Customer Reviews for

What I Did for Love

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great characters

This was a great romance novel. I liked the Hollywood setting, the premise and the great characters. I make it a point to read Phillip's new books and I was not disappointed. It is similar to some of her others with the relationship of convenience, the high profile ch...
This was a great romance novel. I liked the Hollywood setting, the premise and the great characters. I make it a point to read Phillip's new books and I was not disappointed. It is similar to some of her others with the relationship of convenience, the high profile characters, the family dramas, and the gradual discovery of love. As with SEP's other novels, there are some back romances - in fact there are a few in this one. If you like witty dialogue in your romances, you will like this one.

posted by pattylee on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievably boring.

I have read all of S. E. P.'s books and adored all but one of them. This book was so predictable and boring that i had to skim and skip pages, which I haven't done since I was 17. I f a book is that bad stop reading it. Only the fact that Ms. Phillips was the author ke...
I have read all of S. E. P.'s books and adored all but one of them. This book was so predictable and boring that i had to skim and skip pages, which I haven't done since I was 17. I f a book is that bad stop reading it. Only the fact that Ms. Phillips was the author kept me even turning pages. I am most sorry because she will no longer be one of the authors I can automatically buy and know that a great story is coming my way.

posted by babolu on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!!

    Wow--I was so needing a good novel to read. I've gone through several in the past few months that have come up short, so I was SO glad I came across this one. It's about an actress whose life gets turned upside down and the fallout from that. It's a fantastic read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Ivy

    Ran in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    PETER

    Hey u wanna date gigi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    First book I've read by this author and I want more!!

    Fell in love with the characters and couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    loved it!

    not too predictable like other romance novels tend to be and actual depth and history behind each character made it much more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Remarkable.

    I'm a huge Susan Elizabeth Phillips fan and I have been waiting forever for this book to arrive on paperback. I've read all of her books and if you've ever read one of them, you won't be disappointed with this one; this book definitely outweighs the rest! What I Did for Love was funny, smart, sassy, & definitely sexy. You laugh at the right moments, sympathize at the sad ones... Phillips sucks you in right from the beginning until the very end. This book makes you want to jump into the pages yourself and become part of Georgie and Bram's world. I stayed up until 5 in the morning trying to finish it. I was very sad when the book ended because I didn't want to leave the world I come to love. I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips and I love her for creating this book. It's definitely a book I will read over and over again. It's the best she's written by far. So do yourself a favor and read this book. It's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very, very good book!

    I have always enjoyed Susan Elizabeth Phillips books. They can both be funny and sad at the same time.
    Donna A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!

    Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down!! It was wonderful! I think that they should make a movie out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    A Must Read

    I really loved this book. I just went on a cruise and this book was available to check out in the ships library so I thought I'd give it a try. I actually spent most of the day reading this book than looking at the glaciers. :) It really was a great book. The plot was cute and fun making it a good light read. It was tough to put down. I recommend this to anyone and everyone who loves romance novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    A fun read

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips created another group of zany, but endearing characters. A great book for taking your mind off of the evil in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Funny and creating

    After reading this book you fall in love with Susan and her writing. The story reminds you of a hollywood couple but the twists and turns have you laughing at her amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Typical SEP. Love her. Loved this.

    Also loved the thinly veiled similarity to Brad and Angelina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun read when you need to escape

    I had never read anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and now I am hooked! She allowed me to escape my stressful life and just have a little fun. A wonderful read!! Definetly would make a great beach book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    A must read

    What I Did for Love will definately be on the list of one of my favorite books by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. The story had its humurous moments, as well as heart felt amd romantic moments. Susan Elizabeth Phillips did not disappoint. This is most definately a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Good Read

    There were some parts of this story line that reminded be of Jolie and Pitt. I love Cinderella stories even if the Cinderella character is a "guy" (I am referring to the personal assistant of the main character) and, of course, I love stories with a happy ending which is why I read books by Ms. Phillips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SEP has done it again!

    Well, yes, I really loved the book cover. LOL. The story mirrored today's tabloid fixation with celebrities so I was drawn in immediately. I liked when characters from previous books appeared. April & Jack Patriot are favorites of mine. This book was a fun, fast read & hard to put down.

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips football centric books are my time favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Fun look at Hollywood behind the scenes

    Georgie's a much-loved Hollywood star whose husband ran off with his movie co-star (ala Anistan and Bradjelina). Bram is her ex tv sitcom costar who caused the show to tank. They're thrown together in true Only-in-Hollywood style and try to resurrect their careers by acting married. Lots of fun dialogue, some really touching scenes between Georgie and her dad, and a happy ending. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    FUN!!

    What I Did For Love was a FUN read! I do not read a lot of romance and this is probably why my review does not reflect the most recently posted "disappointed" reviews. I enjoyed the comparison of the "real" Hollywood couple; especially Lance. How clever, and definitely worth the read, especially if you are not drawn to romance novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    Awesome

    I loved this book. I loved the love hate relationship Bram and Georgie shared. Can't wait until the next one comes out!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    One of her best!

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips improves with every book she publishes. She has a way of writing that is like none other. I bought this book and read it all in 1 day. This story was adorable and the chemistry was tangible....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4