Customer Reviews for

What I Did for Love

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great characters

This was a great romance novel. I liked the Hollywood setting, the premise and the great characters. I make it a point to read Phillip's new books and I was not disappointed. It is similar to some of her others with the relationship of convenience, the high profile ch...
This was a great romance novel. I liked the Hollywood setting, the premise and the great characters. I make it a point to read Phillip's new books and I was not disappointed. It is similar to some of her others with the relationship of convenience, the high profile characters, the family dramas, and the gradual discovery of love. As with SEP's other novels, there are some back romances - in fact there are a few in this one. If you like witty dialogue in your romances, you will like this one.

posted by pattylee on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievably boring.

I have read all of S. E. P.'s books and adored all but one of them. This book was so predictable and boring that i had to skim and skip pages, which I haven't done since I was 17. I f a book is that bad stop reading it. Only the fact that Ms. Phillips was the author ke...
I have read all of S. E. P.'s books and adored all but one of them. This book was so predictable and boring that i had to skim and skip pages, which I haven't done since I was 17. I f a book is that bad stop reading it. Only the fact that Ms. Phillips was the author kept me even turning pages. I am most sorry because she will no longer be one of the authors I can automatically buy and know that a great story is coming my way.

posted by babolu on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where's the humor?

    I usually love this author, mostly because her characters are interesting and funny. This book was disappointing - no humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Not Up to Par

    I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips and always am anxious to get her new books. I must say, however, that this one was most disappointing. The characters and their situation never quite hit home with me. I could develop neither empathy nor sympathy for any character in the book except maybe the housekeeper. I found the Hollywood angle to be rather distracting as well.<BR/><BR/>On a more positive note, Mrs. Phillips included some bright and funny repartee as always. Although the plot development seemed rather ragged and forced at the beginning, it evened out and was eventually satisfactory.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Disappointment

    I tried. I really did. I tried to like this book because it was kind of a continuation to one of my earlier SEP favorites, "Natural Born Charmer." But the plot line and characters in this book were just plain awful. I have never see a leading male character LESS likable. He was rude and sometimes even cruel in his actions toward the leading female character. And she was just plain pathetic. The story read too much like a cheap ripoff of the Brad/Jen/Angelina story so recently in the public eye.

    SEP has so many wonderful stories with a great cast of characters. This one just fell flat to me, and I was quite disappointed because I have waited so long for her new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You Really Have To Like This Genre To Get In To This Book

    As I said in the title, I think fans of Romance novels will enjoy this. But if romance novels generally aren't your cup of tea, I don't think this will hold much for you.
    This is the story of two child tv stars who find themselves thrown together after many years of mutual loathing. Forced to work together in order to salvage their respective careers, the two eventually come to see each other in a different light.
    I listened to this as an audio book and that may have also been a factor. I found the narrator's voice to be insipid. The characters themselves seemed shallow and hard to relate to. The plot was very simple and entirely predictable from the first sentence. I stuck with it in hopes it would improve, but I was disappointed. I would turn to this book only if I was stuck in a waiting room for a very long time with absolutely nothing else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Not my favorite Susan E. Phillips

    You can read the synopsis to get an idea as to the plot of this novel.
    For me, this is one of the worst of SEP's books. The characters are whiny, spoiled, unbelievable and unlikeable. The snappy dialogue that is a hallmark of this author's books is not present. Her books are characterized by strong men and stronger women. Not so here. Pass this one by and hope that the next book will be as wonderful as some of Susan Elizabeth's Phillips earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    NOT MY FAVE SEP

    Sorry, I could not warm up to Bram. I thought he was a jerk from page 1 and he moved up a little bit by the end of the book, but not by much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    One of my favorite authors

    I have a shelf full of Susan Elizabeth Phillips books, most of them reread a time or two, but this won't be one of them I will be rereading. I am so sick of reading about that Hollywood couple, I certainly didn't need them as fictious characters in a book. I also thought the sex scenes were rather dismal and forced. I am usually giggling through her books, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best work.

    First, let me say SEP is one of my top five favorite authors. Second, read any of her other books instead of this one for an excellent, original story and enjoyable time. In fact, REREAD them instead of this one. I was very disappointed in it. As others have said, it is the whole Brad/Angelina/Jen story and if I wanted any more of that I would pick up a tabloid magazine; I want to escape into a romance not be reminded of that disastrous love triangle repeatedly throughout the book. Even the Las Vegas marriage was a Ross and Rachel rip-off. My biggest disappointment was with Bram. Though I eagerly anticipate this publication, Bram's history with Georgie was almost too much for me to get over; at one point I had to set the book down for two days before I could pick it up again and start reading. And I only did so because of my knowledge of SEP previous books; I kept hoping it would get better and it did not. While SEP made me laugh in several places, it was usually with the secondary characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What I Did With My Money.........

    I was hooked with Glitter Baby. My first book by SEP. This book took way too long to get moving, and the plot did seem a lot like Brad/Jen/Angelina. The ending was far fetched with scrambled emotions and feelings from Bram and Georgie. It took forever to get this plot moving along and it is rather cliche that everyone ends up with a partner, happily ever after. Her best? No, not even close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1