Customer Reviews for

What I Saw and How I Lied

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book if I Ever Saw One

This book first caught my eye about a year ago. It sat on my bookshelf, like many other books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, for a very long time. I picked it up and began reading it and I was blown away. This book was good. There aren't too many books out there th...
This book first caught my eye about a year ago. It sat on my bookshelf, like many other books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, for a very long time. I picked it up and began reading it and I was blown away. This book was good. There aren't too many books out there that I have found that portrays this period of time (after WWII). It was well-written, carefully planned, and, although the reader did sort of know what was coming for the characters, we still should be able to enjoy the book. Evie reflects us all: although we might not fall in love with an older man necessarily, we do become blinded by love at some point and sometimes, the outcome of that love is devastating. This was a fantastic book and I would recommend it to all of my friends.

posted by Abagail_Ree on December 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Bad...no, Really Bad!

Eww! This book was terrible! It had no plot and was only interesting in maybe, the last 50 pages. I would've put it down so quickly if it wasn't so short. The characters are stupid and pointless. The main character, Evie, falls in love a 20 something year old man, when ...
Eww! This book was terrible! It had no plot and was only interesting in maybe, the last 50 pages. I would've put it down so quickly if it wasn't so short. The characters are stupid and pointless. The main character, Evie, falls in love a 20 something year old man, when she's only 15! So, the romance was stupid. You got no connection to any of the characters. Evie's so eager to grow up, she turns into someone like her mother, who's a total slut! (HEr mom is secretly dating the same man Evie thinks she's dating, and her mom's married to her current step-father!) When something serious happens to her family, she finds out secrets that her dad stole from Jews in the war, and that's how they have the money to live. And, that her mom's a two-timing w***re. Evie herself tends to take after her mom. Just, take my advice, don't waste your time reading this!!!!

posted by kajJK on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    Bad...no, Really Bad!

    Eww! This book was terrible! It had no plot and was only interesting in maybe, the last 50 pages. I would've put it down so quickly if it wasn't so short. The characters are stupid and pointless. The main character, Evie, falls in love a 20 something year old man, when she's only 15! So, the romance was stupid. You got no connection to any of the characters. Evie's so eager to grow up, she turns into someone like her mother, who's a total slut! (HEr mom is secretly dating the same man Evie thinks she's dating, and her mom's married to her current step-father!) When something serious happens to her family, she finds out secrets that her dad stole from Jews in the war, and that's how they have the money to live. And, that her mom's a two-timing w***re. Evie herself tends to take after her mom. Just, take my advice, don't waste your time reading this!!!!

    12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as I expected....

    What I saw and How I Lied wasn't as good as I thought it would be. All the reviews online made me interested and excited to read this book, but all in all it was a let down. The first few chapters make you excited to see what's going to happen, but as the story progresses you know exactly what's going to happen and when. I really wouldn't recommend this book to anyone, unless they were going to get it to read from a library... Don't waste your time or money.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book if I Ever Saw One

    This book first caught my eye about a year ago. It sat on my bookshelf, like many other books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, for a very long time. I picked it up and began reading it and I was blown away. This book was good. There aren't too many books out there that I have found that portrays this period of time (after WWII). It was well-written, carefully planned, and, although the reader did sort of know what was coming for the characters, we still should be able to enjoy the book. Evie reflects us all: although we might not fall in love with an older man necessarily, we do become blinded by love at some point and sometimes, the outcome of that love is devastating. This was a fantastic book and I would recommend it to all of my friends.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent Read

    This is a really good book.The title alone is intriuging enough to make you curious about the story. The beginng is is a little slow but then picks up. This story will hold your intrest from cover to cover with its adultry,blackmail and homicide. I HIGLY recomend.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    a must read.

    Tugging me along with the 1940's, Judy Blundell's novel What I Saw and How i Lied told a perfect tale through an innocent 15 year old, Evelyn Spooner. Joe, her stepdad, helped force the family back into normality with the homecoming from serving in World War II. When the war started following Joe home every night with a strikingly handsome young ex-GI, Peter Coleridge, he decides to uproot Evie and his glamorous, blonde-bombshell wife Bev from their home in Queens to a vacation resort in Palm Beach, Florida. Being caught in the middle of a nightmare of lies, Evie must pick her way through the mess and decide whats truly important too her.


    I strongly recommend this book for anyone that enjoys a twisted plot and an oblivious main character. This hard to put down novel continued to draw me in until the very end. The ending also was extremely pleasing and wrapped everything up perfectly. Judy Blundells way of describing is simply captivating and makes you feel as if you were right there experiencing everything as it came at Evie. What I Saw and How I Lied is a must read that will keep you engaged until the last page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended (to Teens and Adults)

    Billed as a young adult novel, this coming of age story is an incredibly in-the-monent depiction of life post World War II. The mystery element borrows a shade of hard-boiled feel, and the themes--murder, adultery, and questing for truth--have as great a chance to appeal to an adult audience as to the teens the book is marketed to. <BR/><BR/>For some further discussion, feel free to visit my blog: http://alanajoli.livejournal.com/94298.html

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Reasons to read this book.

    This was a brilliant book—these are the reasons why:

    1. Evie and the other characters. Evie's the narrarator and you can really feel her; she's awkward, shy, hopelessly naive, lovestruck dumb. The author really managed to flesh her out into a real human being, tangiable and real. Evie in turn does the same for the other characters: Peter, her mother, Joe.

    2. This sounds like it was written in 1947. She uses the slang and language of the era, the feel: the glamour, the grit, the hopefulness and the hopelessness.

    3. The plot. I honestly got this because I thought I would get a love story. But there's so much more. It's not just a whodunnit, it's a whodunwhat. And there's no happy ending. It ends with Evie, content but not happy, innocence gone, illusions shattered, old and young. It's real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    LOVE IT!

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!
    Took a slow start,then the book really pulls you in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Ewww boy fruits

    Ok so i like the post-war setting and 50s glam of the book but that was it. A fifteen year old falls in love with a man in his late twenties, who sees her as a child (until a part near the end where they do the nasty...) this girls mother (who is married) has an afair with the same man... basicaly she is a hussy. The daughter fids out and in her rush to be mature, seduces and does the nasty with a hotel worker she barely knows. The husband kills the man out of jelousy and the girl has to lie to keep her parents out of jail. Btw i got this book at a middle school book fair.... 0_o

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    Wasn't what i expected

    When i read all the reviews i was happy to read this book. Although when i started to read this book it started to bore me. I wanted to put it down but i forced myself to read it. I just wasted my money and time on this book. So i don't really recomend this book, but if you want you can risk your time and read it. Just check it out from the library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Predictable Story, Terrible Ending :(

    I've heard good things about this book, so I was excited to read it. I started as soon as I got my hands on it, but was quickly disappointed. The story was a little stale and the characters were not likable. Blundell is a good writer, but the plot was so PREDICTABLE. The worst part of the story was the ending. Never have I been so frustrated at a book ending. I could've spent my time reading a better book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    One of the best books I've ever read. At first I thought it was

    One of the best books I've ever read. At first I thought it was just a smart murder mystery. But this book is a lot more. When I got to the end, I started at the beginning because I didn't want to leave Evie. My only criticism is the title: hard to remember and not at all what the book is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Ok, where do I begin? Evie... Evie... why? I mean, I don't think

    Ok, where do I begin? Evie... Evie... why? I mean, I don't think I've ever read a book with a more stupid lead role. Obviously, things are going on that she doesn't know about and she just thinks of it as nothing. Like, really? Really?




    Evie is 15 years old and not the brightest bulb... or whatever. I sure hope I wasn't this naive at 15 because I was embarrassed throughout the entire book for her because she was just so... naive is the only word. Maybe she got better with age? I don't know, but it was sad to read. Every time I read something where she just made the stupidest move, I just wanted to chuck the book across the room. However, I didn't do that. First of all, it wasn't mine. Second of all, its a book and I love books.




    The story seemed to go from one thing to the next and that was one of the most annoying things. I don't know why the author wrote the novel this way, but it wasn't fun.




    I read the book in about a day because I needed to finish the book and move on. I recommend this to young adult readers who love post-war.
    Rating: 4.6/10
    Parental Rating: 14+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Carmen

    No this book is for all ages its not bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Cringe worthy, but intreuging Good, unless you analyze it

    I have mixed feelings bout this book. It's interesting if you can get past the dull beginning, but a while after the characters went to Florida, the plot gets conveluted. After some teen drama, the plot began to get good but it's hard to get past some of the book's major problems. Heavy handed echos of WW11 combined with oversexualized scenes, and cookie cutter 'southern' characters produce a slightly sloppy, and at times gross feel. The ending was kind of cheezy and a bit unsatisftying. But on on he other hand, I couldn't put it down when I was reading it, and liked it despite it's problems. Worth a try if you don't think about the plot to seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Wrong, this book was just wrong. It had this little romantic sto

    Wrong, this book was just wrong. It had this little romantic story with the same guy who's Evie is in love with and her mother who was a w***re secretly dating the man that her daughter loves. This was very disturbing to me, my daughter read this at her school and she's 12. Disgusting, don't waste your time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    PLEASE HELP

    So is this book appropriate for kids?????? Reply to Carmen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Hooks ya in

    I read his book fir a book club andit just grabs you. You should read this wih a group or a friend becaus it gets you thinking and wanting ti talk about it. You should read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Hey

    Have not read it but my friends fell in love with it i am not going to buy i am geting from the library though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    okay i thought this book was really good i found this in my scho

    okay i thought this book was really good i found this in my school library and it caught my eye so i checked it out and i absolutely loved it but one thing i was sad about was peter found dead and the mother being such a slut -.- oh well anyway the book was really great (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5