Customer Reviews for

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures

Average Rating 3.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Glance At Another Perspective

"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three sp...
"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three specific categories: minor geniuses, theories and predictions. I am not usually intrigued by social science or psychology... I am, after all, a senior in High School who prides myself on being an "abstract thinker," "creative," and an "artist," but surprisingly Malcolm Gladwell took particular topics and articulately portrayed experiences with a tone of great excitement and curiosity for the subjects, which allowed me to continue reading the book with an excited anticipation. I understand the arguments from people who had previously read Gladwell's articles in The New Yorker; it was nothing new. But for those craving a logical book filled with facts, and a bit of passion, it was refreshing, to say the least.

posted by SantaMonicaArtist on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Whew! Glad I Finished that One

I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladst...
I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladstone's attempt to cobble together old columns and writings just does not work for me. I found reading this book and getting through it an ordeal. I always finish a book even when I am not particularly enjoying it. This one bordered on being painful to get through. Then again, it could just be me. I am not a fan of short story books either. Some of the topics addressed by Gladstone were interesting such as the opening chapter about "The Pitchman," but that interest and intensity of writing is just not sustained throughout the whole book. "Outliers" and "Blink" were thought-provoking, engaging, and fascinating, but this one never rises to the same level. There are books that I would call not very enjoyable, but a worthwhile read. I am sorry to say that I just can't call this one a worthwhile read. I'm afraid this one was one of those published with the hopes that because of Gladwell's previous successes, it would see success as well. I am sure it has sold well, but this is one of those books that can make you not want to read any more by this author.

posted by Booknut62 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    A Glance At Another Perspective

    "The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three specific categories: minor geniuses, theories and predictions. I am not usually intrigued by social science or psychology... I am, after all, a senior in High School who prides myself on being an "abstract thinker," "creative," and an "artist," but surprisingly Malcolm Gladwell took particular topics and articulately portrayed experiences with a tone of great excitement and curiosity for the subjects, which allowed me to continue reading the book with an excited anticipation. I understand the arguments from people who had previously read Gladwell's articles in The New Yorker; it was nothing new. But for those craving a logical book filled with facts, and a bit of passion, it was refreshing, to say the least.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Very interesting reading

    I bought What the Dog Saw on impulse which usually is not a good thing. I was pleasently surprised when I found that I actually enjoyed reading Mr Gladwell's articles even on topics that I would have skipped over if I was reading the original in the magazine. I would not have expected to be interested in articles on womens hair coloring or pitchmen for TV kitchen gimmicks but I was. A very good book for when you want to read something short but interesting and well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    thought provoking

    Hard to put this book down. Great, thought provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great if you are into analysis

    Will read others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    URGENT

    Katie locked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Not at all what I expected

    Not being familiar with Mr. Gladwell's work, I thought this was going to be a light book of anecdotes and stories. It is not. This is a collection of extremely well researched articles on the psychology of a wide range of subjects. If there is an underlying theme to these articles, it is that preconceived notions are almost always wrong. There is a depth of thought in each article to challenge "conventional wisdom" on the subject. This is a thought provoking and engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gladwell strikes again

    Another set of thought provoking essays from Gladwell. He challenges conventional wisdom with the banal - why there's only one popular brand of ketchup - to the consequential - could the intelligence prior to 9/11 have really led to prevention or is it only seemingly transparent in hindsight? And all but one (oddly enough the lead story) were compelling reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    smart and insightful

    a great addition to his collection of smart, perceptive human studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Compelling and thought provoking.

    This books offers new perspectives on a myriad of topics, pick your favorite! A great read for provoking intellectual conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great read

    Started reading this one of Gladwell after I finished The Outliers. To be honest, this is not as good as The Outliers, but in general it provides a very good view using the articles of Gladwell. It is evident that research was exceptionally well done and the construction of the articles were fascinating. Not all articles may be of interest for a general reader and this completeness may be the only missing essence in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I gave this book as a gift . . . .

    . . . . . and my friend has not stopped raving about it since. I will soon borrow it from him and give it a whirl for myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    An Innovative View of Life

    A refreshing look at yourself from stories of others. Look not at what is front of you, but rather all around you to live in the moment, to make decisions, to understand those about you, to understand lasting effects and how to achieve them in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful Essay Collection

    What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell is a collection of essays first published in The New Yorker. These vignettes are both entertaining and thought-provoking!

    What I love most about Gladwell's writing is his approach to the subject. Gladwell is a gifted writer who is able to turn the ordinary (ketchup) into the extraordinary (an expansive essay as to why there is only one kind of ketchup). He is also able to translate the complex (Wall Street maneuvers) into the comprehensible (so that a layman is able to understand the transactions). In addition, Gladwell convincingly, elevates subjects such as infomercial king Ron Popeil, founder of Ronco and maker of the Showtime Rotisserie, into a "minor genius."

    What the Dog Saw is a fun and fascinating celebration of the ordinary world as you've never seen it!


    (Hachette Audio; Unabridged edition (October 20, 2009)
    Advance Review Copy Provided Courtesy of the Publisher.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great Book

    This book goes into my library.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures by Malcolm Gladwell

    Malcolm Gladwell's books are marked by intense research and very poignant critiques on the subject issues. This book differs from his other books I am familiar with in that he addresses a variety of disparate issues...but he uses the same poignancy and keen attention to detail as in his other books. How many readers own a RONCO product or other products that are hyped on TV or the Internet? You might be interested after listening to Gladwell's take on the issue of pitchmen. And for those yellow mustard fans, don't let Gladwell's research of the mustard blizzard pass you by; after all, you might find that you prefer spicy mustard. Enjoy the collection of stories from this remarkable author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not his Best Work but Very Good

    Malcom Gladwell is one of the most dynamic writers in America today. His work is timely and well written. Having said that, this book is not as good as previous writings. The stories are collection of his articles from the New Yorker and suffer from the lack of focus on one subject of previous books. Still a good read though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7