BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What Once Was Perfect (Wardham, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can Laney and Kyle overcome history that was set twelve years ag

Can Laney and Kyle overcome history that was set twelve years ago. They both regretted what happened in the past, and neither has satisfying relationships. The sex scenes are hot and steamy. The characters drew me in immediately, for a small town girl. I really enjoy st...
Can Laney and Kyle overcome history that was set twelve years ago. They both regretted what happened in the past, and neither has satisfying relationships. The sex scenes are hot and steamy. The characters drew me in immediately, for a small town girl. I really enjoy stories from the midwest, Chicago. Looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

posted by sbart84 on November 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have read her work before, and she was on my list of names of authors whose books i would consider buying. I don't mind a few sex aces in a romance novel but This book is nothing but sex and a week story wrapped around it.
I would read erotica if tat is what I wanted....
I have read her work before, and she was on my list of names of authors whose books i would consider buying. I don't mind a few sex aces in a romance novel but This book is nothing but sex and a week story wrapped around it.
I would read erotica if tat is what I wanted.
There's nothing there.
It should be labelled as EROTICA.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    This debut to Zoe's Wardham series was exactly the kind of book

    This debut to Zoe's Wardham series was exactly the kind of book I have been looking for. I really had no idea what I was in for when I started this book, but I can tell you what you are going to be in for... A whole lot of reading, and nothing else! I was glued to my Kindle from start to finish. I actually wish I could say that I finished in one sitting, but truth be told, I stayed up so late reading it that I actually passed out in my chair with 2 chapters to go. I was also expecting a very sweet Contemporary Romance, and ended up with a lot more steam than I would have every guessed! I love how Zoe put this whole story together! Kyle and Laney's past, how it affected them both, and how they came together was so believable and well played out, that I truly forgot I was reading a book at times. I highly recommend this book and since I am already half way through book 2 and loving it, I think it's safe to say this entire series will be one not to miss! I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Can Laney and Kyle overcome history that was set twelve years ag

    Can Laney and Kyle overcome history that was set twelve years ago. They both regretted what happened in the past, and neither has satisfying relationships. The sex scenes are hot and steamy. The characters drew me in immediately, for a small town girl. I really enjoy stories from the midwest, Chicago. Looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Do not recommend, especially for teen agers

    I don't know if I would recommend this book for anyone. The story line was good, but there was no inter-action between the couple without explicit sex and page after page of it. I'm sorry, I would not recommend this for book club discussion. Would I read another book by this author...yes, to see if see can write with interest in another story line.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good story

    I enjoyed this story, the writing was good and I recommend it. The characters were well-developed and believable as well as like-able. It's definitely for those over 18.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    I would really give this a 4.5 star rating. There's not much I


    I would really give this a 4.5 star rating. There's not much I didn't like about this story, and I'm having a hard time pinpointing why I don't just give it 5 stars. I think it is because I like to think I would have made Kyle work a little harder before jumping back in the sack with him. Granted, he is hot...but still.

    That being said, I think the story does progress from there in a believable timeframe, and you can see Laney growing through her pain, and Kyle attempting to come to grips with the idea that he might have to let Laney go.

    The sex scenes are steamy and not too over the top, although Kyle pretty much is a super human with all the erections he gets and maintains. (That might be part of the reason for that missing half star.)

    I enjoyed the read. It was well written, and I did not go into 'editor-mode' to re-write anything, which is a very good indicator for a self-pub. It is a good way to spend a couple days. I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Disappointed

    I have read her work before, and she was on my list of names of authors whose books i would consider buying. I don't mind a few sex aces in a romance novel but This book is nothing but sex and a week story wrapped around it.
    I would read erotica if tat is what I wanted.
    There's nothing there.
    It should be labelled as EROTICA.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Happy

    Heartwarming story...enjoyed it alot. Looking foreward to the next in the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Anonymius

    Great story. It was an easy, fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Good book

    Nice story - very good ending!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review of this book. I enjoyed reading this short novel very much. ShelleyMA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    I wanted to like this. . .but. ..

    It wasn't at all believable. It was one information dump after another, all 'telling' the reader the back story instead of showing or letting the reader gradually discover the characters. I never related to the heroine and felt like, even if this is a new series, too much was left hanging and too much was made as a 'you have to buy the next one to find out what happens'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    amazing read

    I fell in love with this story. So glad i found this new amazing author & story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    What Once Was Perfect by Zoe York is the first in her contempora

    What Once Was Perfect by Zoe York is the first in her contemporary romance series Wardham. Delaeny Calhoun is a plastic surgeon working in Chicago. She still hasn't gotten over her first love, and her relationships are short lived arrangements. Will this Christmas at her hometown Wardham turn over a tide for Laney?

    Kyle Nixon made a mistake. He let the girl he loved the most slip away. And he blamed her for a long while for the end of their relationship. But is it too late to rectify what was the worst mistake of his life?

    This time when she returns home, Kyle has decided to clear things out with Laney, with of course a little push from her mother. Laney is finally ready to hear what he has to say after twelve years,during which she pined for him, but never let herself be vulnerable. To anyone. 


    Kyle is not going to let her go this time. He'll take what he can get. Even if it's just an occasional romp in the sheets. But neither of them thought they'd fall in love with each other all over again. But this time Laney isn't as free with her heart as she was all those years ago. Which means, Kyle has his work cut out for him.

    What Once Was Perfect shows a couple who have always been in love overcome the heartbreak and mistakes of the past and start over a new clean slate. How they learn from the mistakes they made, and promise to do better this time around. It was a well written novel, bittersweet with some really hot love scenes. Actually a lot of love scenes. But if never edged over to erotic. A bittersweet romance that makes you feel good at the end of the day. The loved the characters. They were real, they were mistaken. They were just human. I was looking forward to seeing Ian and Carrie, but they just had a blink and you miss it scene.


    A 3.5/5 starer book. I really look forward to the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Anonymous

    Rrally enjoyed reading this book. Am going to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Very nice

    A very enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    Very good read short story but plenty of steamy romance loved it

    Very good read short story but plenty of steamy romance loved it couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Well...

    I really liked this book slightly, just slightly predictable. Really enjoyable, though. Cute:) Reminded me of how badly I miss my boyfriend, so I did become emotional at times, other than that a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Question.

    How can you know that the reveiws are "honest" reveiws?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Ok

    It was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Overboard

    Entirely too much detailed sex! I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 18. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3