Customer Reviews for

What Not to Bare

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun, sweet, and steamy, What Not to Bare was a lovely historical

Fun, sweet, and steamy, What Not to Bare was a lovely historical romance! I really enjoyed reading this book. It was just wonderful and I absolutely loved it!

I loved the twist on Beauty and the Beast this took. We have "The Abomination" and "Mr. Gorgeou...
Fun, sweet, and steamy, What Not to Bare was a lovely historical romance! I really enjoyed reading this book. It was just wonderful and I absolutely loved it!

I loved the twist on Beauty and the Beast this took. We have "The Abomination" and "Mr. Gorgeous." I loved how it was done. It was fun and sweet and made this book even better. 

Charlotte was a fun heroine. She has her own way of doing things and that hasn't gone so well in Society. Her rather eccentric (read: terrible) taste in dresses has earned the the nickname "The Abomination." But, what I loved about her, is that she just kept doing as she pleased, uncaring of what anyone else thinks of her. I really liked her. She was a wonderful character.

David has been judged by his looks his entire life. And, not it the way that's usually meant. He's been seen as just a pretty face, meant to just stand there and look pretty. But, he wanted to be more than just a face and he's spent years proving his full worth. And, earned himself a nickname while doing his work in India. "Mr. Gorgeous." Well, he was certainly gorgeous. But, he was also sweet, clever, and just wonderful. One thing is specific that I appreciated about him was that he didn't keep secrets from Charlotte. That usually gets romance heroes in trouble, but he had the sense to avoid it. I adored him. He was a perfect hero. 

The romance was lovely. Charlotte and David were super sweet together. They weren't ones to hide their infatuation and it was so adorable. And, of course, the steaminess was off the charts. They certainly had sparks flying between them. Even though they don't go all the way until near the end of the book, the heat level was always up. I thought these two were a wonderful couple.

The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. This book was so much fun to read, with the with, the humor, and the horrible dresses. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect.

What Not to Bare was a fantastic historical romance. I really loved this wonderful read. It was fun, light, romantic, and just amazing. Lovers of romance, this is a book you definitely need to read.

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

posted by WorldsCollide on October 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book started out to be amusing and witty, but changed into

This book started out to be amusing and witty, but changed into the typical trash talking sexual stuff that apparently is what the public wants now rather than the mystique that should be written and is much more interesting than the hard core language of the street. I ...
This book started out to be amusing and witty, but changed into the typical trash talking sexual stuff that apparently is what the public wants now rather than the mystique that should be written and is much more interesting than the hard core language of the street. I deleted it at about page 148 or so when the author gets into a description of the hero giving himself a hand-job..YUK!!!!!! Not my kind of novel....

posted by 17544821 on January 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Banter & Memorable Characters

    Megan Frampton is a new-to-me author and after finishing this book she's quickly become an author I will keep an eye on. What Not to Bare is a delightful confection of witty banter and a memorable main couple who the author lets readers get to know through humorous inner dialogue. The main couple starts out as friends and morph into comfortable lovers through a series of slow burning interactions that reflect the unrelenting sexual tension between them.

    Charlotte is a delightful and admirable heroine not afraid to rebel in one of the few ways she can....through her overly-colorful wardrobe. She wants to be special, to be treated as a person with a heart and soul instead of a pretty doll to be on display on a man's arm. She's curious and outspoken and simply wants to marry for love. She's honest and loyal and is the kind of person you can see being your friend and Ms. Frampton has imbued her with such a life-like persona that I felt deeply connected to her and invested in her HEA. Charlotte knew her limitations but never let them define her and she quickly became one of my favorite heroines ever.

    David is back in London after a scandal put his career in jeopardy. Being known only for his looks has always frustrated him but his career had him known for his intelligence and way with words. He's desperate to return to India and befriending Charlotte is his way to get there, but her personality catches him off guard. He admires her honesty and finds her a breath of fresh air amidst the stifling social conventions of London. David is equally as honest, not wanting anything to taint their burgeoning relationship. He's charming and the perfect match for Charlotte as they're both looking to be more than what society has nicknamed them. He truly understands her and their connection is sweet yet sexy and heartwarming to see.

    The relationship between Charlotte and David is the crux of this story and captured my attention to the exclusion of all else. The pettiness of Louise and Charles was an unnecessary obstruction to their happiness and I was glad very little time was squandered on them. The dialogue was witty and fast-paced and brought a smile to my face many times. The sexual tension was palpable between them with each word and deed crackling with intensity. From start to finish I was drawn to these characters and rooting for their HEA. Fans of Julia Quinn will be especially drawn to this book and I look forward to Ms. Frampton's next release.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, sweet, and steamy, What Not to Bare was a lovely historical

    Fun, sweet, and steamy, What Not to Bare was a lovely historical romance! I really enjoyed reading this book. It was just wonderful and I absolutely loved it!

    I loved the twist on Beauty and the Beast this took. We have "The Abomination" and "Mr. Gorgeous." I loved how it was done. It was fun and sweet and made this book even better. 

    Charlotte was a fun heroine. She has her own way of doing things and that hasn't gone so well in Society. Her rather eccentric (read: terrible) taste in dresses has earned the the nickname "The Abomination." But, what I loved about her, is that she just kept doing as she pleased, uncaring of what anyone else thinks of her. I really liked her. She was a wonderful character.

    David has been judged by his looks his entire life. And, not it the way that's usually meant. He's been seen as just a pretty face, meant to just stand there and look pretty. But, he wanted to be more than just a face and he's spent years proving his full worth. And, earned himself a nickname while doing his work in India. "Mr. Gorgeous." Well, he was certainly gorgeous. But, he was also sweet, clever, and just wonderful. One thing is specific that I appreciated about him was that he didn't keep secrets from Charlotte. That usually gets romance heroes in trouble, but he had the sense to avoid it. I adored him. He was a perfect hero. 

    The romance was lovely. Charlotte and David were super sweet together. They weren't ones to hide their infatuation and it was so adorable. And, of course, the steaminess was off the charts. They certainly had sparks flying between them. Even though they don't go all the way until near the end of the book, the heat level was always up. I thought these two were a wonderful couple.

    The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. This book was so much fun to read, with the with, the humor, and the horrible dresses. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect.

    What Not to Bare was a fantastic historical romance. I really loved this wonderful read. It was fun, light, romantic, and just amazing. Lovers of romance, this is a book you definitely need to read.

    *I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Jonas

    Connor? Uh.... a little. Mostly at ethics

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    I thougt this was a very fun book. Loved the characters and the intractions. Will be reading this one again. Well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Carrie

    Oh tnx and come play truth or dare with me and con at dubliner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    To below

    Yes. But please spread the word.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    To the rp i randomly found

    Can i be the daughter of a goddess from a story~ Avara

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Excellent

    Funny, witty, and outrageously sexy... highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Great

    I really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Witty, hilarious, fast paced and outrageous dialogue, a fashion

    Witty, hilarious, fast paced and outrageous dialogue, a fashion challenged heroine and a hero who was forced to leave India due to scandal. What more do you need? Lady Charlotte Jepstow is a heroine with a mind full of questions and says, does and dresses to please herself. LONDON'S society calls her "The Abomination!" Charlotte wears colorful feathers and fruits on her bonnet, white gloves with purple and yellow embroidery and a neon blue gown with huge red and green flower pattern on it and that is just one of her outfits. She is shocked when her friend, Emma, asks her to write her fashion column while she out of town. A column would be something different to do since she is not going to find a husband again this year. Will she always be "Eternal Burden" to her family? Lord David Marchston is back in London but not by his choice. While in India he slept with the wrong wife and caused a scandal. Lord Bradford, his boss in the Home Secretary's office, tells him is new assignment is to stay out of trouble and pretend to "court" his niece, Lady Charlotte, but not marry her. David's is called "Mr. Gorgeous" in India and he is sick of being used for his good looks. Charlotte and David's story is super quirky, hilarious and imaginative. Gloves, chemises, male small clothes fly off. Great secondary characters like Gotam, David's valet and Sarah, Charlotte's maid and co-conspirator. Ms. Frampton has great catch phrases like "unmarried bachelors" and writes humor in love scenes and it works. My personal favorite romances are hilarious, quirky, have characters that are total opposites and make me laugh, snort, scream and even get my pompoms and cheer them on. I have to give Ms. Frampton my top score of 5 fingers up and 10 toes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Clever, witty, and fun historical romance! Charlotte, our heroi

    Clever, witty, and fun historical romance! Charlotte, our heroine, is a girl after my own heart. She questions everything -- which throws Lord David for a loop, as he has never run into a 'girl like Charlotte'. She has found that even though her mother insists she 'go on the marriage mart' for the 3rd season, she can actually repel bachelors by dressing outlandishly. IF she marries, she declares she will marry someone who appreciates HER for her wit, intellegence, and not for "arm candy"! Lord David is 'assigned' to 'promote' Charolotte by being attentive, but oh my! He has never had conversations quite like with Lady Charlotte that leave him 'flumoxed'! This story is so witty, you may find yourself giggling, and identifying with Charlotte, who has the nerve to flaunt convention. Lord David becomes smitten, and eventually she is all he can think of. He has also suffered at the hands of society -- as he is so handsome, that he is striving to be taken seriously as a person, not just a 'pretty face'. Charlotte questions everything -- often with questions I have often asked myself, and she finds India to be enthralling, and is more than willing to travel to HIS beloved India, as his bride, especially since the women there wear such bright clothing. All in all, I loved this book. Clever, witty, funny, and fast-paced; and lengthened my vocabulary; ie, I can't tell you how many 'oxymorons' I've noticed since reading this book!
    Will definitely read more of Megan Frampton!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I really loved this book, it was full of humour and also a del



    I really loved this book, it was full of humour and also a deliciously sexy romance.
    Lady Charlotte has a style all of her own, it's a bit load and the ton have given her the nickname "The Abomination". She is in her third season with no prospects of marriage, but she's not going to change how she looks or dress' 
    David Marchton has just arrived back from India which he's had to leave for a while to avoid a scandal. Charlotte's uncle then ask's him if he would court her while too stir up some interest in the ton. 
    I liked Charlotte very much and she stuck to her guns dressed how she liked.
    Her fashion advice was very amusing and she was very tenacious when asking her questions, she was very curious about everything.
    David was great. He wasn't arrogant or a rake, he just said he'd court Charlotte and then he wanted to go back to India, but she is a bit more than he bargained for.
    He wouldn't let her get herself into trouble with her questions with some one else, very protective.
    This was my first book by Megan Frampton and I will be reading more of her novels in the future for sure.

    I received a free copy of this title from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I loved this story

    These were the most engaging characters I've come across in a romance novel in quite a while. I absolutely loved Charlotte and David. Most of the men in romance novels seem to be so idealized as to feel fake. David comes off as a real and living person you can actually imagine existing in the real world. I also love that the author made David appear so sensitive, instead of being a macho jerk like so many romance novel heroes. From the beginning, even before he knows how he feels about Charlotte, he is sensitive to her feelings and is kind to others. I liked what I saw of lady Anne's character, too, and wanted to know more about her. As for Charlotte's interesting taste in dress, it struck me as true that in that time period, it would be one of the few ways a young woman could assert her individuality without causing a complete scandal. Plus she clearly did it to erk her mother, which to me was a very believeable response for a young woman, as anyone with teenage daughters can tell you. It was a delight to read about Charlotte and Davids' interactions from the beginning, and I really liked that the author wrote realistic verbal interactions, instead of some of the stilted misunderstandings that make no sense but serve to move the plot along in the average romance novel. This story is far better written and the characters more mature acting than in most romance novels. The characters learn and grow, and Charlotte even confronts her dressing habits and thinks about whether she should change. I don't find it odd at all that her friend chose Charlotte of all people to fill in writing her fashion column, as another reviewer did. The point was that her friend knew Charlotte's true character better than we do at first, and the facts are that Charlotte has an excellant sense of fashion and knows what looks good, she just thinks people should spend more time developing themselves as individuals including how they dress, instead of just mindlessly following the herd. Great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. Fun read characters were easy to con

    I really enjoyed this book. Fun read characters were easy to connect with. Will be one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Funny, entertaining and hot

    Loved the outspoken &curious Charlotte, she is refreshing and surprising. Kept chuckling at this likeable character. Will reread this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Great

    This book was witty and fun to read. I always looked forward to getting back to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1