Customer Reviews for

What in the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Right on the money

This book hits the mark. As I read it I can recall things happening in the past and actuallly seeing the fulfillment of the prophecy. This book helps to point out those fulfilled prophecy's. The part concerning how mankind would be drawn to the anti-christ in the tribul...
This book hits the mark. As I read it I can recall things happening in the past and actuallly seeing the fulfillment of the prophecy. This book helps to point out those fulfilled prophecy's. The part concerning how mankind would be drawn to the anti-christ in the tribulation was never more evident than in seeing what happened in this years (2008) Presidential election. It was as if I was witnessing what it is going to be like when that man of evil comes on the scene and all of mankind are drawn to him. This book is truely revealing that we are in the countdown to the last days.

posted by chiefrosy on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What in the World is Going On With Biblical Interpretation of the End Times?

First of all, Jeremiah does a good job of tying together some factors I had not previously thought of that help us clue in that these are the end times, especially US dependence on foreign oil, Islam, and terrorism. And without getting to technical, as many end times a...
First of all, Jeremiah does a good job of tying together some factors I had not previously thought of that help us clue in that these are the end times, especially US dependence on foreign oil, Islam, and terrorism. And without getting to technical, as many end times authors get, he explains these themes in such a way that I felt compelled to keep reading and understood what he was saying. I finished it in about 14 hours. Jeremiah's position (which states the church will be removed from Earth before the "Tribulation Period" begins-read Daniel 7 for more on this) gives him the chance to interpret the current events with insightful but disturbing results. It was an exciting and engaging read, on the point of interpreting current events.

Having said all this, Jeremiah's perspective, called Dispensational, Pretribulation Rapturism appears to stretch the biblical evidence farther than warranted.

For a good definition of these terms, check out my review on my blog paracleteshammer.blogspot.com.

The trouble with this perspective is that it not only does violence to the texts where Christ said we will "have many tribulations," among other key passages on suffering for the sake of the gospel. Also, it seems to disregard the simplicity of other biblical arguments, such as the one that other passages talking about "the trumpet of the Lord" could be talking about the same event. Because of this, Jeremiah and other pretrib works, such as Left Behind, need to be read with a large grain of salt and that we should be ready to suffer more readily than to expect God is going to save us simply because He told believers in Philadelphia (Rev 3:10) that He would save them.

Now, before anyone goes on about how the pretrib position is required in order to take the doctrine of the Immanent Return of Christ seriously, which is a can of worms I will open later, I would respond that Christ can come at anytime he wishes, but then again, my faith is not shaken if the Antichrist appears before this takes place. Moreover, we will not know and have the revelation of the Antichrist before he stands in the temple, etc. The real question we should be asking is "would our faith be shaken if no pretrib rapture occurred, but rather we were faced with tribulations and testing.

One other issue among many that Jeremiah fails to resolve is, when discussing Islam, even though He says Allah and the God of the Bible are not the same God, he fails to offer any solution as to how missionaries, like myself, can resolve this issue and effectively minister to the Muslim people. Because of this, the chapter on Islam felt like a drive-by backhanded treatment of God's love for the Muslim people with no solution for Christians who have a heart for these people.

Finally, his chapter on the Jewish people, as though I were a second-class citizen in the kingdom of God. This is an inherent weakness in many dispensationalist writings, Romans 11:17-24, Galatians 3:28 and Ephesians 2:11-17 We are grafted into Israel's heritage by the Spirit, There is no Jew, Greek, or any other in Christ, and the middle wall of partition and the hostility between the Jew and the non-Jewish believer have been broken down and put to death respectively. Jeremiah and his ilk seem to wish to establish that wall again.

I received this book compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. Disappointing.

posted by paracleteshammer on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Well worth reading-Wake Up and take note!

    I have to confess that I approached the book What In The World Is Going On? By Dr. David Jeremiah with a distinctly skeptical mind set. I was ready to discount it as so much supposed prophetic gibberish. Instead, I found that it was a well considered and thoroughly researched commentary on current events.

    Dr. Jeremiah begins with an overview of ancient Biblical prophecies, especially in the book of Daniel, with his visions of empires then existing and those yet to come. Dr. Jeremiah centers his arguments on Israel and what he sees as, a yet fully realized resurgence of the Roman empire. This he takes to be the European Union.

    In short, his conclusion is that the world is quickly coming to the end foreseen in the Old Testament, and Revelation. Some of the prophetic clues he maintains that we are, or soon will be witnessing are: Israel once again becoming a nation and beginning to possess the boundaries spoken of in the Old Testament. Oil being found in Israel and thus laying the groundwork for the battle of Armageddon. The aforementioned resurgence of the Roman empire. The rise of Islamic terrorism which focusses our attention on the Middle East and their hatred of Israel. Also the signs in the heavens of crazy weather patterns.

    I ended up largely agreeing with Dr. Jeremiah and praying that the Church would take the warnings to heart and be about the business of the Kingdom of God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Great book on 10 Biblical Prophecies

    In his book, "What in the World is Going On?", Dr. David Jeremiah walks his readers through 10 Biblical prophecies and how they pertain to what's happening in our world in the 21st century. It's not meant to frighten or alarm, but seemingly written as a tool to empower Christians to be aware of what's happening. Jeremiah discusses such "hot topics" as terrorism, the world's oil supply, Israel, and the Antichrist, among others. This is not a light read, but definitely one worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    A TIMELY BOOK FOR SUCH A TIME LIKE THIS!

    Although I have been an avid end-time student and teacher as well, this book builds on my excitement concerning the soon coming of our Lord Jesus Christ! Dr. Jeremiah is an exciting writer and his passion for God is all over the book. This is an amazing and timely book for such a time like this. Many people simply scratch their heads at the unpredictability of events in the world today and this book can offer them the stability that they long for. All in all, it is a book that I believe will win loads of pre-believers to the Lord Jesus Christ! I give this book 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    What in the World is Going On?

    This is the first "prophetic book that I had the pleasure of reviewing. This book goes over the 10 clues of the end times. I must say that I have heard of Dr. David Jeremiah while I attended my Undergrad in Religion Biblical Studies so his name alone made me want to read this book. I take these "prophetic" books with a grain of salt. If a reader wants to have something reinforce their own views then a book like this is good for them. I think it is an interesting read but as with anything, you have to make your own judgments and take a book like this for an interesting idea, but not the "gospel truth". I would recommend this to someone who can understand that just because it is in print does not make it "concrete".

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    BOOK DESCRIPTION
    Is the current economic and political crisis actually prophesied in the Bible?

    If so, what are we to do about it? It is hard to piece together all this information in a way that gives a comprehensive picture of what the end times will look like. That's why so many theories abound. And that's why Dr. David Jeremiah has written What In the World Is Going On?, a unique book that cuts through the hundreds of theories to identify the essential 10 most important bible prophecies. There is no other book like this. You'll find it the ultimate study tool for understanding the future. You'll have a greater sense of comfort that, even in these crazy times, God is indeed in control. If bible prophecy as always been a mystery to you, Dr. Jeremiah's book will help you solve the mystery. At last, bible prophecy can make sense, and make a difference. What In the World Is Going On? is shocking and eye-opening but essential reading in these turbulent days.

    Dr. David Jerermiah is the senior pastor of Shadow Mountain Community Church in El Cajon, California.

    MY OPINION
    I found this book to be an interesting read, especially the sections that focuse on the ancient conflicts in the Middle East and how they influence today's politics. Dr. Jeremiah explains the differences between the various religious sects in the Middle East and the reasons for their long~standing hostilities towards each other, the nation of Israel and America. He also examines the relationship between Israel and America and how their pasts, presents and futures are intertwined. At the end of the book, significant reference material is provided to support the claims made in each chapter.

    Perhaps one of the more intriguing chapters is chapter 7, "When One Man Rules the World", in which Dr. Jeremiah describes the coming world dictator. The first thing Dr. Jeremiah does is dispel the myth that Henry Kissinger (or any other public figures who have been named) is the coming Anti~Christ. Rather than name names or point fingers at individuals, what he does do is give the characteristics of the one world leader and how he will rise to power.

    While providing a detailed narrative for what the world will be like after the Rapture, Dr. Jeremiah is also careful enough to offer the plan of salvation at the end of each chapter. Ultimately, this is a book not of fear but of hope.

    This book is recommended for new as well as seasoned students of Bible prophecy.

    Disclaimer: This book was provided to me courtesy of Thomas Nelson (which is now Book Sneeze) free of charge in exchange for a review. This does not in any way influence my review. The book may be purchased by clicking on the picture. I do not benefit from your purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    A must read for anyone curious about the future!

    David Jeremiah is today's foremost source on biblical prophecy. This book gives countless details into where we are as a people, and where we are going with regards to God's plan. Believe in God or not, this is worth reading from a prophecy standpoint. If you don't pay attention to world events, and where the future is going, David Jeremiah gives you countless reasons to change that philosophy.

    Well structured, factually laid out, and concise; this book is a must read for any Christian, or anyone curious about end times events, and how things can possibly come to pass in the future.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    What in the world is going on? 10 Prophetic clues you cannot aford to ignore. Dr. David Jeremiah

    Based on his congregation's (Shadow Mountain Community Church, El Cajon, CA) encouragement and enjoyment of his sermons about the "end times", Dr. David Jeremiah writes a very "simplistic" book about a topic which most find to be very difficult. The book is "simplistic" in that this pastor uses every day language that is easy to understand more so than other books on the market. He details current events which provide clues to the end times and coming of Christ. He provides a historical perspective and supports that history with quotes from both the religious and secular viewpoints and weaves this history to what is happening today. There is a definite roadmap for what we can expect in the future based on scripture. This book is a must read for anyone wanting a better understanding of what is happening in our world today! Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for me to read and review. I am a member of Booksneeze and as a part of the group you can receive complimentary copies of the books to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    What In The World Is Going On?

    Dr. Jeremiah takes the ten most important prophesies from the Bible and breaks them down in terms anyone can easily understand. Comparing the events predicted before, during and after the Rapture and Armageddon to recent and current events taking place in the world today.


    The Bible can be hard to follow if you are unfamiliar with the language and references. Dr. Jeremiah's book makes it easy. What you take from this book will likely make you rethink your future and your present.


    You will learn why Israel is so important. The part Muslims will play in the End of Days. Most of all, your eyes will be opened to the events going on in the world today that were prophesied many lifetimes ago.


    This was a book that I hated to put down. Sometimes I just had to, in order to give myself time to absorb what I had read. I found it completely fascinating, and it kicked off more research for me.


    This is an amazing read. A must have for Christians, and a need to have for those who are searching for answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What In The World Is Going On? 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore by Dr. David Jeremiah

    What In The World Is Going On? 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore by Dr. David Jeremiah, is a wonderfully informative book to help fellow believers and unbelievers catch up on current events in connection with the Bible. Often times, many pastors disregard sharing prophecy with their congregation for various reasons but I believe this is a serious error. War. Earthquakes. With so much going on around us, we are bound to wonder if the end is coming soon. What does this mean for the saved? This book can answer many questions that you may have pondered, such as What is all the fuss about Israel?, Will America have a role in prophecy?, Will Christians be present during the battle of Armageddon?, and many other facts that you may not be familiar with. Dr. Jeremiah recounts prophecies that have already taken place as well.

    To further enhance your study on prophecy, you can purchase the companion study guide, audio message album, an DVD messages from the What In The World Is Going On? series. For more information, visit www.DavidJeremiah.org.

    Dr. David Jeremiah is a best-selling author, popular Bible teacher, and senior pastor of Shadow Mountain Community Church in El Cajon, CA. You may be more familiar with his syndicated radio and television program, Turning Point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very informing!

    This book really helps you prepare for the coming fulfillment of Biblical prophecies. Granted, it is written with a pre-tribulation Rapture viewpoint. It is written clearly; any Christian who reads it will understand what is being said. He includes some visual aids in the book, but not too many to distract. He also is very prolific with scripture references and quotes, ranging from Tim LaHaye and Ernest Shackleton. It not only gives clear facts and leaves some mysteries, but also gives reassurance that God is in control.

    My rating: 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Work and Watch!

    The author does an excellent job at giving the reader a heads up on our world today. He reminds readers of the sovereign Lordship of Jesus Christ whose first coming was as the bringer of salvation to all who will receive it and his second coming as conquering King.

    This could be used as a very educational tool for Sunday School classes or home studies as well. I highly recommend this book! You'll come away from it with a sense of urgency for self-reflection and eagerness to "get in the game" and watch eagerly for his marvelous return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    What In The World Is Going On?

    Dr. David Jeremiah places his spin on the end of the world in his latest book "What In the World Is Going On? 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore." With years of experience as the senior pastor of Shadow Mountain Community Church, author of several best-selling books and a radio host of an internationally syndicated Bible-teaching program, Turning Point, Dr. David Jeremiah is one of the best known Biblical teachers today. His dispensational pre-millennial views that he developed while obtaining his Masters at Dallas Theological Seminary is obviously an influence on his writing in this book that sheds light on the oil crisis, the resurgence of Russia, the new axis of evil, the importance of Israel and the new powers of the European Union. His 10 Prophetic "clue," as laid out in his chapters, involve: The Israel Connect, The Crude Awakening, Modern Europe... Ancient Rome, Islamic Terrorism, Vanished Without a Trace, Does America Have a Role in Prophecy?, When One Man Rules the World, The New Axis of Evil, Arming for Armageddon, and The Return of the King. The End Times are a matter that needs to be studied and whether you agree with Dr. David Jeremiah or not, "What In the World Is Going On? 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore" is absolutely a book that needs to be on anyone's list of reading who is studying this topic. It's an easy read and was enjoyable for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Resource!

    Dr. David Jeremiah writes an excellent explanation of the origin and relevant beginnings and goals of the Islamic religion which is important to understand if we are to understand end time prophecy. In view of the current economic and political mess we are facing, the author examines the Biblical prophecies concerning the times in which we live. He tells the reader how to see these events as well as how to respond as we approach the end times foretold in the Bible. So often it is difficult at best and very confusing for us to put the peices of the puzzle together because there have been thousands of books and articles written on this subject, each giving us their opinion. David Jeremiah's book cuts to the heart of the matter and rather than looking at the dozens of end time theories, he focuses in and takes a look at what he identifies as the 10 most important biblical prophecies concerning the end times. While some writers and theories instill fear in the reader when looking at end time events, Dr. Jeremiah's goal seems to be to help the reader find peace and comfort in these turbulant times. He reminds us that ultimately, God is in control. If you are one who has found the end time prophecies confusing and mysterious, I encourage you to read this book as Dr. Jeremiah will help you unlock the mystery.

    I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program and include this link: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1