Customer Reviews for

What-the-Dickens: The Story of a Rogue Tooth Fairy

Average Rating 3.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very cute, great book!

I really enjoyed this book! It's the story of the tooth fairy...sort of... It's the story of A tooth fairy...a rogue tooth fairy.

This is actually two stories in one. There is the story of a group of children trapped in a house after a huge storm, with no food or ...
I really enjoyed this book! It's the story of the tooth fairy...sort of... It's the story of A tooth fairy...a rogue tooth fairy.

This is actually two stories in one. There is the story of a group of children trapped in a house after a huge storm, with no food or electricity, and there is the story they are telling about the rogue tooth fairy in order to forget about their situation.

Greogry Maguire doesn't disappoint.

I will say, keep going, it does get better as you get into the story. There are a few characters to remember at the beginning, so don't get discouraged. If you stick it out it'll be WELL worth it.

I hope there's a second book because I really wanted more at the end.

posted by JennGrrl on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Yawn!

Seems as though Gregory Maguire hasn't had a really good read since Wicked. From the first page of this book it was a downhill slope of boring. I would definitely leave this book on the shelf. Nice cover work, though.

posted by 3318369 on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute book

    It's better to read in one sitting. If you liked how City of Ember read, you'll like this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Two stories in one

    This is a story of a babysitting cousin telling a story to his stranded charges. The told story of the rogue tooth fairy is very imaginative with great characters a real page turner. The external story of the stranded kids is a bit cheesy and predictable, and uses sterotyped characters. But, it's still a very good read and memorable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this wonderful farytail I would reccomend it to anyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Bios

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great read just wish it was longer!

    I loved this story. I really liked the main character and the way his thoughts and he was daring enough to be heard. But I just wished it was longer. I was sorry it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A Fun Story

    I have been a longtime fan of Gregory Maguire and thought I would try one of his young reader books. I thoroughly enjoyed this story...Although it is for kids, the writing was suitable for older readers such as myself--I never felt like I was being talked down to....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend - For All Ages

    Although Im science fiction-mystery-horror buff, I love Gregory Maguire novels. Ive read all his books, my favorite being the Wicked series. If you havent read those, I highly recommend. This one is excellent also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Reccomended Rouge-ness

    In the story What-the-Dickens, a tale unravels about a newborn skibbereen-aka tooth fairy. Naïve and curious, the tiny orphan explores a giant new worlds in search of its meaning. Along the way, the nameless fairy stumbles upon many fascinating objects and creatures during his journey. From the whimsical and twisted mind of Gregory McGuire, this captivating story will leave you turning pages as you learn about the life of What-the-Dickens, the rogue tooth fairy.
    I strongly recommend anyone to read this book, especially if you are a middle to high school level reader. What-the-Dickens is personally one of my favorite reads. The book is extremely intriguing, with heart-warming scenes and simple humor. The story is told in such a realistic manor that you can almost believe tooth fairies are real. If you ever want a great novel to read, I highly suggest picking u What-the-Dickens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What the Dickens!

    Yet another delightful read by Maguire made even more enjoyable because I was not familiar with the Tooth fairy story it is derived from. A much different approach and look into the Fairy world and how they interact and think of humans. Very light reading, nothing challenging or thought provoking, but still a very fun book to read. The ups and downs and shifts between the "real" setting and the "story" setting were seamless and appropriate. Working the story teller into the story being told was tastefully done and left room for interpretation on how the story had survived. I like how a familiar saying was worked into the book, I will never hear "what the dickens" said and not smile because of this book. Highly recommend for young readers and a quick light read for any adult who needs a good laugh and smile from a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gregory Maguire does it again...

    Extremely well written. I totally loved the symbolism and the language. Gregory Maguire does an excellent retelling of the tooth fairy. It is soooo much more than a retelling of the tooth fairy, though. It is all about society and basically and awesome analogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Utterly charming.

    Gregoty Maguire is brilliant at re-imagining common fairy tales. In this case, he creates a new history of the legendary tooth fairy. Or tooth fairies, skiberee, as he calls them.
    His story within a story reads like a cross between an adult thriller and a charming adventure story for children. The parallels between the two stories and the dangers that must be overcome by each set of characters should draw in and intrigue adults and children alike. This is real entertainment and should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2