Customer Reviews for

What They Do in the Dark

Average Rating 2
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The book takes place over the summer months of 1975. A child sta

The book takes place over the summer months of 1975. A child star, Lallie Paluza, is filming a movie about a young girl’s encounter with a pedophile, which has disastrous consequences. Concurrently, another story is playing out. Two ten or eleven year old schoolgi...
The book takes place over the summer months of 1975. A child star, Lallie Paluza, is filming a movie about a young girl’s encounter with a pedophile, which has disastrous consequences. Concurrently, another story is playing out. Two ten or eleven year old schoolgirls, Pauline and Gemma, from two completely different walks of life, develop and odd relationship which barely resembles friendship. Most of the characters featured, in both narratives, seem severely dysfunctional in some way or to be the product of deviant backgrounds or lifestyles. They have little regard for the consequences of their actions and believe the means justifies the ends. Parental influence, when featured, is almost negligible or negative
Pauline is penniless; she lives in a state of open depravity in a home filled with an odd assortment of relatives and visitors. She is exposed to a lifestyle far beyond her years without the mental or emotional capacity to process it. Her mom is in and out of jail, as a lady of the night. Pauline can be cruel and completely ungovernable. She does as she pleases, when she pleases. She has no guidance and has no moral compass. She seems to have no conscience. She is streetwise and a bully.
Gemma lives with her mom and her mom’s boyfriend, in a good neighborhood with many advantages, but she misses her dad. On the outside, she appears to be living in a healthy, wholesome environment. She is obsessed with her adoration for the child star, Lallie. Under her goody two-shoes personality there lurks a subtle mean or angry core that shows itself with surprising vehemence. She is a seething combination of confused emotions.
This novel is very unsettling. The subject matter that is hinted at, as the story moves back and forth from the movie set to Pauline and Gemma, is often unnerving. Underneath the main storyline the reader may anxiously feel a suspicion that there is a more than a casual relationship between the storyline of Lallie Paluza and that of Gemma and Pauline. About halfway through the novel, the narratives actually intersect for awhile, as the movie crew comes to town to choose extras for the Lallie Paluza movie. As I read, I always had the feeling of an unknown dread, an unspoken violence that was lurking beneath the dialogue.
The storyline in the Gemma/Pauline chapters is very easy to follow and effortlessly holds the readers interest, but the switch to the story about Lallie sometimes feels disjointed and is not always a smooth enough transition to make the reader aware immediately that the venue has changed. Often it is hard to figure out which character is being featured and in what story the character plays the part. That was the weakest part of the novel since it was not as engaging.
I received this book from Goodreads. For a first novel, the author has done an excellent job of putting pen to paper. It is creative and well written. Most of the important characters are well defined and although the reader might not want to picture the scenes because of their nature, the author does a good job of painting them for the imagination.

posted by thewanderingjew on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book is beautifully written. The characters are Completely

This book is beautifully written. The characters are Completely believable. As I read it I had some sort of an idea what might be coming but nothing prepared me for the ending, I actually closed my eyes and had to stop reading for moments. It truly is a shocking and hea...
This book is beautifully written. The characters are Completely believable. As I read it I had some sort of an idea what might be coming but nothing prepared me for the ending, I actually closed my eyes and had to stop reading for moments. It truly is a shocking and heartbreaking ending that will stay with you long after you have finished reading it.

posted by 6212863 on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    The book takes place over the summer months of 1975. A child sta

    The book takes place over the summer months of 1975. A child star, Lallie Paluza, is filming a movie about a young girl’s encounter with a pedophile, which has disastrous consequences. Concurrently, another story is playing out. Two ten or eleven year old schoolgirls, Pauline and Gemma, from two completely different walks of life, develop and odd relationship which barely resembles friendship. Most of the characters featured, in both narratives, seem severely dysfunctional in some way or to be the product of deviant backgrounds or lifestyles. They have little regard for the consequences of their actions and believe the means justifies the ends. Parental influence, when featured, is almost negligible or negative
    Pauline is penniless; she lives in a state of open depravity in a home filled with an odd assortment of relatives and visitors. She is exposed to a lifestyle far beyond her years without the mental or emotional capacity to process it. Her mom is in and out of jail, as a lady of the night. Pauline can be cruel and completely ungovernable. She does as she pleases, when she pleases. She has no guidance and has no moral compass. She seems to have no conscience. She is streetwise and a bully.
    Gemma lives with her mom and her mom’s boyfriend, in a good neighborhood with many advantages, but she misses her dad. On the outside, she appears to be living in a healthy, wholesome environment. She is obsessed with her adoration for the child star, Lallie. Under her goody two-shoes personality there lurks a subtle mean or angry core that shows itself with surprising vehemence. She is a seething combination of confused emotions.
    This novel is very unsettling. The subject matter that is hinted at, as the story moves back and forth from the movie set to Pauline and Gemma, is often unnerving. Underneath the main storyline the reader may anxiously feel a suspicion that there is a more than a casual relationship between the storyline of Lallie Paluza and that of Gemma and Pauline. About halfway through the novel, the narratives actually intersect for awhile, as the movie crew comes to town to choose extras for the Lallie Paluza movie. As I read, I always had the feeling of an unknown dread, an unspoken violence that was lurking beneath the dialogue.
    The storyline in the Gemma/Pauline chapters is very easy to follow and effortlessly holds the readers interest, but the switch to the story about Lallie sometimes feels disjointed and is not always a smooth enough transition to make the reader aware immediately that the venue has changed. Often it is hard to figure out which character is being featured and in what story the character plays the part. That was the weakest part of the novel since it was not as engaging.
    I received this book from Goodreads. For a first novel, the author has done an excellent job of putting pen to paper. It is creative and well written. Most of the important characters are well defined and although the reader might not want to picture the scenes because of their nature, the author does a good job of painting them for the imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    This book is beautifully written. The characters are Completely

    This book is beautifully written. The characters are Completely believable. As I read it I had some sort of an idea what might be coming but nothing prepared me for the ending, I actually closed my eyes and had to stop reading for moments. It truly is a shocking and heartbreaking ending that will stay with you long after you have finished reading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Disgusting

    Please don't buy and/or read this book. There is nothing edifying or redeaming in this book. It will leave you with an awful feeling about all characters involved. A shame that this could pass for any form of entertainment. I really should have just stopped reading it somewhere in the middle. I'm sorry that I didn't.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Worst book I've ever read - cannot believe I spent money on this

    Worst book I've ever read - cannot believe I spent money on this - don't remember where I read a good review but it was absolutely a miserable read! Don't buy it - don't waste time and $$ on it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Read anything else.

    A horrible read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Terrible - Do not buy this book

    I found this book to be extremely boring. I was always wondering when something was ever going to happen. When it finally did at the very end, it was absolutely disgusting and I am very disappointed that I wasted my time reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    BORING, WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY. THE BOOK JUMPS ALL AROUND A

    BORING, WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY. THE BOOK JUMPS ALL AROUND AND SEEMS TO LEAVE A HUGE PART OF THE STORY OUT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Waste of time and money!

    This book started out promising but then spiderwebbed into numerous dead-ends. The ending was disgusting, pointless, and disturbing. Huge disappointment. I kept thinking the storyline would come together and climax and it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    PHOENIX YOU RJRKRKEK

    How could you!!!!!!!!%-3728+kwk+kekeosoqo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Stunk

    I don't ever remember a book that I could not wait til the end. It was absolutely one of the top 10 worst books I ever read. Probably #1. That smell from Pauline, I think it was the story. Wish I could get my gift card back. I can't believe I spent it on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I was so mad that I spent money on this - it was one of the wors

    I was so mad that I spent money on this - it was one of the worst books I've ever read - the ending was completely horrible and didn't even follow the book - very confusing how it was written - a complete waste of my time - I wish I could get my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Interesting

    I did finish reading the whole thing, so it definitely kept my interest. A couple of things, however, disappointed me. Since the story is told from the points of view of different characters, I did get confused one or two times as to which character's story we were seeing. That pulled me out of the tale until it got figured out. The second, I was expecting a more intense story. It just felt a little flat and distant to me. Too many scenes of unhappy characters whining about their unhappy lives. I also expected more detail at the end in regards to the fates and especially feelings of the main characters after their horrible deed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Disappointing

    Although the characters were well written the story was disjointed and boring when not focusing on pauline and gemma. And i felt the ending was completely random. Wish i wouldnt have wasted my time and money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1