Customer Reviews for

What Your Doctor May Not Tell You about Menopause: The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Honest approach to growing older

Finally, someone wrote a book about menopause thats not pushing drugs for a cure! I found this old used, well read book at a book trader, and decided to give it a try. So many doctors now days want to push medication, when there is no need for such dangerious pills. Y...
Finally, someone wrote a book about menopause thats not pushing drugs for a cure! I found this old used, well read book at a book trader, and decided to give it a try. So many doctors now days want to push medication, when there is no need for such dangerious pills. Yes go through menopause NATURALLY, like our mothers did.
This book was well written and informative on the life-changing women will go through. Thank you Dr John R Lee for an HONEST approach to a natural women occurance that we all must go through.

posted by 1138836 on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Misleading advertisment

The advertisement you have is very misleading. I ordered this ebook accidently, I wanted a paperback. But, you have a picture of a book, not a computer file. This is extremely misleading. It should clearly state on the ad 'This is an ebook, only downloadable through...
The advertisement you have is very misleading. I ordered this ebook accidently, I wanted a paperback. But, you have a picture of a book, not a computer file. This is extremely misleading. It should clearly state on the ad 'This is an ebook, only downloadable through Acrobat'. Your add says available for download; it doesn't state that it is only downloadable. Also, since I do not like ebooks, I didn't know about the no return policy for ebooks since I did not read that section of the website. This policy should also be state on the add. 'This is an ebook and there is a no retun policy or This is an ebook and all ebook sales are final'

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    An Honest approach to growing older

    Finally, someone wrote a book about menopause thats not pushing drugs for a cure! I found this old used, well read book at a book trader, and decided to give it a try. So many doctors now days want to push medication, when there is no need for such dangerious pills. Yes go through menopause NATURALLY, like our mothers did.
    This book was well written and informative on the life-changing women will go through. Thank you Dr John R Lee for an HONEST approach to a natural women occurance that we all must go through.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    A LIFESAVING/LIFECHANGING BOOK

    This easy to read book explains in easy to understand language about the delicate balance of a woman's hormones. The book is not just about menopause, it's packed with information on many aspects of women's health. When I finished the book, I shouted out loud, 'Why didn't someone tell me about this before now?' Every woman should read and re-read this book. It has vital information for women's health. Information that I believe most doctors are unaware of. The use of Natural Progesterone cream has changed my life. Normal mentrual cycles, no more migraines, etc.... Amazing health benefits that my Doctors could not figure out. I have purchased over 30 copies of this book to share with family and friends. I even gave a copy to my doctor who is now recommending natural progesterone cream to some of his other patients. BUY THIS BOOK TODAY, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Relief The Very First Day!

    I was on a Medical Leave of Absence from work because the mysterious symptoms had gotten unbearable. Although I am a medical lab scientist at a major medical center, my physicians are still quite clueless about the subject and never even diagnosed my premenopause. With time off to research my symptoms of extreme fatigue, aches, inability to concentrate, I came upon Dr. Lee's Book. A sympathetic friend gave me some natural progesterone cream. It was stunning that 6-8 hours! later I felt better than in the past few months. The next morning I awoke without the alarm clock. The book reviews everything I learned in college as a major in biology and chemistry and really tied it all together. Truly, the conventional highly educated medical establishment have forgotten the basic lessons. I am now a major advocate for natural progesterone to every woman with ears. I love my life. That is my wish for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Dr. Lee is the Natural Progesterone expert

    Without question, Dr. Lee's books continue to be the definitive word in the field of natural progesterone. The women in his medical practice led him to investigate and, then, become a proponent of natural progesterone. He approaches it from a medical point of view, yet includes numerous actual patient cases to illustrate his belief in natural progesterone. Dr. Lee explores the theory of estrogen dominance and his experiences with how natural progesterone helped his patients. Although he beats the drum loudly in favor of natural progesterone, he also mentions any down-sides to this treatment. For authors such as myself who write about menopause (peri and post), Dr. Lee's books are a bountiful reference source. It's understandable, of course, that much of the information in this book is the same as in his book aimed at perimenopausal women. Whether you do or don't subscribe to his stance on natural progesterone, Dr. Lee's books are a worthwhile read. Be informed, ladies, about what's going on in your body!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    Done with Estrogen

    This book is truly eye-opening! I have struggled with estrogen in every form -- pills, patches, creams, rings -- for ten years -- thinking I was doing something good for myself and making my Dr.'s happy. No more!! Please, ladies -- get this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS The BOOK TO READ!!!

    I'm 25 y/o not menopause, but I've been suffering with HYPOTHYROID for over a year already. If you can't stop the hair loss ( you can stop it, just read the book), or you think smth wrong with your hormones, consider estrogen dominance first, then hypothyroidism. I'm so happy I read this book and feel so great, till the end of my days will i be thankful to the author. And now I can help my mam too.
    especially read p137 and p151.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Eye opening book!

    I feel the best I've felt in years since following the advice about BHT in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    A true gift for all women!

    This book clears up any questions you'll have about what to do once your periods cease, and is also a must read for those women who've already made the transition and want optons other than HRT. I'm no longer worried about making this decision, thanks to Dr. Lee & Ms. Hopkins! In fact, I've recently started my thrid cycle of progesterone cream, and I feel fantastic. I was having some of the typical pre-menopausal symptoms that I now know were a signal from my body that I was estrogen dominant and progesterone deficient. This book is a ture bless to those of us making this transition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Misleading advertisment

    The advertisement you have is very misleading. I ordered this ebook accidently, I wanted a paperback. But, you have a picture of a book, not a computer file. This is extremely misleading. It should clearly state on the ad 'This is an ebook, only downloadable through Acrobat'. Your add says available for download; it doesn't state that it is only downloadable. Also, since I do not like ebooks, I didn't know about the no return policy for ebooks since I did not read that section of the website. This policy should also be state on the add. 'This is an ebook and there is a no retun policy or This is an ebook and all ebook sales are final'

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    DEPRESSION NO MORE!!!

    I struggled with depression my entire life - in addition to many other hormone/PMS related physical and emotional problems. Natural progesterone, as recommended by Dr. Lee, lifted my depression within one week. I now feel like I always imagined a 'normal' person would feel. I suspected that progesterone would help me because I felt wonderful during my second and third trimesters of pregnancies and during nursing (high natural progesterone times). I went to a reproductive endocrinologist who dashed my hopes and told me that progesterone would not help me (I think he was referring to synthetic progesterone studies). Thank God I found Dr. Lee's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    A must read for every doctor

    This book has life changing and saving information for every woman. Dr Lee presents information that can no longer be overlooked by 'mainstream' medicine. For two years now, this information has changed the lives of many of my female patients and has changed the way I prescribe hormones. I continue to be pleased with the results of Natural Progesterone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Excellent!!!! Everyone shouse read this book!

    Do you suffer from PMS, osteorporosis, menopausal symptoms, hot flashes, etc? Are you concerned about breast cancer? Then read this book. Dr. Lee gives invaluable information on how to treat these symptoms, disorders and diseases. Buy one for yourself and then buy several for your friends and family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    This is a Must-Read for every woman!

    Dr. Lee is so forthright in his information. I appreciate being given the opportunity to make an informed choice concerning my own hormonal health. Using the information in this book, a woman will be equipped to handle all the changes in her body that come with age. I was amazed by Dr. Lee's explanation of our bones, osteoporosis, and the potential for rebuilding bones with the use of progesterone. Ladies, don't miss this one. It will revolutionize the way you deal with so-called 'female' health problems. Blessings and good success to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    LIVE SAVER!! A MUST BUY AND MUST READ!!!!

    I am so thankful to Lee and Hopkins for writing this book. It has been a life saver and a relationship saver! I think doctors should have to read his books and then they should hand them out to their patients that suffer from peri-menopause and menopause!
    So many questions answered and easy to read!
    Thanks Dr. Lee and Ms. Hopkins!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    NATURAL progesterone therapy

    I am almost finished with this book, and know that natural progesterone therapy is for me. Dr. John Lee explains in detail how to start feeling better. Having breast cancer almost 2 years ago, I want to try and protect myself as much as I can. Women, read as much as you can to educate yourself about your health. Then let your doctor know what you want, and what you think is best for you! Dr.Lee Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2