Customer Reviews for

What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

FINISHED THE BOOK IN A DAY AND 1/2!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just could not put this book down. I figured that it was a book mostly about John and his wife. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! This is a love story...an honest one. One reviewer said she wrote in an earthy tone. While I was reading I couldn't figure out the style..but earthy is ...
I just could not put this book down. I figured that it was a book mostly about John and his wife. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! This is a love story...an honest one. One reviewer said she wrote in an earthy tone. While I was reading I couldn't figure out the style..but earthy is correct...open and well just great.

posted by nickanmaxie on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book

I actually read this book twice, something I seldom (actually never) do. The first time I thought the book was mostly about John and Carolyn Kennedy and Carole Radziwell's relationship with them. However, the second time around, it is mostly about Carole, her life as a ...
I actually read this book twice, something I seldom (actually never) do. The first time I thought the book was mostly about John and Carolyn Kennedy and Carole Radziwell's relationship with them. However, the second time around, it is mostly about Carole, her life as a journalist, and the battle she and her husband fought with his cancer. She knows how weave an emotional thread. I found myself in a relationship with the people in her life, even Lee Radziwell, about whom there was little written.
Ms. Radziwell was able to elevate the characteristics and personalities of those she held in high esteem (such as John and Carolyn Kennedy and her husband) and subtlely paint a picture of control and coldness in those folks she did not particularly care for (must read to see who they are).
Again, this is a great book. I know from the housewives of NY she is struggling with her second novel. Probably because her first book was a real account of real people who we all know. The story, more or less unfolded in real life and simply needed to be told. All I can say is I will look forward to the next read, but I'm keeping my expectations in check.

posted by Reviewqueen on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    FINISHED THE BOOK IN A DAY AND 1/2!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I just could not put this book down. I figured that it was a book mostly about John and his wife. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! This is a love story...an honest one. One reviewer said she wrote in an earthy tone. While I was reading I couldn't figure out the style..but earthy is correct...open and well just great.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    This Book Is Amazing!

    It is a true testimony of love and friendship, of death and dying, and ultimately, of life! I highly recommend it!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Written with winning honesty

    The little girl from the working class family is on her way to success, the kind she wants and has worked hard pursuing, when she lands a production assistant's job at ABC News. When Carole DiFalco finds herself working on a project for TV news magazine Primetime with Anthony Radziwill, nephew of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, things don't catch fire between them with instantaneous storybook passion. Their love affair begins several years afterward, and it's a gradual, almost casual progression that doesn't make it to the matrimonial altar until after the second of Anthony's many bouts with cancer. The first happened before they met, and he believed himself cured. The third interrupts their just-begun life together immediately after their honeymoon. Five years later, Anthony - a Polish prince by ancestry, as well as a Kennedy cousin - will be dead. The two people on whom he and Carole have relied most during his long illness will die before he does, though and that twist of fate will leave Carole alone in way she couldn't have imagined. That other couple are Anthony's beloved first cousin, John F. Kennedy, Jr. and John's wife, Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, who has long since become Carole's closest and dearest friend. Carole Radziwill is a remarkable writer, because she kept me - the most squeamish of readers, who hates hearing about doctors, hospitals, and medical treatments - turning pages far into the night. Although her book has a slow start, once Anthony's illness takes center stage the tale becomes riveting. By the time she finishes telling it, readers have come to know four remarkable young people - Anthony, Carole, John, and Carolyn - very well, and to care about them very much. It's a heartbreaker as well as a page turner, and a true-life love story written with winning honesty. Whatever this author writes next, I want to read it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    A Real Page Turner

    Carole Radziwill accomplished something few have been able to. She got me to finish a book. I have always experienced trouble staying interested in a story and have rarely reached the last page of any book. However, I had no problem staying interested in What Remains, in fact I could not read it fast enough. The manner in which Carole writes is enchanting. No detail or feeling is spared. I smiled, grieved and loved along with her through every page. What Remains is a refreshing read, just brilliant.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Must read...

    I have been watching this lady on the Housewives show and I can truly say that she is a CLASS ACT. This accounting of her life with her husband Anthony is hands-down, the most touching and poignant remembrance of a man who was deeply loved. I will look at her with much more admiration going forward. Who could have imagined this lady on Real Housewives had endured the kind of pain that would kill a lesser woman? She carries herself with such grace...to Andy Cohen and Bravo TV--you got it right with Carole!!

    To anyone and everyone who reads this review...do yourself a favor and read this. In a word, BEAUTIFUL. Thank you, Mrs. Radziwill.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Heartbreaking

    I must applaud Carole for going through all she did in those 5+ years. Her writing was so good that at times I felt like I was there with her. I would read this book over and over again.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I actually read this book twice, something I seldom (actually never) do. The first time I thought the book was mostly about John and Carolyn Kennedy and Carole Radziwell's relationship with them. However, the second time around, it is mostly about Carole, her life as a journalist, and the battle she and her husband fought with his cancer. She knows how weave an emotional thread. I found myself in a relationship with the people in her life, even Lee Radziwell, about whom there was little written.
    Ms. Radziwell was able to elevate the characteristics and personalities of those she held in high esteem (such as John and Carolyn Kennedy and her husband) and subtlely paint a picture of control and coldness in those folks she did not particularly care for (must read to see who they are).
    Again, this is a great book. I know from the housewives of NY she is struggling with her second novel. Probably because her first book was a real account of real people who we all know. The story, more or less unfolded in real life and simply needed to be told. All I can say is I will look forward to the next read, but I'm keeping my expectations in check.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    A loving tribute

    Carole possesses a strength full of love and devotion. I Read this book in 2 days due to it's pages full of an honest depiction of an unfortunate short-lived love story. A compassionate wife and a most dedicated friend; my wish for Carole is a life of peace.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    One The Best Books I Have Read

    I couldn't put it down. I thought it would be just another Kennedy book. I couldn't have been more wrong.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Amazing book.

    I couldnt put this down. So beautifully written. I knew how it ended but I wanted so badly for it to have a different one. The people lost were so deeply loved and it was a priviledge to get a glimpse in to their world. Heartbreaking and searing. I loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Beautifully written. Her heart comes through in a non-cloying, r

    Beautifully written. Her heart comes through in a non-cloying, real way. Relatable as well. So glad my curiousity because of the Real Housewives caused me to buy this book. I am better for having read this treasure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Totally worth reading

    Amazing, touching, insightful and inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Heartbreaking

    A beautifully written account of love and heartbreak. A must read for everyone, you will get lost in the story and not want it to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Everyone has a story hers is not unique

    I saw the author on GMA and decided to buy this book. It is beautifully written, she invites you into her personal world, shares personal thoughts and conversations. But her story is not unique or different from others who have had a family member dying of cancer. I wonder if this would have been published and a best seller had she not be married into this famous family. But she falls short on her story. She is in the perfect position to make a difference. She shows us that cancer crosses all socio-economic classes, but never acknowledges it. She shows us that even Dr. Best of the Best doesn't hold the magic wand, that when SHE is armed with the newest information on the Internet or thru resources at ABC on cancer treatment that it is a personal attack on his doctor's clinical expertise, tho she never acknowledges this. She shows us that even if you are privileged to have the BEST view of NYC from the Sonny von Bülow suite, that even the policital clout of Sen. Ted Kennedy, the outcome was still the same, tho she never acknowledges this. Is it quality of life or quantity? Anthony died from complications of his chemotherapy, not actually the cancer. She needs to open up the private struggle of cancer, take away the stigma one assumes when receiving this news for the 1st time. That one must have done something to deserve this personal burden. This story is incomplete and falls short of delivering a message to those less fortunate than she and her husband. Everyone suffers when one is diagnosed with cancer. Doctors have have a hard time communicating death. I hope that the author can make a difference in all of our lives by telling the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Doesn't add up!

    True, it was a fast and compelling 'read', but it also left me cold--alot of the facts just don't add up! From reading this book,my gut tells me that if her husband hadn't died when he did, they would have soon divorced---I did not feel the love there---and she can't stand 'tragedy whores'---ah, what do you think this book is all about? I would Not recommend this book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    BEAUTIFULLY MOURNFUL

    The writer conveys, beautifully and courageously, her agony, disbelief, sadness, and outrage in the face of tragedy upon tragedy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Great writing and I'm looking forward to her first novel. For F

    Great writing and I'm looking forward to her first novel.

    For FIVE STARS, she could have left out the near LOVE STORY affair - some things don't need to be shared.
    No one wants her to have been perfect, but this smacked of deja vu-ness.
    It also would have been a fuller book if Anthony Radziwill's character had emerged more in words, anecdotes and deeds. We know all the great stuff that JFK, Jr. tried to do to help the world via GEORGE, but what was Anthony's part?
    And, what did Carole and Carolyn do in that direction? Maybe Jack was a Rescue dog?
    The other odd thing is that readers never get the feeling of a Great Falling in Love Spark...and how come Herbert didn't get a final Thank You?
    And, the plane going down sequences are still puzzling - what prompted the plane to start spiraling? It couldn't have been just the turns?
    The author's willingness to be so open with her feelings was both welcome and, at times, astonishing...I wonder if she could write the same book with her husband as the fictional author. How would she have felt knowing he wanted her to die sooner than he wanted to?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Can i get my $ back.

    I was literally on another page and have NO INTEREST in this book. Thank you Tammy

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Wonderful read, I wish it had been longer....

    I honestly could not but this book down. Her writing was mesmerizing. A beautiful story of growing up, love and loss. So well written, I wish it had not ended.

    I highly recommend this lovely book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I really loved this book and look forward to her next one.

    I really loved this book and look forward to her next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8