Customer Reviews for

What Matters Most

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Over two decades Bernadette Ignatius and Tom Kelly were lovers. She became pregnant and gave birth to his son. However, Bernadette decided to join the church to become a nun. Unable to raise the lad by himself, Tom agreed to place the newborn in a Dublin orphanage. To be near her, he became the caretaker at the convent where she took her vows. --- Now twenty-three years later, Tom and Sister Bernie search for their offspring angry Seamus Sullivan, who loathes his biological parents for deserting him. When Tom learns that Seamus loves a former orphanage resident Kathleen, whose parents came for her a decade ago, he encourages him to go out and get her. However, to find love, Seamus must move past his hate to forgive his parents while Kathleen is across the ocean in Newport knowing the only boy she loves will one day come for her. --- WHAT MATTERS MOST is filled with memorable characters whose faith is tested as each of the prime four players struggle to do what they feel is right they each learn a Plato-like lesson that to have a miracle first one must suffer in their cases heartbreak. The story line is enhanced by visions and ghosts, but uses to many expedient scenarios that enable the prime cast to run into each other at critical times though some might insist serendipitously miracles are in their corner. Still the lead four protagonists make for a powerful inspirational tale as they learn WHAT MATTERS MOST in life. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very powerful novel

    Such a powerful second installment from Luanne Rice's Sandcastles. It picks up where the book left off. Sister Bernadette Igantious and Thomas Kelly travel back to Ireland to find the son they placed for adoption 23 years ago. The son, whom they thought, had an amazingly wonderful life with an adoptive family. What they come to find is that their son grew up in a Children's Home and was never adopted, he sometimes lived on the street on his own and although he went through such pain, trials and tribulations, he still become such an amazing man. There in Ireland, the love that was always between Sister Bernadette and Tom were ignited and the gravity of what they did 23 years ago is now in front of them. They find love, forgiveness and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    LUANNE RICE'S BEST BOOK YET

    I have read a lot of LuAnne Rice's books and loved them all except The Edge of Winter. This one, though, simply put, is THE BEST one I have read to date. I couldn't put it down. I didn't want it to end, and it stayed with me even after I had finished reading it. One of my all-time favorite books has been The Thorn Birds and this, though different, reminded me of it. I have passed the word on to my friends--it's a must read! I have to just break my habit of reading ahead. It does tend to ruin the climax of the book. Keep the tissues handy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    Total Page Turner

    One of the best books I¿ve read in a long time. Took me only 2 days to read it, I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed how the author described everything down to the very detail, Made me have a very clear picture in my mind about where and what the characters were all doing. This is my first Luanne Rice book that I have just finished up and can't wait to read more of her books. Amazing Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Another Cloud Nine Disappointment

    Why, through the ages, is it considered romantic for a couple to be parted by death? Anyone want to define 'romance novel' for me? It was bad enough Tom and Bernie were separated by her visions, but this story was a complete and utter disappointment. I kept waiting for Bernie to see the light and realize that nothing much mattered if it couldn't be shared with a soul mate. Her angst just made me angry. Luanne, get a clue. You are a wonderful author, but I keep on wanting to rewrite the ending of this story just about as much as I did the ending of Cloud Nine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    A page turner

    I agree with the prior reviewer who said to read Sandcastles first. Tom and Bernie are wonderful characters and their story of committment, faith, love and doubt is wonderful. There was an easy 'cop out' ending that the author could have taken. I'm glad she didn't. The ending was sad, but appropriate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Disappointed

    I have read all of Rice's novels to date. Very disappointed in this one. Have not paid much attention to Catholic church policy, but now understand the grand problem with their priests. Am now very hesitant to read another of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    This story touched me deeply

    This is a story about Bernie and Tom, former lovers, with a subplot involving James (their young adult son) and Kathleen. It is a story of love and yearning. It is also a story of faith and overcoming obstacles. I found each of the main characters, humanly flawed, yet so likeable. Imagining these characters in Dublin, in Newport RI and in Ct just added to the enjoyment of reading a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Wonderful book

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. It pulls you in from the moment you start reading it. I would suggest reading Sandcastles first since this book is somewhat of a continutation of it. This would make a great movie !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Loved this story

    I really enjoyed this book.I love Bernie and Tom.It was nice to read about other characters from the last, also wonderful, book sand castles.A defenit must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    WHAT A GREAT STORY

    This was a great book. I had a lump in my throat for most of it. It was beautiful but sad all at he same time. I've been reading luanne's books and am becomng a big fan! i'd like to see this book as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2