Customer Reviews for

What the Duke Desires

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as

I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling a...
I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling about Max and Lisette kept me enthralled through the ups and downs and all-arounds of their romance drama - until their very happy ever after ending. I will continue to read Ms. Jeffries' stories as I've always done, with anticipation, joy and satisfaction. She has not and does not disappoint this reader. I recommend this book highly to Regency romance fans.

posted by jdh2690 on June 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Cheaper on kindle

Kindle is more than one dollar cheaper than the nook edition, the same book

posted by lovread on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as

    I've loved all of Ms. Jeffries' stories, and I loved this one as well. Ms. Jeffries knows exactly how to have her heroes and heroines play the courtship game, how to let the sensual tension build between them while mysteries and problems are solved. Her storytelling about Max and Lisette kept me enthralled through the ups and downs and all-arounds of their romance drama - until their very happy ever after ending. I will continue to read Ms. Jeffries' stories as I've always done, with anticipation, joy and satisfaction. She has not and does not disappoint this reader. I recommend this book highly to Regency romance fans.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Excellent! Highly Recommend.

    Just finished this Nook book last night. I loved this story. I wasn't sure how the author would tie it all together with quite a few mysteries, but she did it. Perfect ending. Every thing fit like a puzzle piece.

    I could tell the author did a lot of research due to the details of the places and customs. I find these detail make the story so much more than just a romance book, because you actually learn something you didn't know before. For instance, how and why they quarantine a ship.

    The romance in this story starts out gentle and ends up as a storm of passion. I like a story that lets the romance and love build gradually rather than full steam ahead. The author has allowed her character's personalities to grow and change slowly and perfectly in context with their life style and station in life.

    I will definitely look for more Nook books by Sabrina Jeffries.

    *Since this program wouldn't allow me to choose a pen name I have to be anonymous. It freezes when I try to create a pen name.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Sabrina Jeffries is at her best with this enthralling first entr

    Sabrina Jeffries is at her best with this enthralling first entry in the new Duke's Men series. Lisette is a spirited, plucky heroine that has you rooting for her right from the prologue. Max, the Duke of Lyons, is accustomed to being in charge. Their exchanges are witty and engaging. The love story is truly compelling as these two complex characters learn to trust one another during their journey from England to France to search for their missing siblings. There's passion, intrigue, family secrets, and adventure all leading to true love and happily ever after. Everything a romance should be that's made so much more by the talents of its author who never fails to create memorable, heart touching stories. Looking forward to the second installment, When The Rogue Returns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Once more Sabrina does it again. Characters that make you fall i

    Once more Sabrina does it again. Characters that make you fall in love with them and want to know everything! 
    I could not put it down once I started to read.  Lisette and Max are perfect for each other.  If you are wondering if
    you should try this book, DO IT!! You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Like all of Sabrina Jeffries books What the Duke Desires is a gr

    Like all of Sabrina Jeffries books What the Duke Desires is a great read. Sabrina pulls you in, captures your heart, and makes you feel every moment of the characters wild ride. If you have read Sabrina's books but haven't read What the Duke Desires well then it needs to join your "To Read List", and if you have never read a Sabrina Jeffries book then this is your start and end to finding a great author. What the Duke Desires is also the beginning to a new series the Dukes Men.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    If you enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries Hellions of Halstead series, you

    If you enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries Hellions of Halstead series, you will love this one. The heroine, Lisette is a strong willed, fun and sassy female. The hero is Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons who is very male, but has a tender side. Max receives a message from Lisette's brother Tristan to meet him because he believes Max's brother, Peter is still alive. When Tristan doesn't show up, Max goes to Tristan's brother Dom's place looking for him. Here Max meets Lisette and fireworks explode. She cons Max into the two of them traveling together to find Tristan. Look for funny, sexy times between the two.

    I loved this story and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a fun, sassy, sexy Regency story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Great Book!

    LOVE this book. Definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this so much! The characters were smart and likable and

    I loved this so much! The characters were smart and likable and the story was really fun and adventure-y. (My favorite kind!) And, as with all Sabrina Jeffries books, you get LOTS of great sexual tension. (Also my favorite.) Don't miss this one! It's the first in the new Duke's Men series, and I can't wait to read the rest of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    Truly entertaining book!

    Truly entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    As always its a pleasure to read your books.

    She done it again and its a pleasure to know whenever one buys her books what adventures lie ahead but I WARN you that her books should only be read when you have nothing to do Why? Because you will not be able to put it down until the very end. Enjoy Ms. D from Bronx,NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    love it!!!!

    Love it, interesting story, keeps surprising. If you like historical romance with a mysteery spice that's the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Liked it

    Not a bad read for a free book. Enjoyed it and may by more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Desires

    He desires some cocaine from rock nut and condom tree and viagra falls and birth control falls and heroin lake and finally cocaine desert thats where cocaine husain lives

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What the Duke Desires (The Duke's Men, #1) by Sabrina Jeffries

    What the Duke Desires (The Duke's Men, #1) by Sabrina Jeffries


    This is the first in a new series by Sabrina.  The story is riveting, funny,
    adventurous, and sensual. 

    We follow Lisette & Maximilian on their search for not only her brother but his.

    You will be surprised at how this series gets it's title, I know I was :)
     
    I highly recommend if you have not read this to please do.  
    You will enjoy it immensely 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    This book will transport you to another era while connecting wit

    This book will transport you to another era while connecting with the female character and wishing the male character would come to life!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just want to start off by saying that I absolutely love Sabrin

    I just want to start off by saying that I absolutely love Sabrina Jeffries. I have yet to read a book by her that I did not absolutely love. And this book was no different. Lisette's character is that off a young woman who believes she knows her place in the world, but it only takes the Duke of Lyons to shake her up and realize what she thought she knew about herself and her future wasn't entirely right. The chemistry between all the characters was impeccable and something Jeffries has excelled at amongst all of her novels. I would utterly recommend this novel to anyone interested in this genre!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it! An arrogant duke, a feisty female, witty banter, siz

    I loved it! An arrogant duke, a feisty female, witty banter, sizzling hot chemistry, and adventure all wrapped up into one to make this fabulous book. I cannot wait for the next one! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries "Hellion Series" so much so

    I enjoyed Sabrina Jeffries "Hellion Series" so much so I have them in print, eBook & audiobook form. I thought it wasn't possible to like the "The Dukes Men" series as much.....wrong.

    To start the hero is named Maximillan Cale the Duke of Lyons, this alone was sexy. What a Duke wants is fast paced story with a mystery, some fun and characters that that seem to build/grow as the story continues. It left me happy and wanting book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    When you are in a funny mood where nothing seems to be right in

    When you are in a funny mood where nothing seems to be right in your world, pick up Sabrina Jeffries latest book, What the Duke Desires.
    Soon you are feeling happy and contented reading the romance of Lisette Bonnaud and the Duke of Lyons, Maximilian Cale. You will sigh with the happily ever after and realize all is right again in your world. You will also want the next book in the series to be out right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    This book was fantastic! It is now one of my favorites by Sabrin

    This book was fantastic! It is now one of my favorites by Sabrina Jeffries! Couldn't put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2