Customer Reviews for

What the Dog Said

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read just about every dog book (fiction)I find....this one esc

    I read just about every dog book (fiction)I find....this one escaped me for a year?? I don't know how but it was worth the wait! What a great story. The interactions of Grace and Rex was clearly played out and then the purpose of the story comes clear at the end. And yes, I cried. A beautiful tribute to the folks who train service dogs AND those shelter pups waiting to find their forever home. I just really loved this story!!! 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    This book was great

    It made me laugh, cry, and it definitly "kept me on my toes" it was great, i borrowed it but it would be worth the money

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Best book ever

    I really enjoyed reading this book!! It is super funny at some parts and suspensful at others. It's about a girl who lost her dad, and feels that it's her fault. Read about how a slightly dumb dog helps her live again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    What the reveiwer said...

    Is: Wow. This is a really great book. I read it in two days. That is nor a brag, I know there are a lot faster readers out there, but I'm implying it was good. Grace Abernathy's dad died, and to help her, grace' s mom lets her get a puppy to train as a guide dog. Dog talks. Not the usual omg my animal is talking to me book. Bad stuff to take note of: no blood and guts but all the usual gangster stuff, minor bullying, achohal mentioned very briefly. Not to scare you away, this is a really really good book. Nothing made me feel sick like I did when I read the sentance from the hunger games about forcing kids to kill eachother. Actually, nothing even close. I am 11 and I don't watch pg 13 movies, so you can decide whether you should read it by that. What the dog said is an awesome book.
    - a reader.
    A reccomendation: the princess curse by merrie haskell. Adaptation of fairytales the twelve dancing princesses and beauty and the beast.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Fabulouis

    This book is fabulouiw! It is very good at teaching the reader that life isnt perfect and when it is messed up you have to be creative and find a way to make it better. In this story grace the main character uses getting a shelter dog that talks to her to get her to stop grieving over her dads death. This i recomended for all ages!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    This is a GREAT book!

    This book is awesome!i am 11 and i love it so much i hope the person who wrote this book will have written more books!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fabulous

    This is one of the best books i have ever read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I LOVE this book!

    This book is very good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    I loved it

    This book was actually the first book that ever made me cry....... other than Old Yeller, which is another book about a dog....Anyway, i could totally relate with gracie in many ways, and rex—the dog— was the comedy relief tis book needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Mm..mmmbhvg vbbbbbbnp.

    Nmn.jhgb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    This is a coment to "I am a dog lover but that doesn't mean you have to be to like this"

    That is so sad and touching. i am sorry to hear about your dad.
    I think animals do understand and they do care about their owner(s) people just don't give them credit. And if you have a
    problem with that than you can talk to me!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Cool

    It is all abote dogs and i love dogs i have a dog right now 450 i kove him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Emily

    Rude and tells u to never come back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I am a dog lover but I don't think you have to be to enjoy this

    I am a dog lover but I don't think you have to be to enjoy this story.  I cried when I read it and almost cried when I finished it.  It is one of those books you want to go on and on. Like Gracie in the story I had lost my dad.  I was so broken hearted.  When I returned home from his funeral, I found my solace in my little cocker spaniel.  I often held  him and cried into his soft fur as he sat with me.  He would look up with those shoe-button eyes as if he said "I understand.".  As the story says, dogs are truly angels with tails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Amber to female dog

    Walks over and pets her - unties her sn brings her home to keep as a pet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Female dog

    Is tied to a post and trembling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1