BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What Should I Do with My Life?: The True Story of People Who Answered the Ultimate Question

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring book about finding yourself...

Po Bronson has written quite the inspirational book. It's not like traditional self-help books (which I believe is the section I found it). It doesn't necessarily give you a set of rules or procedures. It tells the story of everyday people and how they found a sense ...
Po Bronson has written quite the inspirational book. It's not like traditional self-help books (which I believe is the section I found it). It doesn't necessarily give you a set of rules or procedures. It tells the story of everyday people and how they found a sense of balance in their lives by trying to do something meaningful while also facing their everyday responsibilities. I found it motivating because it wasn't necessarily about living your dream. It was about people who had dreams, but for one reason or another have been unable to fulfill them in the traditional sense. But while on the journey to their dreams they found other things that were satisfying. It was about living and when you put your whole self into living fully you will lead an incredible life, even if you do not realize your dreams.

posted by NCS on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book for the wealthy entrepreneur, doesn't include many stories of the middle income searching for the answer to the 'ultimate question'

As I read this book, I began to realize who this work was meant to appeal to. The majority of individuals whose stories were documented happened to be those who have made loads and loads of money, enough to feel comfortable with a major life decision or career change. ...
As I read this book, I began to realize who this work was meant to appeal to. The majority of individuals whose stories were documented happened to be those who have made loads and loads of money, enough to feel comfortable with a major life decision or career change. Doctors, lawyers, Wall Street execs and the like. Most had advanced degrees and experienced things most Americans would never dream of but somehow still felt their lives were missing something. It seemed like the author himself came from privledge and chose to interview individuals who came from similar backgrounds. There may have been one story I could relate to in the entire 300 plus page work. Being a 29 year old, college educated individual attempting to return to business school I had hoped the book would tell at least a few stories of middle income individuals like myself. Unfortunately, there are not. I would not recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    The idea of the book is good,but disappointed after reading a fe

    The idea of the book is good,but disappointed after reading a few chapters.definitely not what I expected  ,is one story after story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Reader

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Not just any book!

    When I first glanced at this book, I thought it would be any normal self-help book. I thought there would be a little quiz here and there, places to journal, and a few predominant questions to answer for yourself. I was pleasantly surprised that the focus of this novel was more based on the examples of other people, rather than most books, which tend to be solely about you. I appreciated his creativity and originality while I read. I am a high school senior and I believed that by reading this I could finally answer life¿s toughest question we must all ask ourselves. Unfortunately, I have not answered that question after reading. I am somewhat disappointed because I was depending on the book to tell me what my future held. The stories taught me that no one else could decide for you, you must be strong enough to figure it out on your own. It was refreshing that real people just like me have been successful with their lives and happy with where they are. I loved that Po Bronson told stories of people through out all walks of life. It gave me reassurance because I realized that I don¿t need to be so urgent and anxious for my future. The major themes of this book are to over come fear and confusion to find a larger truth in their lives. This truth differs from person to person but moving past your animosities will help to find out how to live your life. Read this book with no expectations and no dependence, and then it will be enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Good... but not Excellent!

    I picked up this book looking for inspiration on how I could narrow down all the things I want to do with my life. I came not lacking inspiration or motivation, but feeling called to do too many things. This book didn't help. It tried to focus too much on the average person, trying to market itself to the Wal-mart crowd. A lot of people were interviewed but what they found seemed to be lacking somehow. Maybe the truth is one can never find what EXACTLY you want to do OR be ESTATIC about one's life, but that's why I picked up the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Very homogeneous

    I was initially very excited to read this book, and got caught up in the first 50 pages or so. Then the stories and people began to seem very similar, and I lost most of my interest. I agree with a previous reviewer who mentioned that there was a definite lack of cultural diversity. It felt like ninety-five percent of those whose stories made it into the book were people who are or had been in some sort of investment banking business or in the computer tech industry, were white, middle class, and very educated. Po Bronson writes at the beginning of the book that his question is for people of all classes and educational backgrounds, but after reading the whole book, that seemed only lip service to me. I felt that his interview sampling was skewed towards people he could relate to and felt comfortable with, and that he was probably not even aware of this bias. I give the book three stars, however, because I think he deserves credit for coming up with a wonderful idea for a book, and giving us a great question to ponder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    realistic view missing

    The book simply leaves out everyday folks. Not that the ones who were chosen did not have a few minor challenges - they did. It appears those chosen to be highlighted and their stories told were for the most part - in pretty good shape to begin with. What about the 40 to 45 and even 50-year-olds who are right this very minute losing their jobs and wondering how it happened and what can they really do to be happy for the next 40 or so years? Why aren't they protrayed in this circle of choices? We have the kids to feed, to parent and usually a house payment among other things. There are too many books out right now that say do what feels good and what makes you happy -- what about your first obligations: family? A couple of others who go a litle deeper: How to Find Your Mission in Life by Richard N. Bolles and for family concerns through tough times - or any times - Mommy-CEO, by Jodie Lynn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Asks this question mainly of the privileged

    I didn't like this book too much because Bronson only seemed to include Gen X uber-yuppie types who have trouble deciding whether to drive the Lexus or the Benz to work in the morning. Why couldn't he just profile a more realistic group of career thinkers who don't have to stand out in such an eccentric or stylish way? The profiles are still quite interesting, though I found the book to be somewhat shallow in the end. Bronson appears to take on a deeply philosophical subject but then fails to ask the right, probing questions of his subjects, and also fails to more fully develop these characters. Overall, I was quite disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1