Customer Reviews for

What Your Doctor May Not Tell You about Premenopause: Balance Your Hormones and Your Life from Thirty to Fifty

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Struggled for years, before finding this book! Good info on meno, too!!

Like many women in their 40's, I was struggling with perimenopause and the effects of prolonged stress on my body. Frequent and heavy monthlies, hormonal swings I didn't understand, and a compromised immune system were just some of the problems. This went on for years...
Like many women in their 40's, I was struggling with perimenopause and the effects of prolonged stress on my body. Frequent and heavy monthlies, hormonal swings I didn't understand, and a compromised immune system were just some of the problems. This went on for years and affected every aspect of my life. Although my own GYN did recognize the depletion of stress hormones in my adrenals and gave me very good advice on how to deal with some of this problem naturally, a progesterone deficiency did not occur to him, nor did taking herbs to strengthen it. After moving, I went to a new doctor who not only misdiagnosed me completely, but tried to give me PremPro, which would have made things worse! Fortunately, I recognized on my own that I didn't have an estrogen deficiency from the symptoms I was having and found this book. I saw myself in so many pages! These two beautiful people who cared enough to write it steered me in directions where I could help myself, when no one else would or could. I got saliva tests for my hormones and found out just exactly what was wrong with me. They explain the vital role progesterone has in our bodies... I really had no idea and would not be a whole person, today, if I had not found this. I would like to add that I do not necessarily agree with everything stated in here 100%. He recommends taking no estrogen supplements, at all. But I have found that, now that I am actually in the menopausal state, taking phytoestrogens (red clover blossom, black cohosh and soy) along with the progesterone cream, seems to work the best for me. (I would also highly recommend taking cold pressed flax seed oil. I can't remember whether that was stated in the book or not, but fyi.) This book is not just for women with perimenopause, menopausal women and those with hysterectomies are also addressed throughout - it contains valuable information for you, too. On the whole, I don't know what I would have done without this book!!

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Learned The Hard Way - Be Careful

Dr. Lee's book convinced me to try natural progesterone, and it was one of the worst decisions ever. After only one month of use, I developed blood clots in my legs, and became so ill that it has taken over six months to recover. Progesterone cream builds up ...
Dr. Lee's book convinced me to try natural progesterone, and it was one of the worst decisions ever. After only one month of use, I developed blood clots in my legs, and became so ill that it has taken over six months to recover. Progesterone cream builds up in your tissues over time and can make you very, very sick. Do not believe it when you read that there are no side effects and it is impossible to overdose. Know that the progesterone you're putting on your skin, although 'natural', is capable of having all the same effects as the progesterone in birth control pills and RU-486 ~ in other words, you're using something with serious dangers connected to it. Please, please be careful. Get Barbara Seaman or Ellen Grant, MD's books for better information.

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Struggled for years, before finding this book! Good info on meno, too!!

    Like many women in their 40's, I was struggling with perimenopause and the effects of prolonged stress on my body. Frequent and heavy monthlies, hormonal swings I didn't understand, and a compromised immune system were just some of the problems. This went on for years and affected every aspect of my life. Although my own GYN did recognize the depletion of stress hormones in my adrenals and gave me very good advice on how to deal with some of this problem naturally, a progesterone deficiency did not occur to him, nor did taking herbs to strengthen it. After moving, I went to a new doctor who not only misdiagnosed me completely, but tried to give me PremPro, which would have made things worse! Fortunately, I recognized on my own that I didn't have an estrogen deficiency from the symptoms I was having and found this book. I saw myself in so many pages! These two beautiful people who cared enough to write it steered me in directions where I could help myself, when no one else would or could. I got saliva tests for my hormones and found out just exactly what was wrong with me. They explain the vital role progesterone has in our bodies... I really had no idea and would not be a whole person, today, if I had not found this. I would like to add that I do not necessarily agree with everything stated in here 100%. He recommends taking no estrogen supplements, at all. But I have found that, now that I am actually in the menopausal state, taking phytoestrogens (red clover blossom, black cohosh and soy) along with the progesterone cream, seems to work the best for me. (I would also highly recommend taking cold pressed flax seed oil. I can't remember whether that was stated in the book or not, but fyi.) This book is not just for women with perimenopause, menopausal women and those with hysterectomies are also addressed throughout - it contains valuable information for you, too. On the whole, I don't know what I would have done without this book!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    You CAN believe all the good things you've read about natural progesterone cream

    I was reading this book for information. I approach all 'new' cures with skepticism. Not only have I experienced better health, friends and family have as well. I was telling a friend about this book. She had not read this book and was already taking progesterone cream. This is her story. She had been bleeding almost constantly and had been having a non-stop head ache for months. The doctors were considering hysterectomy. She said she had done some reading on the internet and started taking the cream. the bleeding stoped within 3 days and she hasn't had a headache since. My daughter's (27 yrs old) doctors removed her uterus to cure endometriosis. needless to say the endometriosis returned along with pain. Now they want take her ovaries. She also has horrific headaches due to hornone imbalance. I suggested she try the progesterone cream for at least 6 months before having the radical surgery. She is now almost pain free and her headaches are all but gone. No side effects, no blood clots.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Learned The Hard Way - Be Careful

    Dr. Lee's book convinced me to try natural progesterone, and it was one of the worst decisions ever. After only one month of use, I developed blood clots in my legs, and became so ill that it has taken over six months to recover. Progesterone cream builds up in your tissues over time and can make you very, very sick. Do not believe it when you read that there are no side effects and it is impossible to overdose. Know that the progesterone you're putting on your skin, although 'natural', is capable of having all the same effects as the progesterone in birth control pills and RU-486 ~ in other words, you're using something with serious dangers connected to it. Please, please be careful. Get Barbara Seaman or Ellen Grant, MD's books for better information.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Dr. Lee has THE definitive word on natural progesterone

    The pre-menopause (perimenopause) can be the worst of the menopausal process. It's when hot flashes and night sweats are at their worst, not to mention those wild mood swings. Natural progesterone is offered as a remedy, and Dr. Lee's books continue to be the definitive word in the field of natural progesterone. The women in his medical practice led him to investigate and, then, become a proponent of natural progesterone. He approaches it from a medical point of view, yet includes numerous actual patient cases to illustrate his belief in natural progesterone. Dr. Lee explores the theory of estrogen dominance and his experiences with how natural progesterone helped his patients. Although he beats the drum loudly in favor of natural progesterone, he also mentions any down-sides to this treatment. For authors such as myself who write about menopause (peri and post), Dr. Lee's books are a bountiful reference source. It's understandable, of course, that much of the information in this book is the same as in his book aimed at women past the pre-menopausal period. Whether you do or don't subscribe to his stance on natural progesterone, Dr. Lee's books are a worthwhile read. Be informed, ladies, about what's going on in your body!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    A Must-read for Women 35 years of Age or Older

    I recently purchased this book, and I am excited about all the new information that I've been learning. I've begun quoting things I've learned to friends and family members. In fact, I'm online again to purchase a copy for my sister, we're 37 and 38 years of age. I found myself described in numerous excerpts from the book. For any woman who is at least 35 years of age, stressed with all the demands of work, family and/or school (and what woman isn't), I would recommend reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    LIFE SAVER

    This is a wonderful guide to young women experiencing early menopause symptoms. I am 35, trying to conceive and was told I am in premenopause. After awaking from the shock, I bought this book and have been using the cream they suggest. Wow. What a difference it has made in the first month!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Ladies Please buy it!

    I have bought a copy for myself and one for my sister. This is one of the best books you will read on the subject, doesn't treat the reader like they are unable to understand the subject. Explains why you need to keep all your organs intact! Please give a copy to your GP maybe they could learn something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Important Information For Women 30 to 50!!

    This book is a must read for women, ages 30 to 50. I found myself described in a few different places in this book and for the first time found an explanation for what is happening and changing in my body! If you need a different approach to solving health problems than your conventional doctor is giving you, if you don't understand the changes happening in your body, or if you need sensible solutions for symtoms,etc. this book will provide an alternative to what you are going to hear in most GYN's offices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Birth Control takers - a must read (esp. Depo Provera!)

    Oh, my gosh! Finally I have found a book that answers all my questions and explains why my body has gotten so messed up on birth control (depo provera)! It gives answers and doesn't waste your time in giving you information that you need to help your body. It gives pointers and suggestions that are not only based on fact and detailed scientific information, but it's written by actual medical doctors who are not loopy and know what they are talking about! I've taken the advice for what applies to me and have a total change in my life! I've recommended it to friends and family, too, and it has changed their lives as well! (literally) It's a definite must have - and I'm only 26! So, it's not just for people in their 30's or 40's or older. Others who it has helped have been from 19 to 40, so I know it's for all us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    Husbands and Fathers- Do you want to help your wives and daughters?

    Thank you, Dr. John R. Lee, MD and Jesse Hanley, MD. This book has been A LIFE SAVER! Husbands, if you truely desire to help the women in your life, then this book is the MUST READ FOR YOU. Husbands and fathers, help us (women) to help ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Excellent Book

    Jesse is an excellent practioner, a sweet and lovely women. I have had the honor to know her. Jesse's book on perimenopause is truly a gift to all. Her natural therapies for HRT are all very helpful in balancing the hormones. I wish her well on her quest of helping women get balanced, happy and ageless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    Excellent Book

    This is an excellent book! Every women should read it. I hope Dr. Lee sells 50 million copies!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2