Customer Reviews for

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures

Average Rating 3.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Glance At Another Perspective

"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three sp...
"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three specific categories: minor geniuses, theories and predictions. I am not usually intrigued by social science or psychology... I am, after all, a senior in High School who prides myself on being an "abstract thinker," "creative," and an "artist," but surprisingly Malcolm Gladwell took particular topics and articulately portrayed experiences with a tone of great excitement and curiosity for the subjects, which allowed me to continue reading the book with an excited anticipation. I understand the arguments from people who had previously read Gladwell's articles in The New Yorker; it was nothing new. But for those craving a logical book filled with facts, and a bit of passion, it was refreshing, to say the least.

posted by SantaMonicaArtist on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Whew! Glad I Finished that One

I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladst...
I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladstone's attempt to cobble together old columns and writings just does not work for me. I found reading this book and getting through it an ordeal. I always finish a book even when I am not particularly enjoying it. This one bordered on being painful to get through. Then again, it could just be me. I am not a fan of short story books either. Some of the topics addressed by Gladstone were interesting such as the opening chapter about "The Pitchman," but that interest and intensity of writing is just not sustained throughout the whole book. "Outliers" and "Blink" were thought-provoking, engaging, and fascinating, but this one never rises to the same level. There are books that I would call not very enjoyable, but a worthwhile read. I am sorry to say that I just can't call this one a worthwhile read. I'm afraid this one was one of those published with the hopes that because of Gladwell's previous successes, it would see success as well. I am sure it has sold well, but this is one of those books that can make you not want to read any more by this author.

posted by Booknut62 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 475 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whew! Glad I Finished that One

    I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladstone's attempt to cobble together old columns and writings just does not work for me. I found reading this book and getting through it an ordeal. I always finish a book even when I am not particularly enjoying it. This one bordered on being painful to get through. Then again, it could just be me. I am not a fan of short story books either. Some of the topics addressed by Gladstone were interesting such as the opening chapter about "The Pitchman," but that interest and intensity of writing is just not sustained throughout the whole book. "Outliers" and "Blink" were thought-provoking, engaging, and fascinating, but this one never rises to the same level. There are books that I would call not very enjoyable, but a worthwhile read. I am sorry to say that I just can't call this one a worthwhile read. I'm afraid this one was one of those published with the hopes that because of Gladwell's previous successes, it would see success as well. I am sure it has sold well, but this is one of those books that can make you not want to read any more by this author.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    A Glance At Another Perspective

    "The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three specific categories: minor geniuses, theories and predictions. I am not usually intrigued by social science or psychology... I am, after all, a senior in High School who prides myself on being an "abstract thinker," "creative," and an "artist," but surprisingly Malcolm Gladwell took particular topics and articulately portrayed experiences with a tone of great excitement and curiosity for the subjects, which allowed me to continue reading the book with an excited anticipation. I understand the arguments from people who had previously read Gladwell's articles in The New Yorker; it was nothing new. But for those craving a logical book filled with facts, and a bit of passion, it was refreshing, to say the least.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun and Engaging Read. Interesting and Enlarging.

    I enjoy books and articles that give me a bigger picture of the world. Malcolm Gladwell does it with prose that is both faced paced and substantive. Many people will suspect that these reprinted articles from the New Yorker are just a way of cashing in on previous successes, and they may well be, but they are well worth the read. These insights into human nature and experience, giving us the real story behind people and events, are perhaps the only real truths available to us. "What the Dog Saw" spoke to me on both emotional and intellectual levels in a very satisfying way. Light, enjoyable reading that informs and inspires is a big part of what good writing is all about. I enjoyed his earlier book, "Outliers," in much the same way. But here the greater variety of subjects, each presented with sufficient depth that never bogs down, was even more insightful, expanding and encouraging. With the constant deluge of bad news, and with the winter chill freezing us out even down here in Florida, Malcolm's writing is a fresh, warm and fragrant breeze. I looked forward to reading "What the Dog Saw" in the same way I look forward to getting together with good friends. However, this book always fit into my schedule.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Fascinating and enjoyable read

    I devoured this book. And then I had to talk about all of the fascinating, interesting, well written, diverse topics with anyone who would listen. From the history of the Pill to the history of ketchup, to the efficacy of serial killer profiling to the art of the job interview, I learned all sort of things I would not have ever considered otherwise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Very interesting reading

    I bought What the Dog Saw on impulse which usually is not a good thing. I was pleasently surprised when I found that I actually enjoyed reading Mr Gladwell's articles even on topics that I would have skipped over if I was reading the original in the magazine. I would not have expected to be interested in articles on womens hair coloring or pitchmen for TV kitchen gimmicks but I was. A very good book for when you want to read something short but interesting and well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Ahead of his time

    These articles are so far ahead their time that you wonder what planet Gladwell came from. He is clear, yet scholarly, profound but research based, concise yet detailed.
    He is so on target. What other writer, particularly a non-fiction writer, had four books on the best seller list at the same time?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What the Author Saw in His New Book What the Dog Saw

    Malcolm Gladwell is a supreme writer. Be it any one of his three past bestsellers or his newest book, Gladwell's writing is clear, exciting, and clearly holds the interest of the reader.

    In What the Dog Saw, Gladwell shares his favorite columns spanning the past thirteen years from his regular writing gig with The New Yorker magazine.

    The title came from his interview and research for a column he wrote, and included in this book, on Cesar Millan, the Dog Whisperer. When Gladwell started writing that particular column he wondered what Millan was thinking as he trained some of the most difficult and ill behaved dogs one can find. In the middle of writing the column, Gladwell decided the more interesting question was what did the dog see during Millan's training.

    The author also shares a bit of his personal and professional life with readers in this book. And, he gives his secret for finding columns on subjects that may not readily lend themselves to writing about. Topics such as gourmet mustard and regular ole ketchup are brought to life and make the reader think.

    This is a great read by a great contemporary writer and columnist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling

    Another very innovative and compelling book from Gladwell. The topics covered are diverse, but the overall point is -- like Gladwell's other books -- to get the reader to think about different topics in an entirely new way. In this regard, Gladwell succeeds. I always learn something new and ultimately, improve my own way of thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    From theBookChubi

    I listened to the audiobook and I think that was a good idea. First off, Gladwell has a great vocal quality that can both present information in a neutral tone (avoiding the problem of biasing the reader straight from the start) but is also very animated and really helps bring the information alive. Although the words themselves are what is important, without the additional presentational quality of the author I feel this book may come off as dry or too factual (as opposed to the stated purpose of providing an alternative idea). He takes you along the entire thought process behind the theories and ideas he is writing about so that you aren't simply confronted with the "solution" but get an idea of each step taken to arrive at that conclusion.

    Some of the endings are blunt, which may work well for The New Yorker (where the articles were sourced from) but do seem a bit abrupt for a collection of stories in a book. Gladwell is fantastic about bringing each story around full circle and creating a through-line which, rather than sounding like a college paper (as these articles could have been doomed in another author's hands), provide a rich plot which happens to provide valuable information in the mean time. You will learn something even if you don't mean to and in the context of this book that is a positive factor.

    All in all this book deserves your attention (it sure managed to capture mine).

    Read the full review at: http://thebookchubi.blogspot.com/2009/11/i-hope-i-have-encouraged-people-in.html

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    What the Dog Saw was an interesting insight on the different eve

    What the Dog Saw was an interesting insight on the different events that people have gone through and the stories behind them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    thought provoking

    Hard to put this book down. Great, thought provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great if you are into analysis

    Will read others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    I got this book in audio form and it's made for a fantastic driv

    I got this book in audio form and it's made for a fantastic drive. It's been fun, entertaining, and interesting. I wish I had bought it in book form as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    URGENT

    Katie locked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Shadow

    Houndoor all res except one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Wells

    MY MANSION IS AT RELICANTH!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Not book worthy.

    I loved his other three books...but this one was hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Nrrdddededssws┬┐

    Yekikii cx..dsfewucfcccfkgknnmkkulcrrltijkmkiukukmfgkmmrrr.ccccccf

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Dragonflame

    Moonflower is locked out

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Motepaw and Sparkpaw

    Hi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 475 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24