Customer Reviews for

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures

Average Rating 3.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Glance At Another Perspective

"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three sp...
"The trick to finding ideas is to convince yourself that everyone and everything has a story to tell" (xix). In my opinion, What the Dog Saw is a clever way to gain insight on information that Gladwell calls "adventures;" a collection of 19 articles placed into three specific categories: minor geniuses, theories and predictions. I am not usually intrigued by social science or psychology... I am, after all, a senior in High School who prides myself on being an "abstract thinker," "creative," and an "artist," but surprisingly Malcolm Gladwell took particular topics and articulately portrayed experiences with a tone of great excitement and curiosity for the subjects, which allowed me to continue reading the book with an excited anticipation. I understand the arguments from people who had previously read Gladwell's articles in The New Yorker; it was nothing new. But for those craving a logical book filled with facts, and a bit of passion, it was refreshing, to say the least.

posted by SantaMonicaArtist on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Whew! Glad I Finished that One

I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladst...
I have read with pleasure Malcolm Gladstone's books "Blink" and "Outliers" with fascination and interest and with level of intensity that made those two books quite enjoyable. I did not have the same experience with "What the Dog Saw." It is not the same. Perhaps Gladstone's attempt to cobble together old columns and writings just does not work for me. I found reading this book and getting through it an ordeal. I always finish a book even when I am not particularly enjoying it. This one bordered on being painful to get through. Then again, it could just be me. I am not a fan of short story books either. Some of the topics addressed by Gladstone were interesting such as the opening chapter about "The Pitchman," but that interest and intensity of writing is just not sustained throughout the whole book. "Outliers" and "Blink" were thought-provoking, engaging, and fascinating, but this one never rises to the same level. There are books that I would call not very enjoyable, but a worthwhile read. I am sorry to say that I just can't call this one a worthwhile read. I'm afraid this one was one of those published with the hopes that because of Gladwell's previous successes, it would see success as well. I am sure it has sold well, but this is one of those books that can make you not want to read any more by this author.

posted by Booknut62 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Wells

    MY MANSION IS AT RELICANTH!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Not book worthy.

    I loved his other three books...but this one was hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Nrrdddededssws┬┐

    Yekikii cx..dsfewucfcccfkgknnmkkulcrrltijkmkiukukmfgkmmrrr.ccccccf

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Dragonflame

    Moonflower is locked out

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Motepaw and Sparkpaw

    Hi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Posiekit

    Im loked out of white shadow waaa! - posiekit

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Eagleclaw

    Moving to white shadow

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    great reading

    I enjoyed each article in this book, very thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Couldn't finish it...

    Not my style of book. I couldn't care less about the sub-topics it contained...i might as well have read marketing material about these products...boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Not at all what I expected

    Not being familiar with Mr. Gladwell's work, I thought this was going to be a light book of anecdotes and stories. It is not. This is a collection of extremely well researched articles on the psychology of a wide range of subjects. If there is an underlying theme to these articles, it is that preconceived notions are almost always wrong. There is a depth of thought in each article to challenge "conventional wisdom" on the subject. This is a thought provoking and engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Interesting storiesbut unrelated

    A good book if you have short time periiods to read since there are natural stopping pponts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gladwell strikes again

    Another set of thought provoking essays from Gladwell. He challenges conventional wisdom with the banal - why there's only one popular brand of ketchup - to the consequential - could the intelligence prior to 9/11 have really led to prevention or is it only seemingly transparent in hindsight? And all but one (oddly enough the lead story) were compelling reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Best Gladwell book to date.

    I've read all of Gladwell's books, and this is easily his best one to date. While all of his books provide unique insight into the human condition this book really stands out. 'What the dog saw' is laser focused in the specifics, and doesn't suffer from the often repetitive references that often slowed the first books. With that being said it's hard to criticize the lack of continuity; so what I'll say instead that it would have been nice to read part or section summaries. It seemed as if the parts were driving to a point, but that goal wasn't always clearly stated. I will defintely have to reread many of the sections; which may have been the goal. :) All in all although, a great read and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    smart and insightful

    a great addition to his collection of smart, perceptive human studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Compelling and thought provoking.

    This books offers new perspectives on a myriad of topics, pick your favorite! A great read for provoking intellectual conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Wonderfully Informative held my attention!

    I bought this as an audio book and thoroughly enjoyed listening to it read by the author. It has so much indepth information into inventions, and indepth knowledge he shared about so many interesting people and topics. He chose so many people who influenced our lives but we don't hear much about their background and what brough them to their inventions. It was interesting from beginning to end! The author is a wonderful reader and really brought life into his book. I highly recommend this book. The title intrigued me. When he talks about the TV personality, The Dog Whisperer then I knew where this title came from. Everyone I have lent this book to has also loved it, and it is a good conversation topic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sheer Brilliance

    I can only stutter when trying to describe how incredibly fascinating this book was because I can't get the compliments out fast enough. A compilation of Gladwell's New Yorker articles that touch on a range of subjects. Only Malcolm Gladwell can explain the do's and don't's of generalizing by comparing dogs and terrorists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great read

    Started reading this one of Gladwell after I finished The Outliers. To be honest, this is not as good as The Outliers, but in general it provides a very good view using the articles of Gladwell. It is evident that research was exceptionally well done and the construction of the articles were fascinating. Not all articles may be of interest for a general reader and this completeness may be the only missing essence in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Very Thought Provoking

    I didn't expect too much from this book, since I was not a big fan of "The Tipping Point". I was wrong. I began this book on the airplane on route to our vacation spot and was hooked. It consists of reprints of in depth magazine articles and covers a big variety of subjects. You may not care for some of the subject matter,but each one makes you think outside of your opinions. The underlying truths of each story have had repercussions in my own thought processes since reading this one. I have been recommending this book to everyone who isn't afraid to think. I feel smarter having read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Smart reading for normal people.

    I first heard of Malcom Gladwell in college courses. I've watched his Howard Moscowitz spaghetti sauce video hundreds of times. I was pleasantly surprised by this read. It is informative, awesome, and just enough to tell you who Gladwell is. And it's hilariously funny in a not laugh-out-loud way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25