Customer Reviews for

What a Ghoul Wants: A Ghost Hunter Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this series!!!

From the first to the last (#7) I have found Victoria Laurie's Ghost Hunter Mystery Series exremely entertaining. The characters bring mystery, humor and a touch of romance to some very perilous paranormal investigations. The books have evolved into very intelligent and...
From the first to the last (#7) I have found Victoria Laurie's Ghost Hunter Mystery Series exremely entertaining. The characters bring mystery, humor and a touch of romance to some very perilous paranormal investigations. The books have evolved into very intelligent and complex imaginative writing. The last installment does leave you with a slight cliffhanger in the personal life of MJ Holliday which, in my opinion, was not as prominent in the other books as this one. I look forward to see what happens next!

posted by Lacey68 on February 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ghol

No actual book. IT STINKS

posted by 16930821 on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Love this series!!!

    From the first to the last (#7) I have found Victoria Laurie's Ghost Hunter Mystery Series exremely entertaining. The characters bring mystery, humor and a touch of romance to some very perilous paranormal investigations. The books have evolved into very intelligent and complex imaginative writing. The last installment does leave you with a slight cliffhanger in the personal life of MJ Holliday which, in my opinion, was not as prominent in the other books as this one. I look forward to see what happens next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it! I can't wait for the next one! I have enjoyed the whole series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Fun Read

    This is a fun series to read - lots of twists and turns and laughs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Check this author out

    This entire series is funny, romantic and a bit on the scary side. If you love ghost stories with a twist, you will love this book and the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Ghol

    No actual book. IT STINKS

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    WOW! A MUST READ!

    This one had me on the edge of my seat! Always love her books & this one did not disappoint! She just keeps topping the previous installment. This is my (new) favorite so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Usually M.J, Heath, Gilley, Gopher, Meg, Kim and John end up de

    Usually M.J, Heath, Gilley, Gopher, Meg, Kim and John end up dealing with ghosts that have severe issues but nothing they have done up to this point would have them prepared for what they deal with in this book. Besides Ghost Busting they also are dealing with a serial killer, who seems to be targeting men.

    This book had so much suspense and action and one severely ticked off ghost who is out to collect as many souls as possible chaining them to her. When M.J and Heath end up in the hospital M.J. decides that they need to free the souls attached to this evil ghost.

    They also end up solving the mysterious murders with the help of Clarence a ghost who was killed by someone other than the ghost.

    I love this series going back to see how the gang is doing and watching M.J's relationship with Heath in this one Gilley gets a love interest how long it lasts is anyone's guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    In Laurie¿s paranormal mystery novel, Kidwella Castle in northe

    In Laurie’s paranormal mystery novel, Kidwella Castle in northern Wales is the destination for M.J. Holliday and her crew of ghost hunters as they prepare to investigate the reported haunting of the Grim Widow—a deadly ghost who allegedly drowns unsuspecting guests in the nearby moat. Their cable TV show, Ghoul Getters, demands great footage of the haunting even as fear ripples through the workers once it becomes clear that the two most recent victims had help from the living before the ghost finished them off. The local authorities suspect a serial killing duo, but M.J. isn’t convinced. To investigate thoroughly, M.J. will need to go deep into the castle and dig up any and all buried secrets that might be confined to those dark depths.

    Lots of paranormal chills and thrills coupled with healthy doses of fun and romance. A great installment to the A Ghost Hunter Mystery series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the 7th book in the Ghost Hunter Mystery series by Victo

    This is the 7th book in the Ghost Hunter Mystery series by Victoria Laurie. I have been reading Victoria Laurie's books since the second book in her Abby Cooper Psychic Eye series came out. I will admit that I prefer the Abby Cooper series just a bit more than the Ghost Hunter series, but both series have been on my must read list.

    In this story, MJ and the crew are investigating a haunted castle that has been turned into a hotel. Gillie, her cousin and best friend since childhood has a bad feeling and throws a tantrum about not wanting to get off the plane at the very start of the book. When they finally get to the castle, their first nights sleep is disturbed by ghostly means followed by a murder and near death of MJ's fellow medium and boyfriend Heath. All this is topped with the pressure to get good footage for their tv show or it will be cancelled. This proves to be one of their toughest cases yet.

    I hate to admit this, but I am getting really tired of Gilley's whining. At first it was kind of cute. But 7 books in, and I can't understand why MJ hasn't booted him in the ass. And Gopher, the producer of the show has become just a bit to mercenary for my taste. I am really hoping that with the conclusion of this book, that it will begin to head in a new direction. Because just like the 3 year old Gilley reminds me of, I am about to put this series into a time out. 

    I am giving this book 2 stars on Goodreads. I really wanted to like it, I just think it is time for the series to either move in another direction or change some characters around. There were several points in the book, I felt like, "Gee, didn't I read this already?" If this series doesn't get a fresh infusion soon, the stagnation may kill it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best

    This book was one of the best in the series. I truely loved the plot and all the characters introduced and of course the already highly loved characters. MJ is a hoot and even though at first I wasn't a fan of the switch to Heath as a boyfriend, I am one hundred percent on that band wagon now. I do think they complement each other very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I haven't read it yet.  I preordered it months ago and it still

    I haven't read it yet.  I preordered it months ago and it still appears not to be available for my Nook.  So why does it appear to be available on the website?  I have been looking forward to reading it sinceDecember...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Awesome!

    This is second best book in this serise! Gilley is funnyer then ever !M.J stronger then ever! The best book series in the world!! So read it!! Like if you agree
    ~DV

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    2/21/13

    2/21/13 While the story is rivetting, the character of Gilly and Gopher have become extremely annoying. Gil is so flaming gay that he has become a laughing-stock. Gopher is just heartless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I've read every book in the series and I think this is the best

    I've read every book in the series and I think this is the best so far. There are some really spooky parts and the story comes together nicely in the end. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Best Ghoul book yet

    Loved this story. Very pleased with the writing. Couldn't put it down. Can' t wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Wow!

    Best one yet! It's was so good I did not want to put it down and I LOVE that in a book! Victoria is an awesome writer and really brings the characters to life. You feel their struggle, happiness and annoyance etc.. You can really visualize the surroundings and what the ghosts/ghouls look like. If you haven't read any books in this series I highly recommend starting with the first one. You will NOT be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I want more between Heath & M.J.!

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    *Beware of possible Spoilers*

    What a Ghoul Wants is the seventh installment of Victoria Laurie’s fun series about a group of ghost hunters that go from location to location filming for their TV show, Ghoul Getters. While looking for spooks, they stumble upon various mysteries begging to be solved. Its Ghost Hunters meets Sherlock Holmes; an interesting concept for a series of books that I just couldn’t resist!

    In this installment, M.J., Heath, and company have traveled to Wales to investigate Kidwellah Castle, known to be haunted by the Grim Widow, who drowns people in the castle’s surrounding moat. While the crew is there, bodies start showing up floating in the moat leaving the crew to wonder if the legends are true or if there is something even more sinister afoot.

    First let me start off by saying that this is the first of the Ghost Hunter Mysteries that I have read. I was concerned that I’d be lost starting so late in the series, but I’m happy to report that wasn’t the case with this book. I felt like this truly was book one and it didn’t seem like I lost anything starting so late in the series. The author explains everything clearly and it was easy to understand the dynamics between characters and what everybody’s role was in the story.

    I found the characters to be fun and engaging; especially Gilley, although he can get annoying at times, as he plays the scaredy-cat of the group. You will often see him shrieking like a girl and he constantly has to be convinced to do things. But the friendship between him and M.J. is undeniable and brings a little charm to the story.

    I liked M.J. and Heath, but I would like to see more of them romantically speaking. Everything is about the case they’re working on and you don’t get to see anything behind the scenes. For example, they mentioned going to town and getting kicked out of pubs for the things they were trying to do ‘under the table’. I would have liked to have been present for one of the pubs where we could live through them and can see the interaction between the couple instead of M.J. just telling us that they got kicked out. Laurie could have detailed one incident and then had M.J. tell us how many more bars they got kicked out of before giving up and going back to the castle. I just want to feel their love a little more than I currently do and I think we just need to see them having fun together to accomplish that.

    “I’m not quite sure which scout troop Heath belonged to, but it certainly wasn’t the “I will totally honor my previous promise of no hanky-panky in the shower” troop.”

    I found the storyline of What a Ghoul Wants to be interesting and I had many theories about the dead bodies that were stacking up, and several of them were partially right, but I never got it 100% correct, and I wouldn’t have wanted to as it would have made the story boring.

    Overall I enjoyed the story. It was good, but I kept waiting for that moment where something happened to throw me over the edge to loving this book, but it didn’t happen. But I liked the book nonetheless and would be interested in reading the next installment due out in January 2014.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2