Customer Reviews for

What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast: A Short Guide to Making Over Your Mornings--and Life (A Penguin Special from Portfolio)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

no more snooze alarm

I think Ms Vanderkam has clearly identified the most important part of the day. She is absolutely correct about the importance of getting a jump start on the day and how that can make all of the difference. I hope she will follow this with a book on how to get to bed....
I think Ms Vanderkam has clearly identified the most important part of the day. She is absolutely correct about the importance of getting a jump start on the day and how that can make all of the difference. I hope she will follow this with a book on how to get to bed.
One of the subjects that she mentions gets up early in order to develop their to-do list. I have heard of others who would develop their to-do list in the evening. I guess the point is not morning or evening, but rather to simply write the list.

posted by h2olking on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not very good

Whole book can be summed up in a single paragraph. Multiple ways of saying exactly the same thing without going into any details as to fine tuning if you are already running this sequence of events.

posted by ABC-Den on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    no more snooze alarm

    I think Ms Vanderkam has clearly identified the most important part of the day. She is absolutely correct about the importance of getting a jump start on the day and how that can make all of the difference. I hope she will follow this with a book on how to get to bed.
    One of the subjects that she mentions gets up early in order to develop their to-do list. I have heard of others who would develop their to-do list in the evening. I guess the point is not morning or evening, but rather to simply write the list.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Not very good

    Whole book can be summed up in a single paragraph. Multiple ways of saying exactly the same thing without going into any details as to fine tuning if you are already running this sequence of events.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    I ordered this book Wednesday night and finished it on the ellip

    I ordered this book Wednesday night and finished it on the elliptical machine Thursday morning all in one setting. Great and practical book on how to carve out "me" time to exercise, pray, meditate, etc. I love Laura's writing style and her sense of humor. A must read! As I always look for extra time to myself, this hits the bullseye! Ray Ruecker

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Get up early. Do important stuff.

    First of all, it's 37 pages. Missed that before buying. There are a lot of good paragraphs about people waking up early and being productive. If you're already waking early and giving your mornings to top priority activites, this probably won't be life changing. On the other hand, if your mornings are chaotic and non-productive, it would be a good starting point to get you thinking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Quick and informative read

    Really enjoyed this book and it inspired me to get back my life back on track. The down-to-earth writing conveys that the time you spend for yourself - in meditation, prayer, exercising or with loved ones - at the beginning of the day sets the tone for not only your day, but for your life. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Its about time.

    Its about time someone wrote a quick easy treatise on time management that is fun practical and easy to implement. I enjoyed this book and I look forward to reading more of her work. 168 hours is her other book on this subject and looks to be well worth the time to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    You should read it once a year.

    I found this book to be one of those that you should read once a year, remind yourself of good habits. It takes very little to read but has a profound impact.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Inspirational

    This short read has inspired me to make over my mornings. Me-time is easier in the early morning hours. Hello exercise, meditation and ahhhh. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great book

    Quick easy read. Full of great ideas that I look forward to putting into action!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    great read

    great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    First of all, I liked the book. But I do have a complaint that i

    First of all, I liked the book. But I do have a complaint that it ended far too abruptly. I like my books to linger on, and to be hefty reads. Otherwise, a great effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Dnsjjfjfdf

    Dfjjjjjhdjf

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    It's a quick, easy read that offers great suggestions on accompl

    It's a quick, easy read that offers great suggestions on accomplishing what is truly important to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    30 Minutes lost

    My kids could have written a better book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Not worth the read

    there is no breaking news here or even real insight. wake up earlier, we all know this. not worth the cost or the time to read, really felt let down when I learned nothing new or came across any real advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Quick read

    Gave me a few helpful ideas, but really didn't tell me more than I already know..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Very helpful little book

    The ideas put forth in this book are simple and easy to follow. Even though I was already familiar with some of the points in the book, I have not been very successful at following them. This book helped reinforce to me that taking control of my mornings is not a major task, it just takes a step in the right direction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!

    I enjoyed it very much! It was very insightful without dragging on, which I enjoyed and appreciate vey much, THANKS¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿AWESOME WRITING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Easy and practical read

    The author talks about the benefits of using your morning time as a sacred time for whats really important in your life. But beyond that, she proovides actionable advice and suggestions to help on that journey. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3