Customer Reviews for

What the Duke Desires

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as

I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling a...
I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling about Max and Lisette kept me enthralled through the ups and downs and all-arounds of their romance drama - until their very happy ever after ending. I will continue to read Ms. Jeffries' stories as I've always done, with anticipation, joy and satisfaction. She has not and does not disappoint this reader. I recommend this book highly to Regency romance fans.

posted by jdh2690 on June 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Cheaper on kindle

Kindle is more than one dollar cheaper than the nook edition, the same book

posted by lovread on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as

    I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling about Max and Lisette kept me enthralled through the ups and downs and all-arounds of their romance drama - until their very happy ever after ending. I will continue to read Ms. Jeffries' stories as I've always done, with anticipation, joy and satisfaction. She has not and does not disappoint this reader. I recommend this book highly to Regency romance fans.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Excellent! Highly Recommend.

    Just finished this Nook book last night. I loved this story. I wasn't sure how the author would tie it all together with quite a few mysteries, but she did it. Perfect ending. Every thing fit like a puzzle piece.

    I could tell the author did a lot of research due to the details of the places and customs. I find these detail make the story so much more than just a romance book, because you actually learn something you didn't know before. For instance, how and why they quarantine a ship.

    The romance in this story starts out gentle and ends up as a storm of passion. I like a story that lets the romance and love build gradually rather than full steam ahead. The author has allowed her character's personalities to grow and change slowly and perfectly in context with their life style and station in life.

    I will definitely look for more Nook books by Sabrina Jeffries.

    *Since this program wouldn't allow me to choose a pen name I have to be anonymous. It freezes when I try to create a pen name.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AT THE DUKE DESIRES by Sabrina Jeffries is an exciting Regency H

    AT THE DUKE DESIRES by Sabrina Jeffries is an exciting Regency Historical Romance set in 1816-1828 England. #1 in the "Duke's Men" series. Fast paced and filled with passion, secrets, a bit of danger,family, betrayal,madness,romance and love. What a delightful way to begin a series. Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons and Lisette Bonnaud, an illegitimate daughter of a viscount are on a mission to find Lisette's missing brother, and Max's kidnapped, long to believe dead brother. What they find is passion and love. Well written with Ms. Jeffries' usual style,her engaging,charming,although,battered, characters and her interesting,intriguing plots,you can not go wrong reading one of her stories. An interesting and intriguing story where passion sizzles and love holds fast. A must read! Well done indeed! I can hardly wait for the next in the "Duke's Men". This was a personal buy.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Cheaper on kindle

    Kindle is more than one dollar cheaper than the nook edition, the same book

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lisette Bonnud is the illegitimate daughter of Viscount Rathmoor

    Lisette Bonnud is the illegitimate daughter of Viscount Rathmoor. Her mother has been the Viscount’s mistress for years. When her father dies the heir to Rathmoor, Lisette’s ½ brother George, comes to hang her brother Tristan for horse thievery. Running for their lives with her other ½ brother Dominick, they escape to France.

    Years later Lisette and Dominick return to England, starting an investigation business together leaving Tristan behind working for the government. They haven’t heard from Tristan in a while and Lisette is starting to get worried when Maximilian Cole, the Duke of Lyons shows up at their door demanding to see Dominick. Since Dominick is away on business Lisette has a very fiery conversation with Max.

    It seems Tristan has returned to England, claiming he has found the lost brother of Maximilian. Enraged Max wants to know what scam Tristan is engaged in. Lisette quickly realizes to save her brother and his career she must get involved with Max’s man hunt. Reluctantly Max agrees to take Lisette along and the battle of wills begins. They end up posing as husband and wife, putting them in very close proximity. They quickly discover that it’s nearly impossible to keep their hearts from getting involved. 

    Lisette is a spit fire, facing off with a Duke and not backing down to protect her family. She is a strong character that faced many life difficulties head on. She is a character that you want to get behind and cheer for.

    Max is used to the pampered life of a Duke. When he gets experience life as a commoner's husband, it comes to some shocking revelations. Seeing the special spark in Lisette, he must learn to trust his heart and let someone love him in return. Toward the end of the story Max says something extremely hurtful to Lisette, making my opinion of him diminish. Maybe some more groveling should have been involved :D. 

    This was a magnificent and fun story, set in historical England and France. The characters were strong, realistic and relatable. The plot was fast paced and held my attention. Many times throughout the story, I found myself smiling or laughing out loud. That being said, I also found this story a little more sinister than the normal Jefferies’ romances. What the Duke Desires was an invigorating read, contains plenty of action and a perfect amount of heated sexual encounters.

    I look forward to watching more Dukes fall and hope that we will be seeing more of the Duke Men series soon.

    This ARC copy of What the Duke Desires was given to me by Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on June 18, 2013.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Sabrina Jeffries is at her best with this enthralling first entr

    Sabrina Jeffries is at her best with this enthralling first entry in the new Duke's Men series. Lisette is a spirited, plucky heroine that has you rooting for her right from the prologue. Max, the Duke of Lyons, is accustomed to being in charge. Their exchanges are witty and engaging. The love story is truly compelling as these two complex characters learn to trust one another during their journey from England to France to search for their missing siblings. There's passion, intrigue, family secrets, and adventure all leading to true love and happily ever after. Everything a romance should be that's made so much more by the talents of its author who never fails to create memorable, heart touching stories. Looking forward to the second installment, When The Rogue Returns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Once more Sabrina does it again. Characters that make you fall i

    Once more Sabrina does it again. Characters that make you fall in love with them and want to know everything! 
    I could not put it down once I started to read.  Lisette and Max are perfect for each other.  If you are wondering if
    you should try this book, DO IT!! You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Like all of Sabrina Jeffries books What the Duke Desires is a gr

    Like all of Sabrina Jeffries books What the Duke Desires is a great read. Sabrina pulls you in, captures your heart, and makes you feel every moment of the characters wild ride. If you have read Sabrina's books but haven't read What the Duke Desires well then it needs to join your "To Read List", and if you have never read a Sabrina Jeffries book then this is your start and end to finding a great author. What the Duke Desires is also the beginning to a new series the Dukes Men.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    If you enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries Hellions of Halstead series, you

    If you enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries Hellions of Halstead series, you will love this one. The heroine, Lisette is a strong willed, fun and sassy female. The hero is Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons who is very male, but has a tender side. Max receives a message from Lisette's brother Tristan to meet him because he believes Max's brother, Peter is still alive. When Tristan doesn't show up, Max goes to Tristan's brother Dom's place looking for him. Here Max meets Lisette and fireworks explode. She cons Max into the two of them traveling together to find Tristan. Look for funny, sexy times between the two.

    I loved this story and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a fun, sassy, sexy Regency story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Thanks for a writing such a great book. I would recommend it.

    Thanks for a writing such a great book. I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Great Book!

    LOVE this book. Definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this so much! The characters were smart and likable and

    I loved this so much! The characters were smart and likable and the story was really fun and adventure-y. (My favorite kind!) And, as with all Sabrina Jeffries books, you get LOTS of great sexual tension. (Also my favorite.) Don't miss this one! It's the first in the new Duke's Men series, and I can't wait to read the rest of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    3.75 stars:  3.75stars WHAT THE DUKE DESIRES is the first storyl

    3.75 stars:  3.75stars
    WHAT THE DUKE DESIRES is the first storyline in The Duke’s Men historical romance series by Sabrina Jeffries with the introduction of Maximilian Cale aka The Duke of Lyons and the woman who will steal more than his heart but his soul and the very air that he breathes-Lisette Bonnaud.
    The storyline focuses on the Duke’s search for the man who claims to know the whereabouts of Max’s missing and presumably dead brother and how this search will bring Max up close and personal with Lisette. When it is discovered that Lisette’s brother Tristan is also missing, the couple will embark on a cross continent journey that will force Max and Lisette to pose as husband and wife to ensure her reputation stays intact.
    There is much family background history revealed throughout the storyline including the introduction of Lisette’s brothers and extended family of Maximilian Cale. Lisette is more than conscience and aware of her lack of social standing within society and therefore entering into any sort of relationship with the Duke, she fears will tarnish his reputation. And the Duke’s family history, although most of it not public knowledge, has the man denying his feelings for the woman with whom he has fallen in love. A history of secrets, betrayal and lies will be revealed forcing Max to walk away from a future with Lisette. When spiteful and heartbreaking words are exchanged, Max knows he has damned himself to a life without the woman he loves.
    The sexual tension within the storyline was hit and miss due to the continuous battle of words between the couple and, in particular the Duke’s (Max) occasional snippy attitude and highbrow manner. His constant need to use words in anger, against Lisette, made him a difficult character at times to embrace even though Lisette was more than willing to forgive the man every time. In many novels, the back and forth banter fuels the sexual pressure but there was something missing in this particular story. Max’s attraction to Lisette was cooled with thoughts of his own family secrets, and Lisette knew that her mother’s reputation would push away any thoughts of a future with the Duke as her own reputation by tarnished by association. Whenever the couple appeared to make headway in their relationship, painful memories and potential legal liabilities would interfere.
    Most of the storyline focuses on the developing relationship between Max and Lisette and, the build-up to discovering the truth behind the Duke’s missing brother. The big reveal and identity of everyone concerned read like a who’s who in the family tree. There were so many different branches the family tree started to look like a forest-but for the trees.
    What The Duke Desires is a fast-paced introductory storyline that reveals the tainted history behind two different families, yet very similar on many levels. Money does not make one immune to gossip and disease, and a life of struggle will soften a woman’s heart towards a man who has lived an entire life built on a lie.
    see al of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    Truly entertaining book!

    Truly entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Good boik definately recommend

    One of my favorite authors. I enjoy the series and the connections to other series
    that Sabrina Jeffries has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    As always its a pleasure to read your books.

    She done it again and its a pleasure to know whenever one buys her books what adventures lie ahead but I WARN you that her books should only be read when you have nothing to do Why? Because you will not be able to put it down until the very end. Enjoy Ms. D from Bronx,NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Nice story

    The relationship moved a little fast, but in most books it always does. It got me interested and made me want to read more of Jeffries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    love it!!!!

    Love it, interesting story, keeps surprising. If you like historical romance with a mysteery spice that's the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Sabrina Jeffries is a great author. I love her books, in fact, m

    Sabrina Jeffries is a great author. I love her books, in fact, most get a 4 or 5 star review from me.  Not this one. The story lacked spark that's usually present in her stories.  Not sure what happened here.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Quick, fun, fits the bill.

    I enjoy the quick, historic, chick romance. This one worked for me. Nothing unusual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4