Customer Reviews for

What a Wicked Earl Wants

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun read! Andrew (Bell) and Laura will keep you laughing

    What a fun read! Andrew (Bell) and Laura will keep you laughing and even had me tear up toward the end. Vicky has a way of writing that brings the characters into your heart from the get-go. Laura's stepson captured my heart too along with Bell's two friends Harry and Colin. Lady Atherton is a spitfire who will keep you giggling also.

    It's a story of two people who have no plans to ever marry and find once they start spending time with each other that what they thought was fact, turns upside down in a hurry. Vicky gives us Laura, a nurturer, and Bell who is hiding from his pain and takes us down a road of healing that will leave you with a smile on your face and waiting for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Today I bring to you the newest book by Vicky Dreiling which is

    Today I bring to you the newest book by Vicky Dreiling which is What A Wicked Earl Wants. I don't know how many you have read any of Vicky's previous book, but if you have you would have met Bell at some point. If not, today is your lucky day to meet Bell.

    Andrew Carrington, Earl of Bellingham, is actually a pretty decent guy. However, you wouldn't know that by his raking around. Most rakes only do the wicked things, because they want to keep things hidden from the rest of the world. Bell is no different, but we can't focus on his noble qualities quite yet. Why you ask? Well,  our very wicked Earl wants something. Of course, it happens to be a very attractive young widow.

    Laura Davenport, Lady Chesfield, has been warned to avoid Bell at all cost. Yet she can't avoid him when he makes his presence in her life. You know that their encounter changes everything. Especially, when Bell offers to help her wayward son stay out of trouble.

    As I said Bell is a decent guy, who hides it well from the world. The more I read the story I really did love Bell. Granted I do have a soft spot for rakes, but he really does have a noble heart (don't want to leak that out, might ruin his reputation). He really does care about others and willing to help them when they are in trouble. He might even go a tad bit overboard at times, but those qualities make a born leader. 

    We can't forget his buds Harry and Colin. Good lord, they are definitely fun. Especially, the banter between the two of them. Whenever they enter the picture all I could do was shake my head and laugh. Seriously, they're that funny. I can't wait read more about them.

    Most of all I love the friendship between Laura and Bell. I mean they are perfect for each, even though they don't want to succumb to their feelings. You watch how the respect for one another grows between them and makes you truly hope they end up together in the end. 

    Overall, a great read from Vicky Drieling. Plus, a fantastic start for her new series. I can't wait for more. Honestly, I love Vicky's book because they are completely fun to read. So, if you are looking for a light fun read, I would suggest getting your hands on What A Wicked Earl Wants. Who knows you might want a wicked Earl for yourself.

    Copy provide by Forever Romance via NetGalley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Andrew Carrington, Earl of Bellingham is looking for a new mistr

    Andrew Carrington, Earl of Bellingham is looking for a new mistress and sets his sights on the lovely widow, Lady Laura Chesfield. There is one flaw in his plan, the lady in question is virtuous and is not as susceptible to his charms as he is accustomed women to being. Laura is the daughter of a vicar who actually loved her much older husband and loves her stepson as if he were her own child. When her stepson's neglectful guardian decides that she is not doing her duty properly and threatens to take him away, she turns to Andrew for help. They have a strong and undeniable attraction and while Laura soon finds herself falling in love with the bold Earl, Andrew struggles against any attachments which become to close because of the tragedy he suffered as a youth. We are also introduced to a few of Andrew's charming friends who I suspect have love stories of their own. Charmingly entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Good Read

    Good romance with a strong mail character and good story line. Not as predictable as some romances are. If you enjoy a take charge male and a contrary woman, you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Very good

    Really liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Laura Davenport, a widow, has been raising her step son on her o

    Laura Davenport, a widow, has been raising her step son on her own for the last four years. Now he is seventeen and wanting to live a life in London. So she reluctantly agrees, and they head to London. Only her son, is starting to act rebelliously, and deceiving her left and right. Then Andrew Carrington, the Earl of Bellingham, steps in to help her out. Andrew, is looking for a mistress, when he sees a beautiful and enticing woman at a ball, he knows he has to have her. Laura is everything he desires and more, even though he has never sought after her type. Sweet, caring, and full of passion that is hidden, and even though she is a Vicar's daughter, he is drawn to her. When Laura's son is threatened to be taken away, he agrees to a fake engagement, in order to protect her and her son. Soon he is taking measures that he would never do, but the ice around his heart starts to melt. Even though he knows he can never marry her, he craves what could be, but is the love they share be enough to weather the storm ahead?

    What A Wicked Earl Wants is the first in the Sinful Scoundrel Series. This is also the first time I have had a chance to read from this author. And all I can say is WOWZERS!!! I am beyond impressed with this author already and this is the first chance I have had to read from her. When I started reading this, I wasn't sure what to expect from this author. I tend to get a bit nervous when trying a new author, even with stellar reviews and ratings, I don't know what to expect. But after a few chapters I was enthralled by this authors storytelling that captivated my attention from the beginning, and I was hard pressed to put this book down. The story begins with Laura and Andrew meeting at a ball, where they have a instant eye connection, and from then on they are connected physically at first. As the story progresses further, you see that intimate connection they have, goes further to the emotional bond that connects them without either character fully realizing it.

    The characters are endearing and magical and charming. Andrew, is a fine hero, I loved him from the beginning. He is a scoundrel and a rake, and loves all sorts of pleasure. But you also see signs that he has a past and not a good one. He protects his heart and emotions with a iron hand, and refuses to let anyone slip through let alone a small slip of a woman whose smile melts him and all of his reason. Laura is quite a fun heroine. I liked her immediately, even though she seemed a bit naive about her stepson behavior, but she is very passionate and strong willed, and I loved how she faces every situation with confidence and doesn't shy away from the truth. She deal with Andrew quite admirably, doesn't just jump into his bed because he kisses her senseless (which he does) but she doesn't give in at the moment. She makes him work for it, and I enjoyed seeing this flirty dance these two were engaged in. Quite amusing at times.

    The story was enchanting and full of fun characters, engaging plot, and twists and turns to keep you drawn into the story. A delightful romp that sizzles! A WINNER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    a must read

    Once again this author has written another book that was hard for me to put down. From front to back it was a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    this book was a major disappointment. I was so excited about the

    this book was a major disappointment. I was so excited about the new series & it let me down majorly. I could not stand characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Expected More

    I expected it to be better. The ending was a disappointment. He should have been stronger about his feelings at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Urgh

    I could barely finish it. The dialogue between the characters was juvinile and at times made me laugh out loud... and not in a good way. I loved her previous books but I did not like this one. Sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “…full of emotion and heart, with a dash of sexy and fun.” ~Under the Covers

    WHAT A WICKED EARL WANTS is the story of Andrew, the Earl of Bellingham. We’ve come to care for him from Dreiling’s first books and have seen him change quite a bit throughout them.

    Ms. Dreiling’s stories are always full of emotion and heart, with a dash of sexy and fun. WHAT A WICKED EARL WANTS is just what I was hoping for. Even though, knowing Bellingham, I was hoping for him to be a bit more seductive. He took one look at the widow that snared his attention and decided he would respect her….as much as he could.

    I loved the fact that he was her friend and took care of her. Yes, he was trying to eventually get in her pants, but he showed that he cared for more than that early one. He cared not only for her, but her stepson as well.

    Laura on the other hand is a strong woman. Growing up the daughter of a vicar with a lot of sibling, she didn’t necessarily have it easy. She married a man much older than her for love, in spite of people telling her she was marrying for money. She cared for her husband until he passed of an illness. Now a widow, she’s devoted herself to taking care of her late husband’s teenage son, who is more than wild.

    It was pretty much Laura and Bellingham against the world in this book. They teamed up to help her son, to protect Laura from gentleman’s advances in London and fortune hunters and to save her from her brother in law who wants to take her stepson away.

    I only wish there would’ve been a bit more drawn out resolution to Bellingham’s problems. He really didn’t get to deal with his family’s death as deep and emotional as I thought it would get. Being that this was a major issue for him, I would’ve liked to see this developed more.

    With amazing characters and a storyline that kept me turning the pages, WHAT A WICKED EARL WANTS is another winner from Ms. Dreiling. It is also the introduction to more of Bell’s friends, who will continue the Sinful Scoundrels series. And believe me, when you’re done with this one you’ll want more of the sexy rakes.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    What do you get when a wicked Earl nicknamed "Bell" vo

    What do you get when a wicked Earl nicknamed "Bell" volunteers to help a moral young widow discipline her rebellious stepson? You get a witty, sexy new Regency from Vicky Dreiling. Bell and Laura seal their bargain with a kiss. Laura fights the good fight, but she can't help but succumb to Bell's charms. He just wants to be "friends". Bell already has two friends, Colin and Harry. The banter between these three is so funny!. Bell has his reasons for avoiding marriage. Can Laura heal his guilty heart? You should read What a Wicked Earl Wants to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1