Customer Reviews for

What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Fibromyalgia: The Revolutionary Treatment That Can Reverse the Disease

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    It works!

    I am a nurse and have suffered from fibromyalgia syndrome for nearly 60 years with many progressing subtle and not so subtle distressing and debilitating symptoms. After reading Dr St Amand's book, I gave it a try with all I had, fibrofog and all. With great care to eliminating salicylates, bioflavonoids, etc... as prescribed in the book, and starting on the 'protocol', I find myself cycling and improving with each passing month. I feel that for me, this is the most helpful, critical regimen and protocol to recover from fibromyalgia. It is IMPERATIVE to be COMPLIANT as to avoiding the offending culprits, otherwise the protocol 'and over the counter medication' won't work at all. The website offered in the book is a great help with the regimen. This book and the author's website in the book, are a must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    A very helpful book

    I found this book to be just what I was looking for to make me more aware of the condition I was being tested for. Very easy to read and good information. It made me feel much more comfortable being able to pin symptoms down that I was having.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I came across this book in the library and decided to take a look at it. I thought it was probably another scam, but once I started the book I found it extremely interesting. I must have finished it in 3 or 4 days. It explains so much about the various symptoms of fibromyalgia and offers hope for a legitimate, if unproven treatment. Through joining the online protocol support group, I have found numerous people who have had success on this protocol. I hightly recommend this for sufferers or family members of people who have fibro.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    This definitely works!

    I've been on the protocol for a year and a half. I just had a check up with Dr. St. Amand last week and I've improved so much on the protocol that he said if I were to just walk in off the street and ask to be evaluated he would not be able to give me a definitive diagnosis of fibromyalgia. When I first started with him I had 63 trigger points and I'm down to 27! While I still experience the cycling/symptoms they are much better than before. My children have it also and are on the protocol and they are improving. Some people think this is nonsense but there is no doubt in my mind it's working because I'm seeing and feeling the results. Those that aren't willing to try this don't realize the quality of life they are missing out on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Very Informative!

    Having suffered many years with this illness, I was looking for something that made sense and explained why my muscles hurt so much. Now I know! It was a good read with explanations a lay person could understand. I started the treatment plan and have seen some slow but real improvements. I would recommend it to any sufferer. The authors also have an online support group to answer the many questions that pop up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Interesting.

    Worth a look for any person that is struggling with this terrible condition. If you have back pain too, I can recommend "The Multifidus Back Pain Solution." It's based on research and treatment consist of a simple exercise you do at home for your multifidus muscle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    I am getting well!

    I saw 22 doctors and an entire team at Mayo Clinic. No one could help me. They said my problems were due to 'being a woman, having 4 children, or menopause'. When finally diagnosed with fibromyalgia, they still couldn't help me, I should just learn to live with the pain. I KNEW there had to be something that I could do to get well. The answer is here, in this book by Dr. Paul St. Amand. I am now on guaifenesin (it's not herbal, it's an ingredient found in Robitussen, and is safe & approved by the FDA). I knew I was getting well when my 8 year old said 'mom, this is how you used to be'! It works, try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    The Journey To Wellness

    This is the miracle book of all books. This book is well written, easy to understand and the answer to Fibromylgia recovery by utilizing Guaifenesin. You will see that you are not crazy, you are not a hypochondriac and that you do have a legitimate illness despite all tests that were negative. You will feel vindicated after all your many trips to many doctors who could not tell you why you ached, felt tired, were dizzy, had headaches, IBS symptoms, cognative problems and a myriad of symptoms that you have had over many months or years or a lifetime. I have been on Guaifenesin for 26 months and am enjoying a wonderful life on my journey to recovery. A miracle indeed considering I was bedridden for most of 1998 before Guaifenesin. I have had Fibromylgia all my life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    STOP SUFFERING AND START LIVING

    If you have FM, you have to read this book. I bought this book, read it and within a couple of weeks I was sitting in Dr. St. Amand's office. I've been following the protocol he outlines in this book for 2 months now and already do MORE than I could do a year ago. Thank you Dr. St. Amand, Nurse Claudia & my fellow guai'ers for giving me my hope, health and life back!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    True Fibromyalgia Reversal-the only one

    This book is an absolute must for anyone with fibromyalgia. It includes a detailed accounting of how you can actually reverse the disease, not cover it up with drugs or other treatments. The medication has no side effects and is very inexpensive. Included in the book is detailed information on diet recommendations, products to avoid and internet links to a support group which is very active and supportive to anyone wishing to find out more information on this protocol. The authors regularly read the email and answer pertinent questions. You can't get any better help than from the book and the mailing list support group.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Offers Real Help for FMS Sufferers

    Most of the books I have read offer advice on how to manage the symptoms of FMS, but no real insight into the cause or possible treatment. This book is a real breath of fresh air. The description of the symptoms and cause are clear and easily understood, the guaifenisen treatment protocol is explicit enough that the committed individual can get help with minimal reliance on their care provider. I used this book to help obtain a guai rx from my doctor and followed Dr. St. Amand's protocol. Nine months later, I can honestly say I have my life back. My doctor is so impressed with my progress that he is now recommending the book to his other FMS patients! Thank you, Dr. St. Amand and Claudia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    BUY THIS BOOK NOW!

    I bought this book on a Saturday night and I was seeing a Dr. and getting the recommended treatment by the following Saturday. It is a great book with a great premise. The protocol involves a very simple medication called guaifenesin and there is a support group on the internet who will help you every step of the way. If you are like others with fibromyalgia you are discouraged, sick, and at the end of your rope. This book will give you hope. I promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    There is life after Fibromyalgia!

    This is very informative book for anyone that has been diagnosed or suspects the diagnosis of fibromyalgia. I gained a lot of knowledge even though I have been using the subscribed treatment protocol for many years. THIS PROTOCOL WORKS! Please check out this information and don't let anyone tell you that you have to suffer with bandaid cures if you have this disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1