Customer Reviews for

What Would Jesus Eat?: The Ultimate Program for Eating Well, Feeling Great, and Living Longer

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Not Nutritionally Sound

    This books lacks valid reference material and it filled more with opinion of Dr. Colbert. Although I found this book moderately interesting, it is not a book that is packed with truths. Too many 'I have no doubt that Jesus...'. For anyone looking for a good book on traditional dieting, try Sally Fallon's Nourishing Traditions, or Rex Russel's 'What the Bible Says about Healthy Living'. To me this book is cashing in on Jesus' name and I question the knowledge of Dr. Colbert.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    Eat What Jesus Ate

    This book is very eye-opening, especially if you are a person who thinks the four food groups are hamburgers, French fries, chocolate, and soft drinks. I knew that Americans did not eat right, but this book really lays down the ugly truth. I read it last year and have not eaten pork, shrimp, or other 'unclean' meats since then (except on two occasions when I didn't realize it until later) I have also drastically cut down on animal protien and replaced it with beans instead. Dr. Colbert makes a solid case, backed by medical, historical, and biblical facts, on why the Mediterrian Diet (which was the diet of Jesus' day) is the healthest in the world. The only problem is that Dr. Colbert infers that if one does not follow the food restrictions in the Old Testament Law, then they are not truely followers of Christ. He makes no mention of the fact that Jesus Himself said that all foods were clean, or of the other verses that show that the food restrictions were ceremonial laws that have nothing to do with one's spirituality. While diet is a topic Christians far too often neglect, it in no way affects their standing before God, unless of course food has become their God. Other then that, it is a great book. I have applied many of its principles to my own life and have seen wonderful results. I used to feel sick all the time and have headaches all the time, but now I feel a whole lot better since I've started eating whole foods. I must warn you that eating healty will mean more time in food prep, and more money for groceries (since whole foods are more expensive than processed foods). It is hard to give up your 'comfort foods', but after awhile you don't miss them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not A Very Practical Book

    This book is not very practical. It would have been easy to eat this way in Biblical times, but not today. Another problem I have with this book is that it recommends that you don't eat certain kinds of seafood, and some of these mentioned are good sources of vital nutrients that you can't get by eating other meats. Also, it fails to mention that the Bible has a passage forbidding Christians from abstaining from any foods(read 1 Timothy 4.1-5).<BR/>Seafood is just as safe as any other meat as long as it isn't eaten raw or imported from a country with a poor seafood inspection program.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    best detailed book on eating right through and like Jesus

    this book will give you better understanding on what foods God really intended for us to eat and why. this is a MUST read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Dr. Colbert provides some excellent ideas for a well balanced di

    Dr. Colbert provides some excellent ideas for a well balanced diet that appears to to be nutritionally sound. We can become legalistic about what we believe Jesus would or would not do &amp; although true, Jesus was about His Father's business,  we must always use wisdom when taking care of these earthly bodies via eating the right foods in moderation, so we're healthy enough to spread the gospel of Jesus to the ends of he Earth. I thank God  for people like Dr. Colbert who are willing to share their knowledge of what the Lord has taught them through the years. I very much disagree w/one of the reviews on here that  this book is &quot;cashing in on he name of Jesus.&quot; After all, there is always an overhead cost of editing, publishing, &amp; sacrificing ones time &amp; labor.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I really love this book you will too

    When I first started to read this book I was excited the most respected part I thought was when a particular food was suggested it was also shown where in the bible it was referenced I am a truly happy camper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Excellent book!!

    Excellent book for learning the entire "Law of Love" which Jesus taught while he was here on earth. These teachings go hand in hand with other aspects of the law on karma and reincarnation which we learn about in the book of Matthew.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Is this really Biblical???

    How does this match up with Matthew 7:25-34? Did Jesus actually walk 'everwhere' of course not he also traveled by boat read Matt 8:23, 9:1..what other untruths can be found between the pages of this book? The harvest is plentiful but the labors are few.... In 2 Timothy 4:2, Pauls chargers believers to...Preach the Word, be prepared in season and out of season. For the kingdom of heaven is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit Romans 14:17. How does that pair with the 'ultimate Program for Eating Well, Feeling Great, and Living Longer? Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and mutual edification. Do not destroy the work of God for the sake of food Romans 14:19. So instead of wondering What Would Jesus Eat or WWJD, do what Jesus did, he was about his Father's business, he did not plan daily meals for his diet. Instead he planned daily encounters to share the gospel with others, model that instead of this authors plan for your eating. That's the true ultimate program for every believer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Catchy title; good advice

    <p> WWJD. Famous initials in Christian circles. Colbert has taken this well know acronym and made it: WWJE. Maybe this approach will catch the attention of Christians. </p> <p> Colbert concludes from the Biblical evidence that Jesus ate fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and fish, and He didn¿t eat foods high in saturated and hydrogenated fats, sweets, and processed and refined foods. He also notes that as an orthodox Jew, Jesus would have followed OT guidelines of ¿clean¿ vs. ¿unclean¿ meats, and there are sound health reasons for doing so. </p> <p> Colbert is correct in noting that Jesus was not a vegetarian, as some have tried to claim. He notes that Jesus ate fish, along with lamb, at least at Passover. And Colbert notes that fish is a very healthy food. However, there are vegetarian sources of the healthy fatty acids found in fish. Colbert mentions olive oil, but flax seeds, walnuts, and other nuts and seeds are also very good sources of these healthy fats. </p> <p> Exercise is another important factor in owns health. And in this case, WWJD would be a good question. Jesus most certainly did not follow a sedentary lifestyle. As Colbert correctly notes, Jesus walked everywhere, and we would do good to follow His example. </p> <p> So overall, I think Colbert has found some good health advice in asking WWJE. However, he is a little too strong in recommending a ¿low-fat¿ diet. Some fatty foods are in fact very healthy, such as nuts and seeds. </p> <p> I used a different approach in looking to the Bible for nutritional advice in my book <i>Creationist Diet: Nutrition and God-given Foods According to the Bible</i>. I do discuss WWJE, but I focus more on the early chapters of Genesis. And by doing so, I come to somewhat different conclusions than Colbert comes to. So my book would give the reader a different perspective on what the Bible teaches in regards to diet. </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1