Customer Reviews for

What Looks like Crazy on an Ordinary Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    I read this book when it was first released (not long after it became an Oprah's Book Club selection). I've reread it a couple of times since then, and each time is just as enjoyable as the first. I love this book. The characters are well-developed, and it will make you laugh out loud, as well as feel like shedding a tear or two.
    I definitely recommend this book.

    (I've also read a couple of her other works, and while good, none compare to this debut novel.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Flow was great.

    After reading the reader's reviews i expected much more profanity. Realising that the readers were also Oprah book club members...so this was clearly not a "hood-to-hood" read. Ava sounded like an old college room mate catching you up on her life. I woud hope future books by Clearage would highlight Ava's spiritual maturity and abandon the profanity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    Awesome! If your looking for a great book that will hold your attention till the very last word, this is the book...

    This book starts with Ava. She's not gay nor is she on drugs but she is HIV positive...Ava decides to leave Atlanta and start over. She decides to go visit her sister Joyce in Idlewild. Although Ava's intentions are to visit for the summer and then move onto LA, her plans soon change once meeting and falling for Eddie. Eddie is a black man that has had his fair share of challenges in his life however he has not allowed that to sour his outlook on life. Joyce, Ava's sister has also had her share of hardtimes, lossing her children and then her husband..she still has room in her heart to care for others and show them the love they need.

    This book is wonderfully written and although this is a fiction novel, it certainly touches on the Crazy things that happen in our true ordinary lives.

    This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    To say that the book is good is an understatement.

    I picked up this book because I wanted to get into reading again and i am so glad I did because Pearl Cleage is such a good author that I think comparing her to Terry Mcmillan does not do her justice. You can actually hear these poeple talking in the book it is so vivid and full of attitude even in what should be a sad situation, it is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Fantastic Read!

    This was my first from the author and I am in love with her writing. This story grabbed me and kept me to the end. The best part was how her writing makes it so familiar as if you were actually living it out. Great laughs, emotions and writing. Loved the characters and storyline. Thanks Pearl Cleage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    My.My, My

    what a story to tell! I throughly enjoyed this book, from cover to cover. If I could get all my girlfriends to read this book, then maybe they can encourage another sister. what a blessing to readers, god's gift to you is no doubt a gift to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    A wonderful and very funny story

    This is a wonderful and very funny story, I enjoyed this book from the very first page to the very last. This is the best book I've ever read, I just wished that It was a movie, because it will recieve great reviews. I give this book a perfect 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Great read

    I truely enjoyed this novel...fiction as it may be I have learned many lessons from this intriguing story. The expierences of Ava could very well be the fate of any african american woman...this novel gives an outlet to victims, and makes the naive aware of the plagues of wreckless lifestyles. I fully intend on reading more literature by Pearl Cleage, who sets the scene of this novel so brilliantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Fast-paced, intriguing read

    From the very first words, I was hooked into Cleage's story. Ava's story and her quest for love is made all the more poignant by her HIV status. Her relationship with her sister Joyce is wonderful - for another great read, look into 'I wish I had a red dress' for more of Joyce's story. A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Intrigued my curiosity

    This book was very interesting. I could not put the book down so I carried it everywhere I went. I passed the book on to my Mom and sisters and they loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    A great read and a wonderful storyline!

    I had to read this novel for class and I loved it! It was easy to read, there was never a dull moment, and I couldn't put the book down. The characters pull at your heart strings and the story makes you feel a part of their lives. Truly a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Crazy Everyday!

    Wonderful book..easy read, but both entertaining and thought provoking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Loved It

    I loved this book so much, I read it twice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    A Lesson in Love

    This was a great Story. This was my first book by Ms. Cleage and I enjoyed it. I love that the chapters didn't drag and that Eddie wasn't the typical abusive crazy brotha in the story it was a beautiful love story just a beautiful story period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    It's A Great Book

    The book is wonderful. I quite enjoyed it. It is uplifting and quite funny sometimes. Also, it's very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    The Book was phenomenal...........

    This book was phenomenal from beginning to end. The Mitchell sisters were just how family should be -- sharing, giving and lots of caring going on. The big bang was that many stories existed within one book. However the topping of the cake was the love relationship between Ava & Eddie. Their affair was amazing it made me tingle and I didn't feel strange because 'what looks crazy on an ordinary day was normal for me.' The entire book was phenomenal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    Great read on a lazy day

    This is a great book when you are looking for deep feelings without being completely dragged down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Truly a Great Book!!!!!!!!!

    This book kept me interested from page one.The relationships in this book were great. The characters were great. I had to make myself stop reading it just so I could save some for later. It really puts a reality to hiv and aids for i'ts readers. But that's only a part of this wonderful book. It's a love story plus a whole lot more. Buy it!!! you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2001

    Great ..........Awesome.........Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love the book sooooo... much. I am a college student & my English prof assigned this book to our class. I hate reading so after finding out it was almost 300 pgs. long I began to dred the idea of it. I was wrong. I love it, I want there to be more pages :) I have approx 45 pgs left cant wait to see the ending. Ms. Cleage did an outstanding job!!!As I read the details in the novel in my mind I feel like I am watching it on T.V. They need to make a movie outta this novel. I just found out about her other book Red dress. I will deffinetly read that. This book is an inspiration to allllll. Hey if Oprah said it was good then its gotta be was GOOD! Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    A Beautiful Experience

    The book is light to read but very deep. It really get's your heart pumping and the tears rolling. Cleage keeps you interested until the last word. The book is satisfying and leaves you reminicing about the characters for some time. Read it, you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3