Customer Reviews for

What I Saw and How I Lied

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book if I Ever Saw One

This book first caught my eye about a year ago. It sat on my bookshelf, like many other books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, for a very long time. I picked it up and began reading it and I was blown away. This book was good. There aren't too many books out there th...
This book first caught my eye about a year ago. It sat on my bookshelf, like many other books I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, for a very long time. I picked it up and began reading it and I was blown away. This book was good. There aren't too many books out there that I have found that portrays this period of time (after WWII). It was well-written, carefully planned, and, although the reader did sort of know what was coming for the characters, we still should be able to enjoy the book. Evie reflects us all: although we might not fall in love with an older man necessarily, we do become blinded by love at some point and sometimes, the outcome of that love is devastating. This was a fantastic book and I would recommend it to all of my friends.

posted by Abagail_Ree on December 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Bad...no, Really Bad!

Eww! This book was terrible! It had no plot and was only interesting in maybe, the last 50 pages. I would've put it down so quickly if it wasn't so short. The characters are stupid and pointless. The main character, Evie, falls in love a 20 something year old man, when ...
Eww! This book was terrible! It had no plot and was only interesting in maybe, the last 50 pages. I would've put it down so quickly if it wasn't so short. The characters are stupid and pointless. The main character, Evie, falls in love a 20 something year old man, when she's only 15! So, the romance was stupid. You got no connection to any of the characters. Evie's so eager to grow up, she turns into someone like her mother, who's a total slut! (HEr mom is secretly dating the same man Evie thinks she's dating, and her mom's married to her current step-father!) When something serious happens to her family, she finds out secrets that her dad stole from Jews in the war, and that's how they have the money to live. And, that her mom's a two-timing w***re. Evie herself tends to take after her mom. Just, take my advice, don't waste your time reading this!!!!

posted by kajJK on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    Wasn't what i expected

    When i read all the reviews i was happy to read this book. Although when i started to read this book it started to bore me. I wanted to put it down but i forced myself to read it. I just wasted my money and time on this book. So i don't really recomend this book, but if you want you can risk your time and read it. Just check it out from the library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Cringe worthy, but intreuging Good, unless you analyze it

    I have mixed feelings bout this book. It's interesting if you can get past the dull beginning, but a while after the characters went to Florida, the plot gets conveluted. After some teen drama, the plot began to get good but it's hard to get past some of the book's major problems. Heavy handed echos of WW11 combined with oversexualized scenes, and cookie cutter 'southern' characters produce a slightly sloppy, and at times gross feel. The ending was kind of cheezy and a bit unsatisftying. But on on he other hand, I couldn't put it down when I was reading it, and liked it despite it's problems. Worth a try if you don't think about the plot to seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Hey

    Have not read it but my friends fell in love with it i am not going to buy i am geting from the library though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Good

    I enjoyed the book but at the ending she tried to hard. Otherwise the book was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Tries too hard

    Loved the first 2/3 of this book. Then it turns from being a kind of coming of age story to a poorly developed and predictable mystery. Wish the author would have stayed on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1