Customer Reviews for

What It Was

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    recommended

    great characters and dialogue

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good Book

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    As always, Pelecanos a good read

    Exciting from beginning to end. Great protagonists, and a good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    If you lived then read this now!

    From the clothes to the cars the characters are genuine and I felt like I was in a time machine. Thats why I read so much to escape reality. Am I alone in this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    liked it

    Liked the book and will go out of my way to read more by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Exciting

    Starts slow, but picks up pace and i sure consider it a pageturner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Makes me want to read more Pelecanos

    Great read. Brought back memories of another time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Too boring!!!!

    I couldn't get into the charactors, so i didn'r finish the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book. I suffered with the main character through all of his choices. I enjoyed the ending also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Not what I expected.

    Didn't relate with any of the characters. Didn't like the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good read.

    Not all world, but very good reading, especially if you grew up in the 70's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Not what I was expecting.

    It turned out to be an interesting story. Was surprised how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Not what I expected- well worth the time to read!

    Not something I would typically pick for a book but the era seemed interesting so I decided to go for it. Vivid, detailed descriptions and colorful characters- it read like a movie. I highly recommend it if you can handle the underworld action and the sometimes blurry lines between the good guys and the bad guys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    good book

    well written entertaining book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    its ok

    'what is was' - well what is was is just ok.... I didn't even finish it as it failed to hold my attention .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    not my type of reading

    couldn't get past the first couple of chapters, didn't keep my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Ok

    Too much, where was the other entire police force, the fact that nobody could find red who was right under their nose.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3