Customer Reviews for

What Remains of Heaven (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Excellent series

    If you love history AND a good mystery - then this series is for you. Well researched and well written. Step back into Regency England and enjoy the unravelling of a good mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Love this series

    Read the series from the beginning to get the most out it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended Highly

    I love the whole series and this book wasn't as great as the pervious. I honestly dont like the whole Hero Jarvis idea but it makes a great read and I can not wait until the next book to come out. As one reviewer said Sebestian is a mix between Mr. Darcy and James Bond and it is true. I love all the story lines in all the books with the exception of the Hero plot. A must read in the series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Great series, totally into it!


    Great series, totally into it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    well written mystery series--

    well written mystery series--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Highly recommended - well written historical mystery!

    While this may be the fifth book in the series, it is definitely one of my favorites. I have read it three times already! As one reviewer noted, it is good to start with the first book and go from there. Ms. Harris is wonderful She gives great descriptions of things so historical, like Gunter's Tea Room. The characters are unforgetable and I also enjoy the dialogue between Devlin and Hero. Hero is one of my favorite characters. She is always surprising and it is surprising that she surprises Devlin. These books are intriguing also, because all the characters have secrets. We still do not know what has happened to Devlin's mother; what about Tom; is Lord Jarvis going to have a cow???
    And, Napoleon is still at war. The best thing about 2012 right now is the next book! A chapeau! Ms. Harris!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Series

    I would suggest starting with book one so you don't spoil the plot and character development that occurs throughout the books. I had started this series on book three by mistake and could barely wait to return home from my vacation so I could pick up the rest in the series! The lead, Devlin, is a very charming and loveable character. It is so important to not only like the lead character but to want to read more about him. C. S. Harris does an amazing job breathing life into each character-even the minor ones. The murder and mysteries are almost like a backdrop to the characters' lives and this is done flawlessly. The mystery is solved as the characters live their lives. I have too much praise to give this series. I highly recommend each book to anyone who enjoys a mystery set in the 1800s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Keep them coming

    I am in love with these books. The mystery, the intrigue, and the complicated love...keep them coming! Sebastian is my favorite male character is awhile. He has brains, brawns, and a complicated nature. I'm not sure I like the Lady Jarvis story line yet but I can not wait to see where it leads. My only complaint is that I have to wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    A great read

    I really cant wait for the next book. I love the character of Lord Devlin and also Hero Jarvis - who is smart, brave, determined, and clever. And who is not perfect but has all the qualities of someone who can stand up to someone like Devlin. Its a great match. Kat in some ways is just a female Devlin. I started with the 4th book, then the 5th and now reading from the beginning. I hope book 6 is out very soon - for one cant wait to see how things turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to the series!

    A Wonderful addition to the series! A good mystery! Looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    C. S. Harris has written a wonderfully constructed Regency mystery

    In 1812 Sebastian St, Cyr, Viscount Devlin is reestablishing a relationship with his father. Their rift was caused by a secret that came to light leading to the son ending his relationship with his beloved actress Kat Boleyn; whom he intended to marry. Now he wonders if his one night with Hero Jarvis, the daughter of his father's mortal enemy resulted in a child although she refuses to verify it one way or another.

    Escaping his female woes, Sebastian is asked by the Archbishop of Canterbury to investigate the deaths of two men decades apart in an ancient crypt in a church. One of the victims is Sir Nigel, who vanished decades ago. The second corpse is the Bishop of London Francis Prescot, Sir Nigel's younger brother. Sebastian assumes the deaths are connected beyond the sibling link and believes the association harks back to the American Revolution. St. Cyr is taken aback when he finds a tie to his family. His father, Sir Nigel and Lord Jarvis went to the colonies to see if pursing the war would end up in England's triumph.

    Viscount Devlin is a brooding hero in the tradition of Lord Byron as he distrusts everyone starting with his father who has kept a seemingly zillion secrets from him. His investigative methods are similar to that of a twentieth century police detective as he follows clues to wherever they lead. C. S. Harris has written a wonderfully constructed Regency mystery filled with concealment, red herrings, and misunderstanding that keeps the lead protagonist going down wrong lanes, but never giving up.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2