. He has woken up with a crushing headache from an apparent head wound and doesn't recall much from the past twelve hours or so. But the little bit he does remember seems to point in the direction of him having married a complete stranger. To make matters worse, his money purse containing all his savings is missing along with his very expensive stallion. His search for the truth leads him to believe his "wife" is the culprit behind all that has gone wrong since yesterday. But as his memory starts to come back, he wonders if there may be more to the events than he first assumed. James is forced to fight for his safety, along with Georgette's, once they are reunited and on the path to finding the truth. He is surprised as he becomes captivated with both her looks and her sharp wit. And she certainly challenges him, which as a lawyer he enjoys immensely. James begins to think he may be making a mistake trying to end this marriage without first giving it a chance. The challenge will be to convince Lady Georgette of the same.

    I really enjoyed this debut historical romance set in the mid-1800s by Jennifer McQuiston. The story switches back and forth between James and Georgette's points of view and takes place over the course of about 24 hours, which I thought was an interesting twist for a full length novel. The opening paragraph set a great tone for the rest of the book and is one of the best openings I've read in quite a while. I definitely recommend reading this if you're a fan of historical romances or if you simply want to read a wonderful story that's a bit of a wild goose chase through the Scottish Highlands.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I read some of the bad reviews, and honestly, I don't understand

    I read some of the bad reviews, and honestly, I don't understand them. The title tells readers its like a night in Vegas. It's going to be wild with forgotten moments and the love story is going to be a fast whirl-wind affair. I was surprised the H/H didn't get together sooner, because I didn't read the reviews first, and 44% is late for a historical romance. But Ms. McQuiston's story was twisting and weaving the character's memories back together from two very different prospectives. The H/H were falling in love with each other through the eyes of others and the conflict in their relationship built throughout this time period--the story would have been lost if they'd come together sooner.
    Everyone makes mistakes in novels, and I'm very critical on huge mistakes, a few title errors, however, are totally over-look-able. As far as the scene with the stockings, yes the author could have expanded a little bit to show how shocking Georgette's actions were, but that was a pivotal moment of character growth for a very prim lady. I loved it. All in all, I think Ms. McQuiston is off to a very promising career among historical romance writers.


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Georgette wakes up in bed with a man she has no memory of. She i

    Georgette wakes up in bed with a man she has no memory of. She is a recent widow who has no plans to remarry or be under another man's rule. However it seems she has remarried and after hitting her new groom over the head with a chamber pot she flees. James awakes with no memory and wonders who the lady who fled is. He is told he married her to protect her but after finding his money gone thinks she is just a thief. Now the two try to collect clues as to what happened the previous night and who the other is. Georgette only hears good things about James and rethinks her opinion of him. When she meets him again it is only to have him call her a thief. Geogette is in danger and she will have to get James to believe her. They may not regret all they did the night before after all.




    I knew from the first chapter this was going to be good. Georgette doesn't want to be married and you know that from the start. As she flees she finds out what happened the previous night little by little. Getting married isn't the only thing she has done. It seems she has a new maid who is different from what she is use to, a kitten, a dog and so much more. James doesn't want to depend on his family and is a.great guy. He will help anyone but he refuses to be took advantage of. I laughed so much while reading this book. I enjoy historical romance books and figured this would be one but it is so much more. You really get involved in the mystery of the drunken night and seeing what all both of them did. There is the element of danger as someone is bound and determined to marry Georgette. You also get the romance and James and Georgette so fall for each other. If you enjoy historical romance this is sure to please you. If you think it's not your thing I would still recommend this one as there is so much more to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Very entertaining, quick read. I look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Good read!

    This was a great story. Quick read, funny and the requisite romance. I liked the whole searching storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I found the story funny, entertaining with a unique plot. I enjoyed reading What Happens in Scotland and look forward to Jenifer McQuiston's next book which should be published soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Great book!

    I like the mystery of other lands. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    A good read!

    A very cute story that is well written. The humor in circumstances and the quality of characters are very well worth reading. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Surprisingly refreshing

    I did not know what to expect with this one. It was Surprisingly refreshing and humorous. It had a newer twist in an otherwise fairly predictable world of romance writing. I very much enjoyed the silly events as they unfolded. So far, this is the first book I have read to have taken this particular "today theme" and meld it into a different century. A very pleasant surprise. I am glad I took the chance and bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Great story!

    Got to love the Scots!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    What happensr What happens in scotland

    Nice little story quick read enjoyed it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2